We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mornington House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mornington House
Ranked #2 of 20 Mullingar B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

This was a present for my significant birthday and what a treat it was. Anne and Warwick made our stay an absolute pleasure. From the fire in the drawing room, afternoon tea, the beautiful room to convivial conversation over an amazing dinner, I couldn't have enjoyed anything more.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 51Carolanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Mornington. We too enjoyed our conversations. We look forward to meeting you again.
Thank you for posting your kind review. Anne & Warwick O'Hara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
61
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed a night in Mornington when visiting Mullingar. The house is well sign-posted once you hit Crookedwood, which is a relief as our Sat Nav couldn't locate it.

Warwick and Anne were wonderful hosts who gave us some great recommendations - we ate at Oscars at their suggestion and came back stuffed full of fabulous Irish food, an experience only topped by Warwick's cooked breakfast the next morning, which was sumptuous and probably could have fed six!

Our room was beautiful - the bed was comfortable, and the views out onto the grounds are magical - it is like stepping back several decades. We went for a walk in the gardens, which are well tended and a mix of flowerbeds and vegetable plots.

Would definitely stay again and heartily recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki_Pr84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
We are delighted that you found us with ease and that you enjoyed your stay at Mornington. Thank you for your kind comments. We appreciate our guests taking time to post a review. Yours sincerely,
Warwick and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband brought me here for our anniversary and it really was the perfect spot. Anne and Warwick are so hospitable and had so much knowledge to share. The room was beautiful, spacious and cosy. The gardens were magnificent and we had a lovely time exploring them. Breakfast was fantastic! I will definitely be back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KCMNaas_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
We were delighted that you chose to celebrate your wedding anniversary at Mornington. We wish you many more happy years together. Thank for your help in the garden, the sweet-peas are climbing the trellising already. Thank you for your kind comments. Regards, Warwick and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

I don't usually post reviews, but having just come back from a short stay in Mornington, I wanted to post to say that it is absolutely charming, as are the 2 hosts, Anne and Warwick. The house has a beautiful old world charm, a very peaceful setting and the food is delicious. Our room was very large and tastefully decorated and the bathroom was half the size of my apartment! The best part though was the lovely, personal service provided by our hosts, who really should pen memoirs of the intriguing tales they have to tell. We will definitely be back, this place is a real gem!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna_O_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us at Mornington. Thank you taking time from your busy schedule to post your kind review. Best wishes, Warwick and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

The owners, Warwick and Anne were very friendly and most welcoming. We had the most wonderful breakfast , everything was fresh and cooked to perfection. We would certainly recommend staying in Mornington House for a peaceful get away.

Paul & Geraldine

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mornington. We appreciate hearing from our guests. Thank you for your very kind review. We hope to see you on your next trip to Ireland..
Anne & Warwick O'Hara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Over the years I have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world (Imperial in Tokyo and Plaza and Waldorf in New York by way of examples). This place is totally different - but equally memorable and impressive - and the service surpasses anything on offer in a 5 star hotel (because of its personal nature). Anne and Warwick - as all the reviews say - are wonderful welcoming hosts - generous with their time and their food and fascinating people to talk with. Their home is amazing - the rooms spacious and the place so peaceful - the locality is wonderful but I am maybe biased on that score as my grandfather was born 5 miles away 125 years ago!

Room Tip: We were the only guests and had a chance to look in all the rooms. Ours on th front with an amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Mornington. We were particularly pleased that we were able to help you with family research.
Thank you for your very kind comments.
We hope you will find time to stay when you are next in Multyfarnham.
Kind regards,
Warwick and Anne O'Hara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We spent just a night in Mornington back in August. There is nowhere else in Ireland where you can enjoy this standard of cooking in similarly comfortable and beautiful surroundings of an Edwardian lakeside gem. Anne is a world travelled Cordon Bleu trained chef. Warwick does the best breakfast in Ireland. Both excel in great conversation. We came home with pots of homemade chutney made with fruit and vegetables from their Victorian walled garden. We would love to go back.. soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dargle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your very kind review. We appreciate guests taking time to give us a review. It keeps us on our toes! We hope you enjoyed the jam and chutneys. We look forward to meeting you again. Yours sincerely, Warwick and Anne O'Hara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullingar
7.0 mi away
Annebrook House Hotel
Annebrook House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Mullingar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
3.7 mi away
Crookedwood House
Crookedwood House
#6 of 6 in Mullingar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
7.6 mi away
Mullingar Park Hotel
Mullingar Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mullingar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa
5.0 mi away
Hotel Castlepollard
Hotel Castlepollard
#1 of 1 in Castlepollard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
7.0 mi away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#5 of 6 in Mullingar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mornington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mornington House

Property: Mornington House
Address: Multyfarnham, Mullingar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Mullingar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Mullingar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mornington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornington Hotel Mullingar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing