We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The restaurant”
Review of Lawless Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lawless Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aughrim
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The restaurant”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

we did not stay in this hotel so we cannot comment on the accomodation. We were staying for a week just outside aughrim and came into get something to eat one evening. The bar was very tastefully decorated and the staff were friendly but unfortunately the food was just awful.
We both went for something fairly basic which made it all the more disappointing. Everything was just so greasy. The sandwich fillings were dripping in grease and the chips served with them were a. frozen and b. completely saturated in grease. They had the look and taste of chips that had been refried one time too many. We sent back plates nearly as full as they came out. I would never eat there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    35
    13
    7
    12
See reviews for
26
42
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Booked all rooms for a wedding in Ballybeg. Staff were most helpful; and friendly. The rooms are all comfortable clean and adequate. Well stocked with usual neeeds such as coffee tea soap and spare blankets. Breakfasts were excellent, I chose scrambled egg with smoked salmon.
The hotel does not claim to be 5 star or luxurious and isn't! What it is , is a clean family hotel with good food and clean adequate rooms all at realistic prices. I would recommend to anyone, and have!
Patrick

Room Tip: Ask for the delux roomn with boutique bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed at the hotel while attending a wedding nearby. We were not overly impressed with the rooms. Plaster was cracking the walls and the stairs could use a lick of paint. Music was playing until 5am. Staff are friendly. The full Irish breakfast was alright. Bathroom fixtures were dated. TV reception was fuzzy. I found the hotel overpriced by 30% to 40% and poor value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aughrim hotels

waterford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

we stayed there recently and had a very pleasant time .the food was excellent and very reasonable.the breakfast in particular was excellent.only bad point was a musty smell on the stairway.this should be easily taken care of.beautiful village and surronding countryside.at the price charged you do not expect the waldorf astoria.

Room Tip: ask for room number five
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saobroin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a weekend with husband and 3 kids(2,6,7) found it very nice. Room lovely and warm and nicely decorated, beds very comfortable, staff very friendly, had a lovely evening meal and breakfast. Its a lovely village, fishing lake beside the hotel so kids had a great time. there is also a lovely walking area not far from the hotel. Would go back any time probably make it an annual weekend trip for the family

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSLS33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Recently stayed in Lawless's overnight while attending a wedding at a nearby hotel. We were the only guests staying there + when we checked in, the room was freezing. We reported this to reception when leaving to attend wedding reception + were told it would be fixed on our return. The room did seem a LITTLE warmer when we got back but by early morning i.e 5am, it was like siberia, colder if possible! We had gone to bed with 5 blankets + eiderdown on bed + extra clothing but the cold still woke us. When I got out of bed, I had to put my coat on for heat. The shower was lovely + warm until it stopped 3minutes into the shower + wouldn't restart. So my advice, avoid the place at all costs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiona c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Stayed here with my wife - like other reviewers we were attending a wedding reception at BrookLodge just up the road (fabulous place)
The room we had (number 9) was certainly in need of updating. We had a slate roof for a view with grime piled up on the outside. The bed was uncomfortable and had a "hairy" blanket. The bathroom (shower only) was tiny and the shower head would not adjust to any correct angle. For 120 Euros this was definately not good value.
On the plus side the breakfast was good - the restaurant is well appointed with nice views of the river. The bar food was also reasonable although the bar itself was dingy(we had a carvery lunch)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aughrim
1.7 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
994 reviews
4.2 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
18.7 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Arklow Bay Hotel
Arklow Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arklow
669 reviews
10.8 mi away
Glendalough Hotel
Glendalough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
492 reviews
19.4 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawless Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawless Hotel

Property: Lawless Hotel
Address: The Bridge, Aughrim, Ireland (Formerly Lawless's Irish Country Hotel & Holiday Village)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Aughrim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aughrim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lawless Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawlesss Irish Country Aughrim
Lawless Hotel Aughrim, Ireland - County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing