We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a beautiful place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Woodlands Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mullingar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodlands Farm
Ranked #10 of 20 Mullingar B&B and Inns
La Sentinelle, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

In two weeks of traveling around Ireland we met scores of wonderful and delightful people. None were more sweet and kind than our dear host, Mary at Woodlands Farm. She is not only a delightful person and ambassador for Ireland but she is an amazing cook and the breakfasts we had were the most wonderful of our trip. She takes a personal interest in her guests but never in an intrusive way. We simply loved her. Our rooms were wonderful and everything here was quite special. Mary was quite understanding as we showed up several hours later than planned due to being caught in a massive traffic jam. My day had become quite stressful as driving in Ireland was an adjustment for me anyway. I got myself stuck in traffic near Slane Castle due to a concert by Eminem. It took me several hours to get out of this mess and I really let this affect my mood. That all changed when we finally arrived at Woodlands Farm and met the most delightful host in Ireland! The stress just melted away. I heartily recommend a stay with Mary Maxwell at her wonderful Woodlands Farm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed for two nights over the May bank holiday. Mrs Maxwell was welcoming and gracious. Our room was lovely; clean, the bed was comfortable and the room had plenty of storage. The breakfast was amazing. The house itself is an old style farmhouse set back from the road but is in a beautiful setting and was perfect for our stay. Very peaceful. Excellent value for money, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucyt202016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

What a lovely place to stay, and Mrs Maxwell is one of the most genuinely serene,gracious and charming people I have ever met. The house is a great place to stop off if you are travelling across Ireland and like rural peace in a comfortable old house set in its own grounds.(Well, the rookery in the garden can get a bit noisy when they all come home at sunset!)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peacefulcomfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

My wife, three daughters and I enjoyed our stay here very much. The home is a perfect B&B with modern amenities. Our rooms had great private bathrooms. Mrs. Maxwell and her family are gracious hosts. The breakfast was wonderful. We will recoomend this to friends and family. it is alao a great lcation for the first or last night of a vacation when flying out of Dublin.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billct2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stopped in at this Farmhouse B&B on our way traveling from Galway to Dublin. We chose it last minute, and phoned for availablitly, waiting to see how far we could get in our travels. This was our only Farmhouse B&B in Ireland, and although I was a little nervous because I had researched all our other stays extensively, this ended up being the prize of our vacation!! Mrs. Maxwell is quite simply the nicest woman in Ireland. Directions were easy--there are signs all along the way from the motorway. She also texted us directions as we neared, which was very helpful. We arrived at 9 p.m. and made to feel so very much at home We had two ensuite rooms that were extremely charming and well decorated, not to mention spotless. Yes, our sheets were even ironed! The children's room was especially spacious. Breakfast was an epic feast! All homemade and served in a large charming dining room. The gounds are so very, peaceful and pleasant, but the real joy of staying here is meeting Mrs. Maxwell. She was so friendly and delightful, talked with my children and made them feel special. She's the kind of person you meet for the first time but feel like you've known forever. Please choose this gem of a place if you are traveling between Dublin and Galway. You won't regret it.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank RedCortina68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

We can't say enough good things about Woodlands Farm. This old house is totally wonderful. And, Mary and Marie Maxwell are lovely hostesses. They are so kind and concerned to make sure your stay is perfect in every way. The rooms are very nice and clean - our sheets were even ironed! And, there were washcloths. The grounds are enchanting. We thought we were staying in a storybook. If you want a midway overnight between Galway and Dublin, this is the place!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lily0755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2008

Excellent place to stay, Mrs Maxwell couldn't do enough for us , provided tea & cakes to revive us after a horrible journey from England.

Welcomed our small dog, gave us run of gardens, and the breakfast the next day was sublime, everything you could want and more.

If we need to drive across to the west again we will definately be stopping again,

Thank you Mrs Maxwell.

  • Liked — Allowed us a very comfortable stop over & to be able to take dog with us.
  • Disliked — Rooms, friendliness of host, breakfast, if fact everything.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susisue43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mullingar hotels
0.0 mi away
Riverview
Riverview
#15 of 20 in Mullingar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mornington House
Mornington House
#2 of 20 in Mullingar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Annebrook House Hotel
Annebrook House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Mullingar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mullingar Park Hotel
Mullingar Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mullingar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#5 of 6 in Mullingar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Farm

Property: Woodlands Farm
Address: Woodlands Farm Near Horseleap, Mullingar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Mullingar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Mullingar
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing