We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Gift Shop & Excellent Tea Room”

Mullingar Pewter Gift Shop
Ranked #1 of 4 Shopping in Mullingar
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of Irelands Best Known Exports -The ancient craft of pewter making was revived in Ireland by Mullingar Pewter in 1974. A visit to the workshop will allow you see the skill of casting, turning, meticulous assembly and delicate hand finishing of pewter pieces by our skilled artisans. Learn some of the hidden secrets and magic which date back over 800 years. The Gift Shop has a visitor information centre and carries an extensive range of Mullingar Pewter products and gifts for all occasions to suit all tastes and pockets. Mullingar Pewter is situated less than an hour from Dublin on the N4 Exit 14. 6km from Mullingar town.
Severna Park, Maryland, United States
1 review
“Great Gift Shop & Excellent Tea Room”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Mulligar Pewter factory tour, gift shop and tea room is easy to get to - take exit 14 off the N4, but it's also easy to miss or pass by - and that would be a mistake for the discerning tourist. We missed the factory tour, as that was temporarily closed, but had a great time shopping in the gift stores. There we found momentos of Ireland that we can be proud to display, are timeless, authentic, and will last a lifetime. The celtic themed pewter at Mulligar is beautiful, and I can attest to it's lasting attraction. 30 years ago, as a young woman, I visited Ireland and purchased a single Mullingar Pewter cup with celtic designs. It sits on my desk to this day, (I use it to hold pens & pencils, as an excuse to display it all the time) and I still love and enjoy it. This time, we purchased 8 cups and goblets with lovely and instantly recognizable depictions of Celtic myths and heros. On the other side of the gift shop, I found tea cozies in at least a dozen styles and patterns - a much wanted item that I did not find elsewhere in my travels. If you want Irish momentos that are high quality and will last, this is the place to shop. The tea room was very nice too, relaxing, outstanding selection of delicious tea treats, and the tea was hot and strong, the way it ought to be.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Macushla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee shop”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I must say the coffee shop in mullingar pewter is excellent.Staff are wonderful.Great place to go.Great food and value for money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful gifts for all ages”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

So easy to get to just take exit 14 off the N4 then you can't miss it as it is so well sign posted. Great shop where you can buy present for all ages at affordable prices. The staff are always very friendly and happy to help or if you wish just let you browse. A visit into the factory shop where I could see how Pewter is made was just fab & it's FREE!! Would definitely recommend a visit. Its away from all the hustle and bustle of the town and free parking too :-))

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarsheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverdale, ny
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“uncle oliver would be proud!!!!!!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

since our uncle, oliver buckley, was an original co-founder of mullingar pewter with the ginnells he gave our dad all the "first run pieces"----we have a whole dining room cabinet full of happy memories.

a couple of years ago we took all the goblets to be polished and geraldine told us she worked on the original line-----a time for reminiscing!

we have given several pieces to one of uncle oliver's daughters who lives in the u.k.

we can call our home-pewter factory/genesis atlantic--we ooze genesis.

your handbag holders are sensational and the other items you now carry are a shopper's dream-since we shop any time--seldom do christmas shopping, our dressing room closet is your american outlet!

cheers to helen, geraldine, and betty

annie/bernie wallace

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bernadettewallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Westmeath, Ireland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for ideas and very helpful staff.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The best place to visit if you are looking for a gift thats out of the ordinary and that is exclusive to Mullingar. Very helpful staff, my aunties in New York ordered a few Pewter coat hangers when they over here and the staff were more than happy to send them over to New York in the post when they arrived into stock. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mullingar Pewter Gift Shop also viewed

Mullingar, County Westmeath
Mullingar, County Westmeath
 
Mullingar, County Westmeath
 

Been to Mullingar Pewter Gift Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing