We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite hotel in Ardmore”
Review of Round Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Round Tower Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ardmore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Our Canadian family arrived in Ardmore, a beautiful, historic seaside village and were warmly welcomed by Aiden and the hotel staff. Aiden gave us maps of the area including the cliff walk to St. Declan's well - my favourite walk.
We had a delicious roast beef dinner in the hotel - even the kids' half portions were generous. We tried both the continental breakfast and the Irish cooked breakfast which was amazing. The coffee was heavenly.
Our room was a good size, clean with luxurious bedding and with a tea making facility and biscuits on hand.
The following evening we had a three course dinner in the dining room - gourmet food with excellent service.
When we come back to Ireland again, we'll be sure to stay here !

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Owner at Round Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2011

Dear R O,

Thanks so much for your kind review. We were delighted to have you and your family staying with us in August and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Aidan Quirke
Proprietor
Round Tower Hotel
Ardmore
Co. Waterford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 91 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2011

Clean bed but no room to move in the room. Toilet roll holder falling off the wall. In need of a good overhall. Shower poor. Staff friendly but would want to be. Expensive for what you get. A Bed and breakfast would be far better in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinBeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Owner at Round Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011

Dear DublinBeano,

Thank-you for your review. Sorry to learn that you had an unsatisfactory stay with us.
Repair in bathroom has been seen to since your recent visit.
I am onsite almost 24/7 at my hotel if you had made me aware of your disatisfaction during your stay I would have tried to get you alternative B&B accomodation in the village.

Sincere apologies,
Aidan Quirke
Proprietor
Round Tower Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights earlier this week and while the owner was very friendly, we found the room to be dirty. I dropped an earring under the bed and when my husband moved to bed there was a sock and papers and who knows what else and it was just disgustingly dirty. Only we were attending a wedding and stuck for somewhere to stay we would have left. The bed linen was almost seethrough it was so worn and the bathroom suite was a beautiful (!?!) pink colour. There was also lots of cobwebs in the bathroom. With some money spent on it and alot of cleaning the hotel could be nice, and it is in a good location in Ardmore.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshlingMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Owner at Round Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2011

Dear AshlingMG,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. All reviews are so helpful and we've passed on your comments to our housekeeping staff. Sincere apologies that you had an unsatisfactory stay, if I had known during your two day visit with us that you were very unhappy and really 'stuck' for somewhere to stay I would have worked to get you alternative accommodation in Ardmore / vicinity of Ardmore.

The Round Tower Hotel team have taken your comments on board and a corrective action plan is in place.

Best regards,
Aidan Quirke
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Stayed in the Round Tower Hotel for one night when visiting Ardmore - The hotel is old style hotel - Staff was very friendly, room was bit on the small side but very clean, overall worth the €80 for B & B
Did not try the Bar or Restaurant but did have Breakfast in the morning this was the only downside of the visit to Round Tower Hotel - Breakfast it self was good but when pouring out a cup of tea a creepy-crawly insect came out of the tea pot - I inform the waiter and a fresh pot of tea was supplied - this was low point to an otherwise good stay

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Owner at Round Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2011

Dear ATIreland,

Thank you for taking the time to pen a review. Glad that your overall stay with us was a good experience. Sincere apologies for the low point at breakfast, we have since addressed the issue.

Look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Ardmore.

Aidan Quirke
Proprietor
Round Tower Hotel, Ardmore, Co. Waterford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We live in nearby Dungarvan and often travel to Ardmore for a spin.
Easter Sunday, Lamb was plentiful and to die for.
Last week had the Beef again which was melt in the mouth and my friend had the plaice and all the vegitables were freshly cooked every time.
This homely, Owner run Family Hotel has real athmosphere and obviously is loved by the locals.

Room Tip: If not having full lunch, try main course in Bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ObiOneKnobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Owner at Round Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2011

Dear ObiOneKnobie,

Thanks a lot for your kind review. We do our utmost to provide good quality at a reasonable price.
Look forward to welcoming you back.

Aidan Quirke
Proprietor
Round Tower Hotel
Ardmore
Co. Waterford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

My family and I have stayed at this hotel for the past 4 summers. We always have a great time. Although the room was small it was comfortable, had clean bed linen, tea/coffee making facilities, free WIFI (added bonus). The staff are so polite, friendly and welcoming. We would definitely recomend the "full Irish" breakfast which has become a highlight with my children. The bar food is superb & there is a great choice. There is also a childrens menu. The garden surrounding the hotel is well maintained. During the summer months there is live music every Sunday. Not to be missed! Aidan the proprietor is so friendly, hardworking & so obliging. I would definitely recomend staying at this hotel. We are already planning our next trip for Summer 2011!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sealy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

The rooms was dirty, the carpet and bed linens worn and torn. The bathroom was loaded with mildew. The food at dinner our first night there was overcooked and tasteless; the breakfasts were barely tolerable.Our second night in Ardmore we had a wonderful meal at Cliff House, where we should have stayed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tucker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Owner at Round Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2010

Dear Tucker17,

As proprietor of Round Tower Hotel I was really shocked to get this damming review today. You will surely note that this review is not consistent with reviews we have received in the past. I work in my hotel full time, almost 24/7, so would have probably checked you in / out - served you dinner, served in the bar and at no time from my recollection was I made aware that you were unhappy with your room, dinner or breakfast.
If I had known that I had unhappy customers I would have rectified things immediately.
The Round Tower Hotel team have taken your comments on board and apologize for what appears to be a very unsatisfactory stay.

Best regards,
Aidan Quirke
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardmore
0.6 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,784 reviews
4.9 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
364 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ardmore Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Newtown Farm Country House
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
Sea Pearl B&B
#4 of 5 in Ardmore
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Tower Hotel

Address: Round Tower Hotel College Road | Ardmore, Co. Waterford, Ardmore P36 PD61, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Ardmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ardmore
Price Range: $147 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Round Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family run Round Tower Hotel is located in the beautiful village of Ardmore. Round Tower Hotel is a a Fáilte Ireland approved 3 star hotel. Nestled in the western end of county Waterford in Ireland's acclaimed 'Sunny South East', the hotel offers guests and visitors the opportunity to enjoy their break in one of Ireland's oldest Christian settlement villages. The hotel offers 10 well appointed en suite bedrooms (refurbished in 2016) with free Wifi, TV, phone and tea & coffee facilities. There is a choice of single, double and family rooms available. B&B rates, room only and group discount rates are available on request. No pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Round Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hotel Ardmore
Round Tower Hotel Ardmore, Ireland - County Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing