We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Escape to Multyfarnham”
Review of Mornington House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mornington House
Ranked #2 of 18 Mullingar B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We booked Mornington House for my dad's 70th birthday. We really wanted a different experience to the regular bland hotel and this is exactly what we got. The house itself and surrounding gardens are breath taking. Every last detail of this country-house experience is authentic from the beautiful interior to the 2 donkeys out the back. Warwick and Anne are so hospitable and have all the time in the world to help with trip suggestions or fill you in on the fascinating history of Mornington House. All 5 of us ate dinner in the house. Both dinner and breakfast were fantastic. Anne is an excellent chef and goes to a lot of trouble. A real treat. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

It was a privilege to host your father's birthday celebrations. We are so pleased that you chose Mornington. Thank you for your kind review. Best wishes, Warwick and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 110 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

I recently stayed in Mornington House and had a most wonderful break. It enjoys the benefit of a rural location set in very lush countryside yet is conveniently located to visit many interesting local attractions. We visited Trim Castle & Newgrange while there. Our room was excellent in all respects. We dined in one night and had a very fine meal with much home grown produce used. We found the breakfast both days to be excellent also with a variety of fruits prepared and available prior to being offered a cooked cooked breakfast. Our hosts Warwick & Anne were most helpful in all respects.We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaddyWestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your generous review of your stay at Mornington. We are pleased that you were able to visit some of the historic sites in this area. We look forward to meeting you again. Regards, Warwick and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Our stay began with a wonderful welcome from our host, offering us tea and scones with home made strawberry jam. We enjoyed two wonderful restful nights sleep and on the second evening we joined 4 other guests for a wonderful meal cooked by Anne and served so graciously by Warwick in the lovely dining room. The conversation went on after the meal in front of the open fire in the drawing room. Breakfast on both days was delightful - and very filling! What a delightful place, made more so by the delightful hosts, Anne and Warwick. We would highly recommend this country house for its warm welcome, wonderful food and beautiful gardens. There is the additional benefit of discovering some of the wonders of the area like Fore and the passage graves at Loughcree.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gearoid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your break with us at Mornington.We hope you might find time to come again one day. Best wishes to you both, Warwick and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This was a present for my significant birthday and what a treat it was. Anne and Warwick made our stay an absolute pleasure. From the fire in the drawing room, afternoon tea, the beautiful room to convivial conversation over an amazing dinner, I couldn't have enjoyed anything more.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 51Carolanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Mornington. We too enjoyed our conversations. We look forward to meeting you again.
Thank you for posting your kind review. Anne & Warwick O'Hara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed a night in Mornington when visiting Mullingar. The house is well sign-posted once you hit Crookedwood, which is a relief as our Sat Nav couldn't locate it.

Warwick and Anne were wonderful hosts who gave us some great recommendations - we ate at Oscars at their suggestion and came back stuffed full of fabulous Irish food, an experience only topped by Warwick's cooked breakfast the next morning, which was sumptuous and probably could have fed six!

Our room was beautiful - the bed was comfortable, and the views out onto the grounds are magical - it is like stepping back several decades. We went for a walk in the gardens, which are well tended and a mix of flowerbeds and vegetable plots.

Would definitely stay again and heartily recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki_Pr84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

We are delighted that you found us with ease and that you enjoyed your stay at Mornington. Thank you for your kind comments. We appreciate our guests taking time to post a review. Yours sincerely,
Warwick and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My husband brought me here for our anniversary and it really was the perfect spot. Anne and Warwick are so hospitable and had so much knowledge to share. The room was beautiful, spacious and cosy. The gardens were magnificent and we had a lovely time exploring them. Breakfast was fantastic! I will definitely be back.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank KCMNaas_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

We were delighted that you chose to celebrate your wedding anniversary at Mornington. We wish you many more happy years together. Thank for your help in the garden, the sweet-peas are climbing the trellising already. Thank you for your kind comments. Regards, Warwick and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I don't usually post reviews, but having just come back from a short stay in Mornington, I wanted to post to say that it is absolutely charming, as are the 2 hosts, Anne and Warwick. The house has a beautiful old world charm, a very peaceful setting and the food is delicious. Our room was very large and tastefully decorated and the bathroom was half the size of my apartment! The best part though was the lovely, personal service provided by our hosts, who really should pen memoirs of the intriguing tales they have to tell. We will definitely be back, this place is a real gem!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorna_O_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us at Mornington. Thank you taking time from your busy schedule to post your kind review. Best wishes, Warwick and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullingar
7.1 mi away
Annebrook House Hotel
Annebrook House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Mullingar
629 reviews
7.8 mi away
Mullingar Park Hotel
Mullingar Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mullingar
423 reviews
4.0 mi away
Crookedwood House
Crookedwood House
#5 of 6 in Mullingar
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa
4.6 mi away
Lough Owel Lodge
Lough Owel Lodge
#3 of 18 in Mullingar
101 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lough Bishop House
Lough Bishop House
#2 of 3 in Collinstown
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mornington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mornington House

Address: Multyfarnham, Mullingar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Mullingar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Mullingar
Price Range: $174 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mornington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornington Hotel Mullingar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing