We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Annebrook House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mullingar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Myself and my husband visited the bar for an evening meal. The bar itself was clean and bright and reasonably busy. The floor staff were efficient and friendly. The menu was dull and boring and predictable, however it is value for money with generous sized portions. My husband had scampi and chips no complaints. I ordered chicken madras curry which was very disappointing. Firstly the menu stated that the curry was served with basmati rice I got long grain rice in addition I got a curry made from instant curry powder very similar to curry you would get in a chippers.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Aishling O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha C, Sales and Marketing at Annebrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us in the Annebrook. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your Chicken Madras. I have spoken to the Head Chef and he has confirmed that all sauces are produced inhouse and that he does not use premade curry sauces. We would be delighted to welcome you back and as always should you have any issue with any aspect of our Hotel from service to food, please feel free to speak to the manager on duty. We would be more than happy to offer you another dish.

Many thanks once again for taking the time post your review and once again we would welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards

AHH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 654 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Not a bad place. We went on the living social deal. Check in was quick and painless and it turned out we were in an apartment with 2 bedrooms a bathroom and living room which was really quite enough for the two of us. I wouldn't say its the greatest location for couples but would be good for families or hen parties. We had to access the apartment through an underground car park which was a bit disconcerting and a bit of a pain.

The meal in Berties Bar was lovely, we had the vegetarian pasta dish despite not being veggie as it looked so delicious. However we asked for more wine and dessert which seemed to slightly annoy the waitress unless shes just not that friendly a person I don't know. Anyway the pavlova we had for dessert was awful, just cream and applies (??) so don't waste your money on that.

The other restaurant is closed Sunday until Wednesday unfortunately so we went to JP steakhouse up the road which I would definitely recommend, it was delicious. There is a swimming pool opposite Annebrook hotel but didn't use it so can't comment on that.

Breakfast was delicious the first day but no one brought us tea or coffee, it may have been self service i'm not really sure, I've never stayed in a hotel before that was self service hot drinks.

The real problem though was breakfast on the second morning, ten o clock in the morning we went down and there was ONE member of staff on, how this happened I don't know but I imagine the owner is doing everything on the cheap. We stood and waited for someone to take our table number, no one came, we went looking for a table so we could get started, all tables dirty. The poor girl left by herself was constantly being pestered by people looking for toast, why Annebrook don't feel the need to invest in a toaster I have no idea. Come on Annebrook even the premiere inn has a toaster. We left without breakfast, that issue needs to be addressed by them for the sake of their staff if not their customers.

All in all, you get what you pay for, it was a nice enough break but don't think i'll be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

just had a wee two night stay here and we found the hotel to be very clean & tidy, the staff were very helpful & friendly and the location was ideal with plenty of shops, restaurants and irish pubs near by to cater everyone's taste.The bedrooms were airy and nicely decorated as was the en -suite we had dinner here the first night and the food was very fresh and a good sized portion, I will be recommending this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: our room was near the main road which i thought might be abit noisy, but after sleeping both nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angela a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My daughter booked this hotel for a special birthday of mine. From the moment we drove in i can say i knew it was going to be great. The staff at reception and dining areas were very pleasant and helpful. Evening meal and breakfast next morning were great. Loved the location in Mullingar as i have walking difficulties. Would recommend it to anyone and definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed on 2nd floor in front of hotel and overlooking a small park. Very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katann10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Came upon this hotel by chance but have recommended to friends and will make the centre of our future stays in Ireland. We stayed in an apartment, brilliant quality. Very clean, two bedrooms, sleeps four. I could have lived there quite happily! Along with the furnishings the kitchen had dish washer microwave, kettle, iron, a real home from home. The standard of furnishing and care are very high. Mullingar itself is a small town, but with some lovely traditional and if you look great art/craft shops. People in the hotel were most helpful and breakfast in the hotel was fab, with lads of choice. We ate at the bar in the hotel in the evening, which again offered great value for money.

Room Tip: If you are a family ask for the apartments, it gives you space to be apart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tania T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very clean tidy hotel in an excellent location - we had a very tasty bar meal with very pleasant service from the staff and a really good breakfast in the morning. . We had a very good deal here with living social to stop over passing through to Kilkenny and break up the journey . We would recommend staying here as you can stroll up the town to the shops.

Room Tip: Very central location with ample parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hav1onme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here early July 2013. We had booked a 5 night stay, but unfortunately we had to cancel this reservation and rebook for two nights. That in itself was painless.
We stayed in the apart-hotel suite and it was fantastic. We asked for two cots and two high chairs for our infant twins. All items were there, and spotless! It was on a B&B basis, so we treated ourselves to breakfast in bed. God, the food was gorgeous!
We ate both evenings in the bar, and the food is well above restaurant quality, it really is that good.

We have mad a return booking for just after the August bank holiday, and it was the staff that reminded me I need to reserve the cots and hight chairs. They remembered us from our last visit!! Now that's service!

Room Tip: Spend the extra little bit and book a two bedroom suite. Loads of space and well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mullo_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullingar
1.5 mi away
Mullingar Park Hotel
Mullingar Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mullingar
436 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa
0.1 mi away
Greville Arms Hotel
Greville Arms Hotel
#4 of 6 in Mullingar
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#6 of 6 in Mullingar
117 reviews
5.8 mi away
Crookedwood House
Crookedwood House
#5 of 6 in Mullingar
10 reviews
22.3 mi away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annebrook House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annebrook House Hotel

Address: Austin Friars Street, Mullingar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Mullingar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mullingar
Price Range: $97 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Annebrook House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Annebrook House Hotel is Mullingar's newest 4* hotel. Centrally located in the centre of Mullingar over looking acres of Town Park. The Annebrook offers an excellent service to both its corporate & leisure guests. The hotel is built around an original Georgian house tastefully entwining the old with the new. The hotel boasts 26 executive rooms, 2 champagne suites, and 36 luxury 2 bedroom apartments which also have two en suites and a living area, the apartments are connected to the hotel via a glass walkway. All the accommodation is to a high standard. The Brosna River flows through the grounds of the Annebrook Houses. The river its self is probably one of the prime reasons why Mullingar exists at all as it would have been a significant factor why the Normans chose to build here in the medieval times. Dining at The Annebrook is a unique experience. The Old House Restaurant is located in the cellar of the Old house, with its original limestone walls and its original fire places it has a warm cosy Berty's bar offers a option of Carvery served at lunchtime or a bar food menu served in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Annebrook House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annebrook Hotel Mullingar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing