We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Our favorite place we stayed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Newtown Farm Country House
Ranked #3 of 5 Ardmore B&B and Inns
Greenville, SC
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing! Our favorite place we stayed.”
Reviewed October 10, 2009

We wanted to stay in the country at least one night of our week long trip through Ireland. We chose Newtown because of it's easy access to the main road, closeness to the small city of Ardmore (which has amazing and easy cliff walks!) Also, the ad for this B&B claimed to have excellent views - and boy is that right! We had an upstairs front facing room that had a balcony which looked out onto green fields with the Atlantic Ocean in the background. The room was gold with four star accomodations, large bathroom, high tech shower, and amazing comfort and decor.

Teresa made us breakfast the next morning and it was lovely. Made to order with a personal touch. She is high energy, friendly, and knows a lot. She was able to give us advice for our travels as well as things to do in Ardmore, places to eat, and three local pubs to frequent in town (the one we went to was sooo much fun. There was a championship rugby game on tv and a lot of people had brought their families there to watch the game. Dinner was great too).

I highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crimsonsinger12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    8
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

This bed and breakfast is in a nice setting, with a beautifully kept garden with bantams, doves in a dovecote, goats, sheep etc and while we were there also puppies to coo over. The hostess is very attentive, welcoming and friendly. We had a room with a view of the sea in the distance, and a balcony. Breakfasts were amazing, with gorgeous soda bread and warm scones, home made jams and a beautifully cooked full irish.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank hoobwimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort, New York
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

My wife and I were traveling around Ireland on our honeymoon and this was just one of several B&B's and hotels we stayed in on our trip and while we enjoyed all of them on this trip, Newtown Farm Guesthouse was our favorite! The room we had (upper front with a nice balcony) was fantastic and had a wonderful view of the sea. The host was exceptionally friendly and accomodating! We were very pleasantly surprised too to get a menu with several great choices for breakfast. Most B&B's have a very limited breakfast but this location offered many nice choices and it was all delicious! If we are ever back in this area, it will certainly be the place we stay again....and hopefully for longer next time!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2009

This place is beautiful, well kept, clean, and the lady who runs the place is so sweet. I believe her name was Tricia. This b&b had the best vibe out of all five places we stayed at in Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbrtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luv2journey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

I can't say enough good things about Newton Farm Guesthouse. It was the best B & B we stayed at during our visit to Ireland. Teresa was a very gracious hostess and went out of her way to make our stay comfortable. We had a very late arrival after a 10 hour drive through Ireland and arrived exhausted. She gave us a good suggestion as to where to go that night for a drink at the pub. The rooms were very comfortable with a wonderful view of the farm and hillside, the breakfast was fantastic, and the whole experience couldn't have been better (except we needed a few more nights there). She gave us a very good suggestion to do the Ardmore cliff walk which was great, do it if you can. Ardmore is a great little village, take time to visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2009

My friend and I stayed at Newtown Farm Guesthouse in July of 2008. Theresa was amazing--made us feel at home instantly, even though we were running late. There is a working sauna in the house, the room was HUGE and beautiful and the farm animals were adorable. The B&B is centrally located and we used it as a base to explore Cork City, Waterford City, Blarney Castle and Ardmore Town. The breakfasts were delicious and filling, with tons of choice. We stayed in a bedroom with one twin bed and one queen. The twin bed was in it's own seperate area, with a curtain to close it off from the rest of the room. The pictures really don't do the suite justice. One warning: it is about a five minute drive from Ardmore, so a car is a must. The Guesthouse is worth it, though. It was by far the best place we stayed at...and that's saying something since all the places we chose were tripadvisor bests.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dublinflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2008

The Newtown Farm is a wonderful B&B. Clean, beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, excellent breakfast with a great selection! If you are going to be anywhere close on your trip to Ireland I would book a few nights here! We stayed at seven B&Bs over the course of our trip and the Newtown Farm was far and away the BEST!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing. Everything was great!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindyAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardmore
2.7 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,645 reviews
2.2 mi away
Round Tower Hotel
Round Tower Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ardmore
82 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
325 reviews
10.6 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
5.4 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newtown Farm Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newtown Farm Country House

Property: Newtown Farm Country House
Address: Grange, Ardmore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Ardmore
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ardmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newtown Farm Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Newtown Farm Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newtown Farm Country House Ardmore, Ireland - County Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing