We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep it clean....”
Review of Newbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newbury Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Mullingar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Keep it clean....”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Before I start with the negatives, I will give the positives. Breakfast was a treat. Cooked to order and plenty of it. Waitress was efficient and polite. Hotel is centrally located and has ample parking. Bar has a good atmosphere. Now the negatives. The price you pay for your bedroom should not dictate the cleanliness of the hotel!! It does not matter whether you are staying in a 3, 4 or 5 star hotel, the bedroom (and indeed the whole hotel) should be clean. If the hotel makes most of their profits on food & beverage sales, it does not excuse the management of their responsibilities to look after the bedrooms. We were staying in the older part of the hotel, but that does not excuse the management of the hotel of the responsibilities for keeping all the bedroom stock to a similar standard. The only things clean in the bedroom were the towels and the sheets. Carpets-grubby, not vacuumed and in need of replacement. Bathroom-grubby, paint peeling and dirty. No maintenance carried out in the bedroom for years, and I mean years. One of the windows didn't close at all, which is a problem when your room is above the smoking area at the back of the hotel. The paint on the walls, ceilings and windows was put on a long time ago and it showed. Chipped furniture, holes in the fabric of the chairs.....I think you get the picture. I would recommend the Hotel Manager and Head Housekeeper attends a remedial "Hotel Housekeeping-The Basics" course or failing that a trip to the local opticians could only be of benefit.......

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bringbackquality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    36
    13
    9
    10
See reviews for
18
37
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I recently organise a hen party in Mullingar where we stayed in the Newbury Hotel. I dealt with Garvin and found him to be very friendly, helpful and had followed up on all the requests I had made for the group. The rooms were of a good size, comfy (especially the duvets), warm and had all the facilities you would need - hairdryer, tea/coffee etc The price was good and the hotel is in walking distance to the pubs/nightclubs. The breakfast was lovely especially as it's made to order. Dinner was just OK although the dessert was lovely. Car park is quite small but if you don't get a space there's nearby on street or other car parks. All staff that I encountered were most helpful and there's a relaxed feel to the hotel (late checkout, breakfast ).All in all, I would highly recommend the Newbury for couples, families or groups, would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElleeBDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Decent location and clean rooms. However, it advertises free wifi in every room, but the signal was too weak to pick up in mine. Satellite TV also advertised- mine was out of the ark, only 5 working channels. Beds also not terribly comfortable.

Fine for a brief stay, decent value and clean, but they don't provide what they claim to.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irwin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just spent the night at the Newbury. Check in was quick, friendly and efficient . Room was quite ornate and very spacious. The bar has good local entertainment with friendly staff. Breakfast at The Newbury is a must - best Irish breakfast I've had in a long time.
If I'm back in Mullingar I would definitely book this hotel again and would recommend to friends and family. A****

Room Tip: Great location !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

I asked for a single room for 55 euro, I ended up with a triple room for 49 euro. I found the rooms spotless and had a stress free stay, beds were comfy too. No complaints, will stay there again if I need a central place to stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank DocFarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

no matter where I roam at the end of the day there is no place like home may I say that the staff of this hotel should be proud of the service they provide first class then some thanks for a really really good stay I will be back as soon as I can

Room Tip: room over looking main street 103
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nedNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
297 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

i stay here when i'm travelling to Mullingar by train. this hotel is right beside the railway station. the hotel is fine. i don't mind the rooms beside the road as i'm a good sleeper. the breakfast is good. They have a great toasted BLT and a pint of Guiness

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank micra03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullingar
1.7 mi away
Mullingar Park Hotel
Mullingar Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mullingar
387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annebrook House Hotel
Annebrook House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Mullingar
604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greville Arms Hotel
Greville Arms Hotel
#4 of 6 in Mullingar
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa
5.9 mi away
Crookedwood House
Crookedwood House
#5 of 6 in Mullingar
6 reviews
23.9 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Hotel

Property: Newbury Hotel
Address: Dominick Street, Mullingar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Mullingar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Mullingar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3* hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Newbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing