We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough place but poor service!”
Review of Brioche Cafe & Deli - CLOSED

Brioche Cafe & Deli
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Mullingar, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice enough place but poor service!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I generally don't like to be too critical but we went here for lunch and waited.....and waited for our food to arrive. To be fair a very apologetic lady told us that another couple had ordered the same and got our order (they must have been impressed with the speed!). We accepted that but the food was only ok. And I don't like the latest trend for serving food on a slate. It's not a nice surface to use a knife on at all and I can't see the attraction. Overall ok and just ok.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joec26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    9
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“A real gem in Mullingar”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

was here with a group of friends on Friday 26th, An excellent venue in the centre of the town. Had Prawn skewers to start, An unusual serving of Sirloin steak on garlic toast with onion rings served with potato cubes and chorizo and paprika. They have a lovely selection of cheeses and Creme Brulee to finish, The wines are supplied by Wines Direct a local firm.. Worth the 55 mins from Dublin just to eat here,

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank micra03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I love coming here with my two youngs girls for a snack. There is such a nice atmosphere when you step in. It is so well priced. Usually I just have a latte and my daughters have a glass of milk and cake/pastry each, it costs less than 9 euro. There is always a lovely mix of people there and we are made to feel welcome. I ate there only once during the evening and the tapas were delicious, it was very enjoyable although our table for 4 was a little on the small side and we had trouble getting all the dishes onto the table. But it was an enjoyable experience none the less. Also, staff are very nice. About a year ago, I popped in to pick up a few scones and I realised I had no cash. I think it was the proprietor who told me it was ok to come back again with the money. I thought this was a very nice gesture as he didn't know me. This is why I love supporting local business' in Mullingar. They know how to treat their customers!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Banba706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Food, Lovely Staff, Look no Further and Enjoy!!!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great to see young people trying to make a genuine go of a proper Tapas Bar in provincial Ireland. The food, selection, service, wine and value for money is excellent. Book a table downstairs as upstairs gets warm late at night and enjoy!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyGdotie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A quaint homely cafe”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed a visit here for lunch. Very cozy, service really quick & friendly. Food was presented wonderfully & very tasty. Looking forward to trying the evening tapas here soon

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank unasula29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brioche Cafe & Deli also viewed

Mullingar, County Westmeath
 
Mullingar, County Westmeath
Mullingar, County Westmeath
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing