We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing lunch by the sea”
Review of Cliff House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cliff House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardmore
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing lunch by the sea”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely lunch here a few days ago with friends.
We got a lovely seat outside in the sunshine overlooking the sea.

Food was amazing I had crab claws and a glass of prosecco followed by the chocolate fondant and panacotta to share!

Couldn't fault a thing the staff were very friendly and efficient would definitely return!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdriaanBartels, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Sarah H

Thank you for your short and sweet review and lovely photos - glad you enjoyed your lunch.

Best wishes

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,128
    288
    132
    66
    27
See reviews for
181
1,133
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Cliff Hotel is truly a piece of paradise. Built on a Cliff, all the rooms, the bar, the reception and so on overlook Ardmore bay and the beautiful sea. Organized in 6 levels, the reception is at level 5: as soon as you enter the hotel you have a breath-taking view of Ardmore Bay (the wall in front of you from level 6 to level 4 is glass!). Level 4 is the restaurant and bar, with outdoor terrace overlooking the sea. Level 3 is the SPA with indoor and outdoor Jacuzzi: trough a beautiful rocky garden you can access the rock pool and taste he cold sea. Level 6 is a small library.
All the rooms are sea view with balcony (tables and chairs): some have a bigger balcony, but the small balcony is more private (and cheaper).The rooms are not huge but with all the luxury comfort that you need (even a beautiful bath, and a huge shower) and a Nespresso coffee machine and magazines.
Everybody is so helpful and nice and all around you is peace and relax. A perfect hotel for a romantic weekend or a relaxing/detox time.
I will finish with the breakfast: amazing. Everything is done at the moment. They give you freshly squeezed juice, fruit salad and youth and a tray of freshly baked beads, scones and croissants, and coffee...this before the actual hot breakfast!!.
needless to say the restaurant is Michelin-starred...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabrimar73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdriaanBartels, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear gabrimar73

Thank you for your great review - we really appreciate it.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel in February for a one night break away. We had a very warm welcome from the young guy that took our car to be parked and reception were very pleasant.I had called ahead to pay for an upgraded room as a surprise for my boyfriend and when we got there I was a little disappointed at the size of the room as I do not think it was worth the price.I understand that all rooms are built in to the rock in order to ensure all rooms have a view but I still found the room disappointing..I called reception to ensure that this room included the additional extra for an upgrade and they confirmed it was.
The views are fantastic and the spa is also excellent.We dined in the hotel restaurant and it really was a dining experience with the waiter explaining each course in detail.Breakfast the next day was also gorgeous and the staff were all so lovely.
I would recommend this hotel and think this is a beautiful hotel and a great place for a romantic night away.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bsanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdriaanBartels, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Bsanv

Thanks for your review - you will have received an upgrade card for your next visit so hopefully you will enjoy the room then.

Look forward to welcoming you back then.

Kind regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

My Wife & I spent one night in the Cliff House Hotel on June 10th as part of the Gourmet Package. On arrival @ 3pm we were advised our room was not quite ready. We went into the bar for coffee & scones which we were subsequently advised were complimentary due to the check in delay (a nice touch). Our room was very good with a lovely view of the bay. Dinner at the House restaurant was excellent as was the service. A credit to all concerned. Looking forward to a return visit.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdriaanBartels, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Bill K

Thanks for your kind review and glad that your visit was good enough for you to decide to return.

Look forward to welcoming you back then,

Kindest regards

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Great place to stay, wonderfull location, great food and great service, and great wheather! We travelled from Holland via irish ferries (cherbourg) to the south of Ireland and loved the area . Worth the trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdriaanBartels, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Google Translation
Dear Jan d

Bedankt voor het reizen helemaal uit Nederland om ons te bezoeken - dat waarderen wij echt.

Met vriendelijke groeten

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here in winter, the reason we came was to dine in the restaurant. The dining room is basically a conservatory, both our chairs were facing the window (out to sea) however it was winter so we were basically looking at our reflections in a black window for the night, did not make for a very warm/luxurious feeling. Might be an idea to rearrange their seating options for the winter months. We opted for the tasting menu, we were borderline harassed to buy a bottle of wine (asked on at least 4 occassions throughout the meal to which we replied no thank you on each occasion, surely once is enough?) we did not enjoy the food, that could have been just on personal taste more so than anything else as some of my friends love the food here. Breakfast was disappointing, full Irish consisted of 1 piece of bacon, one sausage...scones were not hot/did not seem fresh. Wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rbtgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdriaanBartels, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear rbtgrace

Thank you for your review from November last. I am sorry that your visit resulted in a decision not to return - maybe try us in the summer some time - it's a whole different experience!

Kind regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We spent two night in the Cliff House as part of a longer holiday, overall we enjoyed our stay but there were some points which we were disappointed with:

Rooms: we stayed in the deluxe balcony room, decor was beautiful and bathroom was really nice with roll top bath. Views were excellent and did not disappoint. We did find room a bit on the small side given the price tag. There was limited room for our two bags and meant having rearrange furniture to fit them in. I will say they were big bags as we were away for a week rather than weekend but this was the only hotel on our trip where this was an issue. Wardrobe storage was limited also.

Staff: Staff were very friendly and helpful, service could not be flawed and 5stars were merited on this front.

Food: food again was fantastic, despite my wife being an extremely fussy eater the staff were very accommodating and we both really enjoyed our meals. Would definitely eat here again if in the area.

Spa and leisure facilities:

Pool area was really nice, benefitting from sea views like many parts of hotel. The fitness room was tiny, had only three pieces of equipment and one weights rack that can only be used by one person. 2-3 people would be the capacity in this small windowless room which was a disappointment for us.

We both had treatments in the spa, I would give it an average rating. Highlight was the relaxation room which shares the beautiful views provided by this hotel setting.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sendrobamail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdriaanBartels, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear sendrobamail

Many thanks for your kind review - we appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardmore
15.1 mi away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,649 reviews
6.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
0.6 mi away
Round Tower Hotel
Round Tower Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ardmore
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
5.8 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
359 reviews
5.5 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Hotel

Property: Cliff House Hotel
Address: Middle Road | Ardmore Bay, Ardmore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Ardmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliff House Hotel.A Hotel For Seaside Luxury Regarded as one of the finest small luxury five-star hotels in Ireland, The Cliff House Hotel is a 39-room Irish seaside boutique hotel in the traditional fishing village of Ardmore. Our privately owned hotel also features an intimate Irish destination spa as well as the only Michelin-starred restaurant in Ireland outside Dublin. The building seems to defy gravity, clinging to a cliff on the south side of Ardmore Bay where there has long been a fishing village. From sun-drenched terraces and private balconies it is possible to see Ardmore’s golden sands, lobster pots and dolphins that play out on the water. All our luxury rooms and suites are sea facing while many are interconnected to provide family-friendly configurations. Our intimate destination spa, The Well, is a key attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Cliff House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Ardmore
Cliff House Hotel Ardmore, Ireland - County Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing