We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to bring in the New Year!”
Review of Round Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Round Tower Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ardmore
Certificate of Excellence
cork
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great spot to bring in the New Year!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were down in Ardmore for a new years party and pretty much booked out the hotel. Great value, great service and great breakfast!
Aidan was extremely helpful in organising the rooms for all of us. I would say we were in 10 out of the 12 rooms there.
Bedrooms were lovely and clean, the bed was very comfortable and the shower and bathroom were perfect too.
There was no rushing about in the morning with specific check outs and they even extended the breakfast time to accommodate our sore and tired heads.

Definitely heading back there in the summer for a weekend stay. Great spot!!

Room Tip: I was hanging out in a few rooms and they all seemed gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philodriscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Owner at Round Tower Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear philodriscoll,

Thanks a lot for taking the time to review. It was a pleasure to have you all staying with us on New Year's Eve. I'll pass on your review to the staff and I'm sure it will be a welcome boost to the team. Look forward to welcoming you back in the summer season if you make it down to us.

Thanks again & Happy New Year,

Regards,
Aidan Quirke,
Proprietor,
Round Tower Hotel,
Ardmore,
Co. Waterford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    23
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
24
27
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

My Wife and I stop off at this hotel today for lunch. I was delighted to see a hotel that know there stuff. Food was very good, I had the stuffed pork steak and it was to kill for, my wife Theresa had the beef and she was very happy with it. We are two chefs with out own bussness so we know what we are talking about. The dining room was great and was very well decorated, well up to 2013 standers. Can't wait to stay at this hotel which I will do in early 2014 and will report back to this site again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Thebiker50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Owner at Round Tower Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Thebiker50,

Thanks so much from all of us here at Round Tower Hotel for taking the time to review our Sunday Lunch. Glad you enjoyed it and I will pass on your review to the chef.
Look forward to welcoming you back when you are travelling in the Ardmore area.

Regards,
Aidan Quirke
Proprietor
Round Tower Hotel
Ardmore
Co. Wateford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I have many wonderful memories from my youth in Ardmore and this trip was to revisit some of them and make new ones. This one night stay definitely made for a new memory! Aidan Quirke, the owner, was on hand to welcome me and very hospitable and friendly. Having checked in, and given my room key, I climbed up the carpeted stairs and down the narrow corridor. As much as I tried I could not get my key into the very loose door handle. Very frustrating. Back down stairs to call Aidan for help.He struggled a little and then opened the door. The room inside was small but enough for one and the bathroom was fine too, except for the shower door entry space. Decided to go back out for another while before retiring for the night and this time unable to lock the door. Called Aidan for help and a simple knack was applied. Later enjoyed a very comfortable night. Bed so very comfortable, but not for anyone over six foot. Tea/Coffee making facility in the room with little biscuits provided if wanted. As I was up before breakfast, I went for a walk down to the seafront (5 to 10 min walk). Refreshed with clean sea air, back for breakfast and it was delicious and plentiful. For all its little hiccups, this hotel is a must for anyone staying one to two nights in this area. Ardmore has lots to offer in all seasons. Lots of walks, beach and cliff both with great scenery. Aidan is a mine of Information about local and surrounding areas and what they offer. Great new memories have been created that one day will be revisited again !

Room Tip: Single room tip: space is very narrow - Beds not for anyone over six foot. Bathroom: shower opening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Owner at Round Tower Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear AngSolo,

Thanks for taking the time to review. Glad you enjoyed your visit to Ardmore and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Aidan Quirke
Proprietor
Round Tower Hotel
Ardmore, Co. Waterford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The friendly staff compensated somewhat for a dining room from the 1950s and mediocre food. Five of us visited here on a Saturday night in August. A decent pint from a good barman raised expectations that were firmly shattered on entering the dining room. It was like walking onto a film set of an old movie.
We had a good laugh with the young waitress however the food left a lot to be desired. Overcooked and bland is the kindest description I can offer. I won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Declan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Owner at Round Tower Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Declan D,

We've completed a full refurbishment of the hotel dining room just in Spring 2013 - see traveler photos 7 and 8 on this website. Far from 1950s. Your review of hotel and our food is not at all consistent with what our customers have been telling us this summer. Your review has me baffled to say the least. I have contacted you personally, please call me to rectify.

Sincerely,

Aidan Quirke,
Proprietor,
Round Tower Hotel,
Ardmore,
Co. Waterford,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Had a superb weekend with 3 of my friends. Hospitality was fantastic .
Whilst the bedrooms are small, they are excellently decorated with very tasteful decor & comfortable beds.
The staff are very friendly & accommodating & the food was also excellent, both at Dinner & Breakfast.
Entertainment was both on Friday & Saturday night & was very good & most enjoyable!
Anytime I visit Ardmore I always dine in the hotel as it is excellent value for money & I have never been disappointed!
I highly recommend this hotel to all. One would be hard put to find 100% satisfaction in any other establishment!

Room Tip: Bedrooms are small but as one only needs abed to sleep in & a bathroom to wash in this didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlelsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Owner at Round Tower Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Mlelsc,

Appreciate so much your positive review and glad you and your friends enjoyed your visit to Round Tower Hotel & Ardmore.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Aidan Quirke
Proprietor
Round Tower Hotel
Ardmore
Co. Waterford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Was in Dungarven for the weekend's Sean Kelly cycle and stayed in Ardmore . Fantastic well run family hotel and great friendly atmosphere . All the rooms have been recently done up and the hotel is in great condition and great value for money . would recomend it thoroughly !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Owner at Round Tower Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Tom L,

Thanks a lot for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay during the cycle race. Appreciate the feedback and have passed it on to our staff.

Regards,
Aidan Quirke
Proprietor
Round Tower Hotel
Ardmore
Co. Waterford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were three friends staying for one night in August 2013. The hotel is well situated in Ardmore, within easy walk of everything.

I had booked the hotel over email and we got a single and a twin room at a reasonable price. Aidan, the manager, was very helpful and is a great asset to the hotel. The hotel has a nice bar and the breakfast was really good.

The reason the hotel is getting three stars and not more is the rooms. The rooms are quite small, the bathrooms a bit cramped, and the décor is dated. All up, the hotel served its purpose for one overnight stay, and for the price it was reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin_the_Dane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Owner at Round Tower Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Martin_the_Dane,

Thanks for your positive and constructive review. Review title is a bit misleading though.

Hope you and your other two friends enjoyed your golf trip in Kerry.

Regards,
Aidan Quirke
Proprietor
Round Tower Hotel
Ardmore
Co. Waterford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardmore
0.6 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,669 reviews
10.9 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
4.9 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
10.7 mi away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
444 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Tower Hotel

Property: Round Tower Hotel
Address: Round Tower Hotel College Road | Ardmore, Co. Waterford, Ardmore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Ardmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ardmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Round Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family run Round Tower Hotel is located in the beautiful village of Ardmore. Round Tower Hotel is a a Fáilte Ireland approved 3 star hotel. Nestled in the western end of county Waterford in Ireland's acclaimed 'Sunny South East', the hotel offers guests and visitors the opportunity to enjoy their break in one of Ireland's oldest Christian settlement villages. The hotel offers 10 well appointed en suite bedrooms (refurbished in 2016) with free Wifi, TV, phone and tea & coffee facilities. There is a choice of single, double and family rooms available. B&B rates, room only and group discount rates are available on request. No pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Round Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hotel Ardmore
Round Tower Hotel Ardmore, Ireland - County Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing