We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lough Owel Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$134
$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Annebrook House Hotel(Mullingar)(Great Value!)
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$167
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newbury Hotel(Mullingar)(Great Value!)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Castlepollard(Castlepollard)
$95
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cooneys Hotel(Ballymahon)
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveler rating
88
11
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
11
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsworking farmsconesb bsitting areaeasy drivedublin airportstayed longernext morningview of the lakeenjoyed our staymartinaideensheeploughirelandhostsfarmhouse
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 101 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Aideen and her husband Martin were amazingly helpful to my sister and myself in trying to find our mothers family history, with the help of Aideen and her friend Helen we were able to find our grandparents details which will enable us to do more research into our family history, we hope to come back next year with other family members to continue the search.Apart from all this the hospitality was wonderful a genuinely friendly and comfortable atmosphere.

Room Tip: Chose any room here and a peaceful night is assured
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinginnell, Owner at Lough Owel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Hello Ladies,
many thanks for the gracious review you wrote.
Martin and myself really enjoyed going on the journey with you to find your ancestry from Westmeath.
We will look forward to welcoming you and your family back next year.
regards
Aideen and martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We arrived last Saturday from Dublin after my husband had 10 busy days at a conference. After a beautiful drive, we arrived at the Lough Owel and were warmly welcomed by Aideen. She kindly prepared tea and scones, and immediately gave us a homely feeling. We were in room number 1, a comfy and clean room with a four poster bed. The view from the sun room is beautiful, the view from the bathroom is quite interesting - you can see a bit of the life on the farm. Breakfast was delicious (delicious pancakes and french toast!) and Aideen gave us very good advice about where to go (the Fore Trail). For dinner we can definitely recommend you to go to Oscar's. If looking for a cozy, clean and comfortable place to stay around Mullingar, no need to look further: book a room at the Lough Owel Lodge!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saskia319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinginnell, Owner at Lough Owel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our home.
We enjoyed your company too and I hope you will return to Mullingar again soon.
maybe another conference!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed one night on our Irish trip a couple of years ago (catching up with all the reviewing now). We were welcomed warmly even without a reservation and were given a beautiful room with a grand antique poster bed. Lovely place to relax! Everything was very homely and convenient and we were really satisfied with our accommodation choice made on the road. The delicious breakfast and the great hospitality gave us a great feeling to continue our drive towards Dublin to spend the rest of our holiday days there. Warm recommendations for Lough Owel Lodge!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelandDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinginnell, Owner at Lough Owel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

It was great to receive your comment about your stay with us.
I am delighted that you felt at home here, we aim to provide a relaxing atmosphere so people can unwind. I wish you and your family a great summer and hoping to see you back again at Lough Owel Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We loved staying in this place!!This bed and breakfast is absolutely PERFECT! It is very close to Mullingar city centre. The owners Aideen and Martin are really really friendly and they made us feel at home!! The breakfast is absolutely incredible and tasty. The rooms are clean and connfortable and even the bathroom! We really enjoyed staying in this bed and breakfast and in Mullingar! We definetely return to this bed and breakfast.
Greetings from Sicily and Malta :)
We reccomend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aideenginnell, Owner at Lough Owel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Greetings from Ireland

How is life in Sicily?.We did not make it there this year but maybe next year.

It was great to meet you both and thank you for taking the time to write such nice comments. It

encourages me to continue to develop my breakfast menu.

The season is over now and I am making the list of things to do for next year.

The list seems to get longer every year.

Enjoy Christmas whether you are in Sicily or Malta and we hope to see you again at Lough Owel Lodge .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The lovely owner, Aideen, made us feel so welcome, offering tea as soon as we arrived (which also came with homemade scones and jam). We stayed in the very comfortable family room, which was spotlessly clean and very homely, with the added bonus of a separate annex for the children. The breakfast was superb and set us up well for the whole day. The location was handy for us travelling back from the west coast to the ferry in Dublin.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aideenginnell, Owner at Lough Owel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Thank you for your kind words, you are very welcome and I am delighted that you were comfortable and enjoyed my home baking.It is always nice to bake for an appreciative guest.
Our farmhouse is ideally placed for guests travelling from the west as you so rightly said.
I look forward to meeting you all again when next you are travelling our way.
Have a happy and peaceful Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews