We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth seeing”

St Declan's Well and Oratory
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Ardmore
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth seeing”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Lovely bit of history. Then do the beautiful Cliff Walk and maybe even drink from the well...! Alternatively a cocktail in the Cliff House hotel :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PersianGerbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    28
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simple but special”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

After running around the unusual tourist spots we ended up here because it was close. We spent the day on the beach and walking around the headland. Best day of the holiday, we all calmed down and spent a relaxing day together. Weather was good too

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Well worth visit”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Absolutely fabulous walk and I would definitely recommend it. We walked the entire loop in about an hour. The cliffs and scenery are amazing, a hidden gem!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rua25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, United States
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful seaside walk”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We headed down to town from our guesthouse and took an amazing walk along the path near St. Declans Well. The cliffs overlooking the sea are spectacular and I wish I could be transported there at any time to take a soul-cleansing walk. Not difficult for walkers or hikers and filled with a special charm.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“i keep going back”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

another childhood treasure that I keep calling to .... yes I love history and Ardmore has buckets of early Christian irish history ... small site but well worth a visit .. early Christian irish church cravings round tower and prefect views of Ardmore and the sea ..

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank greatspins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Declan's Well and Oratory also viewed

Ardmore, County Waterford
Ardmore, County Waterford
 
Ardmore, County Waterford
Ardmore, County Waterford
 

Been to St Declan's Well and Oratory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing