We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some training and more active management needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mullingar
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“some training and more active management needed”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

we were somewhat disappointed as we had expected high class service based on reviews etc. However while some aspects were well managed and high quality, such as the spa, other areas require attention. The evening bar food was particularly poor with a number of items burned or poorly presented. Breakfast was well below average for a 4 star hotel and could not compare with other similar 4 star hotels in the country.
While the dinner in the main restaurant was quite good for the price charged the whole service could do with the oversight of an experienced manager.
The staff were friendly but not particularly cheerful.
Noise from smokers outside the rear of the hotel was disturbing late at night. the hotel is a popular wedding location and late night revellers did not help to make our stay comforable.
A liitle attention to detail and some refurbishment is required to bring this hotel to a neaningful 4 star status.

Room Tip: rooms facing the lake are probably quieter when there is a function in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomphil_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    304
    104
    48
    41
See reviews for
407
333
22
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
209 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

First of all let me say that I didn't stay here! Just passing through and decided to stop off here for Sunday lunch. There was quite a buzz about with people coming and going. We made our way to the lounge/bar where they were serving a carvery lunch. I honestly didn't like the look of the food on offer and decided instead on a sandwich. Sandwich was almost thrown together and was presented to me without any finesse whatsoever!

I would like to stay here sometime as the location overlooking the lake is beautiful but there are lots of other nice places to go so it might be some time before i visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollieNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Westmeath, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We held a dinner for family members in a private room in the hotel after the church service. The meal was fabelous, the room set out beautifully (no charge for room hire!) and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. We had a number of kids with us on the day and even though they were running around playing, we were never made to feel like they were in the way. The staff were excellent with the kids.
Beautiful meal, excellent service, and great value

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a wedding and service was just amazing. Nothing is too much trouble and staff are so accomodating, professional and friendly. The food is excellent and is good value for money for the quality received. The hotel and grounds are lovely, very well maintained and feel luxurious as do the bedrooms. Had a really nice time here and would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to not be near elevator, ask if you have any problems as staff are very accomodating and will ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Bloomfield House proved to be the ideal location for a family treat as we were all coming from different locations. We stayed for two nights - girls on reception were very pleasant and helpful, adults thoroughly enjoyed the spa looked after very well by Laura, Valerie, Ruth & Carol. We all had different treatments and were all delighted with the outcome. Children enjoyed the pool and playground area. Dining Room service was excellent & again children were looked after very well. Its beautifully located beside the lake and Belvedere House and Gardens. Our stay was enjoyable and relaxed and we would all go back again. Thanks to all staff. MM

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Was surprised by my recent trip to Bloom field house Hotel. Went there with some girl friends for lunch and a treat in the spa. Ideal location as some of us were coming from the west and some from the east. Lunch was great and the service excellent. We enjoyed the views of the lake and the relaxed athmosphere. The spa was staff were really accomodating. Sharon was wonderful and gave the best massage I ever had. I will definately be back to stay, and my friends also. would recommend for a nice long relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Really enjoyed Bloomfield House Hotel, have to say I was actually trying to book another hotel but it was not available so chose here instead. Was extremely happy we did. The day was just great, we had a drink outside overlooking the lough and the spa was unreal, have to say Valerie was excellent, couldn't recommend her enough, hands from heaven!!The nicest massage I ever got, I chose the peat treatment, and although it was 90euro, there was so much in it, was glad I spoiled myself. I highly recommend this hotel, the staff are highly trained and make the whole experience worthwhile. I hope the boss is complimenting all their good work!!We chose this on the supervalu deal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LouthSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullingar
3.4 mi away
Mullingar Park Hotel
Mullingar Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mullingar
387 reviews
2.8 mi away
Annebrook House Hotel
Annebrook House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Mullingar
603 reviews
2.8 mi away
Greville Arms Hotel
Greville Arms Hotel
#4 of 6 in Mullingar
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,845 reviews
8.6 mi away
Crookedwood House
Crookedwood House
#5 of 6 in Mullingar
6 reviews
2.6 mi away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#6 of 6 in Mullingar
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa

Property: Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa
Address: Belvedere, Mullingar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Mullingar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mullingar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa is located on the shores of Lough Ennell just three kilometers south of Mullingar town. Not only is it the perfect location for relaxation and indulgence, but there are so many great activities onsite and in the surrounding area. Inside the 111 bedroom 4**** hotel, there is plenty for guests to enjoy such as the Stirrup & Reel Bar, Charles Brinsley Restaurant, an impressive Leisure Club with a 20 meter deck level pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room, air conditioned Gym and Bloomfield Spa. The hotel also offers excellent Conference, Banqueting and Wedding Facilities with over 30 years of hosting truly wonderful occasions. Dining is an occasion at Bloomfield House. The experienced team of international chefs use the finest produce to create imaginative Irish and International cuisine, providing a dining experience that will delight the palate and your senses. Bloomfield House Hotel is conveniently located just an hours drive from Dublin and offers breathtaking views of the Irish lakelands. Here, you will find some of the best fishing, angling, cruises and water sports that Ireland has to offer. But this great destination has a lot more to offer than attractions of the watery kind - make Bloomfield House Hotel your base as you enjoy bowling, paint balling, equestrian, walking and bike rides in this stunning countryside. Culture-junkies will relish a trip to Belvedere House and Gardens, while golf enthusiasts can tee off at the Mullingar Golf Club located nearby. There is live music in the bar and a free Kids Club runs every weekend and during the holidays so everyone gets to have fun. Bloomfield Spa, a jewel set in the tranquil surroundings of the Bloomfield House Hotel. Escape into a world of pure indulgence and total relaxation. Slip into Germaine de Capuccini Spa World, a place where you will experience the most incredible unique sensations where mind, body and spirit converge to feel an unforgettable and deeply pleasurable experience. Bloomfield Leisure Club is a spacious facility where guests can work out and tone up in a relaxed environment. Guests can avail of the very latest in Health and Fitness with friendly and professional guidance. Nestled amid magnificent parkland on the shores of Lough Ennell, Bloomfield House Hotel offers the perfect country escape with its combination of traditional Irish hospitality, elegant surroundings and modern facilities. The hotel offers 8 Conference and Banqueting Suites, the Stirrup and Reel Bar, The Charles Brinsley Restaurant, Bloomfield Spa and an impressive Leisure Club with a 20-metre deck level pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and air-conditioned gym. Bloomfield House Hotel provides a range of facilities to ensure that you enjoy a comfortable, relaxing and memorable stay. Take advantage of complimentary access to the Leisure Club and Complimentary Wi-Fi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club Hotel Mullingar
Bloomfield Hotel Mullingar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing