We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lough Owel Lodge”
Review of Lough Owel Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lough Owel Lodge
Ranked #3 of 18 Mullingar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Braintree, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lough Owel Lodge”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

What a great farmhouse B and B! Great room, dining and sitting areas, even an outside clay tennis court. I loved the breakfast, and really enjoyed my jaunt across the farms to a picturesque lake for some fishing. Host and Hostess were extremely friendly and helpful. Beautiful location.
Tom and Jill Herget

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Th0mas_H220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lough Owel Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
I am delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us. It is a pity that you did not catch any fish maybe next time .
Hope to see you back in Ireland again , maybe next year for the gathering .
regards
Aideen and Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
52
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

What a wonderful stay at this Lodge. We arrived from Dublin on a very windy cold afternoon. Aideen had tea ready and a fire in the fireplace. I traveled with my sister and we shared the family room called Lough Deraveragh. It had a room with two twin beds and another room with a double under a window where you could see the stars. The beds are very comfortable with first rate linens that are washed and hung out to dry.....great wool blankets....it was just a great bed for a wonderful nights sleep. We, my sister and I, where in Ireland to do family history and shared that with Aideen's husband, Martin. By the next morning he had some information on a possible relative and we were off on our history adventure in Ireland. If we are ever in this area again we would head for Lough Owel Lodge. And thanks to Martin....we found our relative's family in Elphin Co. Roscommon.

Room Tip: My sister and I loved the family room....two separate rooms with a giant bathroom including a tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRISANDBILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lough Owel Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Great to hear from you.
martin is delighted that his information was of use and that you discovered your relatives in Roscommon .
We look forward to welcoming you both back to Lough Owel lodge
martin and Aideen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dromore West, Sligo, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I have been guests of Martin and Aideen at Lough Owel Lodge for over twenty years now! The lodge is always kept immaculately and is now even more beautiful and comfortable than ever! There are enormous antique beds in some of the rooms to ensure you have a wonderful nights sleep and the bath/shower rooms are supplied with an un-ending supply of piping hot water. The lounge and dining room are comfortable and relaxing and a cosy fire welcomes you home on colder nights. Tea and coffee making facilities are available there too, plus a TV for those of you who can't bear to be away from one! A wonderful Irish breakfast greets you in the morning and is now included on a varied breakfast menu - which is complimented by freshly squeezed orange juice. If you are travelling close to Mullingar then you really should pay them a visit - you won't be disappointed! If you have time, before you explore an area filled with interesting attractions and wonderful places to dine, try the walk through the fields down to the lakeshore and make friends with their cattle, sheep and newly accquired donkeys! Hope to see you both again soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencers247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lough Owel Lodge, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Your review was wonderful thank you for taking the time to post it.
To have people (friends) coming back to stay with us for 20 years is the icing on the cake and gives us great encouragement to continue .
Hope to see you back again soon and good luck with your new build
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Lough Owel Lodge B&B is a nice, quiet place by the lake, run by a friendly couple. The hostess is very patient and understanding person, she will do her best to satisfy your needs re accommodation and food requirements. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The breakfasts are very tasty, all food is home made, you have to try their delicious rhubarb marmalade.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnieszka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lough Owel Lodge, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Delighted you enjoyed our breakfast. I love to cook and it is great to have happy customers.
See you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Room was nice and big. The food was great as well as the sitting room by the fire at night. Nice peacefull farm not to far from town. A lot of interesting attractions nearby. Will recommended this stay to anyone traveling to Ireland!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mudshovel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lough Owel Lodge, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you very much for the kind review.I am delighted you enjoyed the fire at night.
I look forward to greeting you back in Lough Owel Lodge again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

From the moment we drove up the driveway, we were awestruck by the stunning beauty. Being in the woods by the lake was a nice change from the wide open country. Every window you look out of has a spectacular view. The lodge is immaculate and so spacious! The bedrooms are huge. Our room had a four poster bed and a loveseat, bathroom clean and modern (many B & B's have ancient plumbing and fixtures) with toiletries included.
Meals were perfect, simple and filling, just the ticket when traveling on the road and doing a lot of driving. Our hostess was also helpful with resources around the area. She had menus from local restaurants, and ideas on sites to see. Our itinerary had been up ended as a result of a change in our reservations. We had to leave a previous B & B a night early and the stay there was quite traumatic. Aideen was super helpful with ideas for alternative sights to see. She suggested taking the train to Dublin for the day. We took her advice, and what a perfect day we had! My husband got a day off from driving and we got to see Dublin without all the hassles. All in all, we got the best of both worlds-modern amenities and professionalism of a fine hotel with the warm intimacy of a well run B & B.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aideenginnell, Owner at Lough Owel Lodge, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear Mary,
Thank you very much for your kind words.
We hope to see you back again in our home.
May you and all your family have a great Christmas and a peaceful new year.
Aideen and Martin Ginnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2011

just the ideal to relax and unwind from the stresses of a busy week
The Hostess was very friendly and very helpful in recommending things to do.The Room was well furnished and the view of the lake especially in the morning was awesome.
Breakfast was lovely and and filling with the fresh OJ a treat.We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stoccii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aideenginnell, Manager at Lough Owel Lodge, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
We wish you and yours a very happy Christmas and a good new year
Kind Regards,
Aideen and Martin Ginnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mullingar hotels
3.4 mi away
Mullingar Park Hotel
Mullingar Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mullingar
408 reviews
2.6 mi away
Annebrook House Hotel
Annebrook House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Mullingar
613 reviews
5.0 mi away
Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Crookedwood House
Crookedwood House
#5 of 6 in Mullingar
8 reviews
2.5 mi away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#6 of 6 in Mullingar
113 reviews
2.5 mi away
Greville Arms Hotel
Greville Arms Hotel
#4 of 6 in Mullingar
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Owel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Owel Lodge

Property: Lough Owel Lodge
Address: Lough Owel Lodge Lough Owel Lodge Lough Owel Lodge | Culleenmore, Mullingar 0000, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Mullingar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Mullingar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Owel Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge owel lodge is a farmhouse bed and breakfast located 3klms from Mullingar, a lively market town.Our home has extensive views of Lough Owel and the surrounding countryside.Guests can enjoy a leisurely walk through our organic farm to the lake. An ideal place to unwind and relax from all the stresses of life. All five en suite bedrooms have pleasant country views. For breakfast guests can enjoy home baking, homemade jams and organic porridge while sitting at a large antique table overlooking the countryside. Wireless Internet Access is complimentary and is available throughout the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Lough Owel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing