We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent garden centre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omearas Garden Centre

Omearas Garden Centre
Ranked #4 of 21 things to do in Mullingar
Attraction details
Navan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“An excellent garden centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a very good garden centre, excellent plants and a good knoweldgable staff. It also has a lovely coffee shop and a great range of household and decorative goods

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joscarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ferns, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Great Garden Centre and a very nice cafe, we had an apple tart to die for.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank John19461949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

It was our first visit to Mullingar, and my husband is an avid gardner, we were told by the staff in the hotel that he should visit O'Mearas Garden centre, I was absolutely amazed by the size of the place, and the quantity of stock (and not just plants), they have a large indoor section which was right up my street, household goods, must have spent over an hour here , when you head out to the garden centre, the first thing that hits you is the abundance of colour and smell, just wonderful and uplifting, my husband was in his element in the garden centre, between the two of us we managed to fill the car with plants and household goods.
They have a lovely coffee shop which is very homely.
This place is worth a visit

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Decent garden centre - but not an attraction!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Go here to buy plants seeds and tools by all means, but fon't bother with the extensive and overpriced range of tat that is on offer. I saw many products for sale here that in the UK were less than half the price. Also, although the place markets itself in a kitsch "traditional" way, many of the things for sale are not eben made in Ireland! Take, for example the O'Meara's own label conserves and chutneys - these are made in Market Harborough, England - surely they can find someone more local to produce their "local" food!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank CaptainBlackmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Top quality restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Very friendly staff and management. Good quality food served with a smile .

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bigtom1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omearas Garden Centre also viewed

 
Mullingar, County Westmeath
Mullingar, County Westmeath
 

Been to Omearas Garden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing