We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly - a little taste of what Ireland used to be famous for!”
Review of Round Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Round Tower Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ardmore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2010

We laughed because we were also shown to "Room 101" (Room 6) but Aidan - the friendly owner - immediately offered us Room 9 which was lovely. The hotel had a warm family run atmosphere. The food was good (especially the breakfast) and the buzz in the hotel bar was great. The weather was lovely when we were in Ardmore so the cliff walk and beach could not have been more enjoyable. We'll certainly visit again!

Thanks Aidan to you and your team!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Olly505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 90 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2010

We stayed here for one night over the May bank holiday. We were greeted personally by the owner, even though the restauant was extremely busy with Sunday lunches. I was baffled however to be put in room 6. It must have been one of the worst rooms in the hotel - a tiny window overlooking the rest of the hotel. Room sizes were basically the same, bar for room 12, which was that bit larger, and had a bath rather than just a shower. There were very few rooms booked (we think only 3) so I couldn't figure out why we got such a bad room (the doors to unoccupied rooms were left open, and featured nice garden views and a quieter location - ours was over the bar downstairs). Having said that, the staff were lovely - very helpful and attentive, and the breakfast was very comprehensive for a two star. The place was spotless, and well managed, and well maintained. The price was reasonable as well - 80 euro for b &b. So, just make sure you don't get landed with no.6. (I did go downstairs to ask for a move, but there was a match on, the place was bedlam, and I couldn;t rise anyone.)
Ardmore is quite pricey - be warned.We paid 90 euro for a two course meal in the Whitehorse (25 euro for a main, which wasn't justified) and the other hotel (the Cliff House) is an expensive 4 star spa hotel, so food there is even pricier. Though they did forget our drinks in the bar, and they were granted to us free!
The cliff topwalk is lovely - we did it twice - but there is little else to do. There's a playground for kids, nd that's about it. A nice cafe (which opened up specially for us, due to a call from a passerby who contacted the owner to say there were guests waiting!!) is a welcome addition, and there is also a chipper.
Nice for an overnight stay. Take the coastal drive to Dungarvan - there's an amazing view from one vantage point.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tattiestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Owner at Round Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2010

Dear Tattiestravels,

Thanks so much for your review, dated 3rd May 2010.

I appreciate all customer feedback and take on board your comments.

Regarding the allocation of room 6, I apologize that you were unhappy with the room choice - I am so disappointed that you were unable to locate me, the owner, as I would have been only too happy to change your room. It was a hectic week-end! We often select room 6 for our guests as it's a 'cosy' room - we do acknowledge that the view isn't the best but we allocated it for it's comfortableness. But we take your comments on board.

Thank you for your other observations and I will pass these on to our staff.

Sincerely,
Aidan Quirke
Proprietor, Round Tower Hotel, Ardmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Ardmore is a charming seaside town with fabulous cliff walks and a long sandy beach. The Round Tower was an excellent choice for my visit to this delightful, and historical, spot. The rooms were nicely decorated, cozy and very comfortable. The pub downstairs was a fine gathering spot. I will certainly come again!

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katednat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2008

WOW!! You have to check out Ardmore. A beautiful seaside village waterford. The best option for accommodation is definitely the Round Tower. Great service and reasonable pricing, I'd recommend this place to any visitors to the area. Perfect for mixing with the locals in the hotel bar.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JScheiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

I stayed in the Round Tower Hotel for two nights. I found the rooms to be very hygienic and comfortable. A young girl came in and serviced the room. She did an exceptional job and it was a pleasure to come back from walking the scenic cliff walk to a perfectly well made bed. Breakfast was very well organised and the dinning room so beautifully cleaned, much improved from the year before, MUCH! The waiting staff were very helpful the older boy seemed to be running the place, whilst the young boy was very enthusiastic about his work and was very polite. However during Sunday lunch the staff seemed quiet hectic and the shouting from the kitchen took from the peaceful atmosphere. The bar staff were well equipet and very friendly and chatty. I really enjoyed my stay and i recommend this hotel which is within walking distance of everything available to people of all ages. I would definetly rate this a 3 star + Hotel. Well Done Aidan Well Done

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank anonamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2006

I spent a week at the Round Tower in Ardmore in June and the hotel has been improved immesurably since I was last there. The rooms have all been redecorated and they are much more comfortable now than before. The food continues to offer great value and choice with local seafood a specialty. I loved the ambiance and the front garden had great music on the Sunday evening while I was there. A very comfortable little gem in this lovely sea-side village.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank munsterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Otella26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Owner at Round Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardmore
0.6 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,725 reviews
10.9 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
14.6 mi away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
345 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
382 reviews
10.7 mi away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Tower Hotel

Address: Round Tower Hotel College Road | Ardmore, Co. Waterford, Ardmore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Ardmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ardmore
Price Range: $138 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Round Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family run Round Tower Hotel is located in the beautiful village of Ardmore. Round Tower Hotel is a a Fáilte Ireland approved 3 star hotel. Nestled in the western end of county Waterford in Ireland's acclaimed 'Sunny South East', the hotel offers guests and visitors the opportunity to enjoy their break in one of Ireland's oldest Christian settlement villages. The hotel offers 10 well appointed en suite bedrooms (refurbished in 2016) with free Wifi, TV, phone and tea & coffee facilities. There is a choice of single, double and family rooms available. B&B rates, room only and group discount rates are available on request. No pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Round Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hotel Ardmore
Round Tower Hotel Ardmore, Ireland - County Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing