We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, Four Years in a Row”
Review of Cliff House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cliff House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardmore
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay, Four Years in a Row”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have being returning to the Cliff House Hotel for the past 4 years for our anniversary and every time we always have the most relaxing of stays. We arrived and were shown to our room which was amazing, having a sitting area, wonderful bathroom and bedroom separated by a partition which had LCD TV and built in fuel-effect fire. There is also nothing nicer than going to sleep with the sound of the ocean in the background.

An hour after visiting the room we visited the pool area and enjoyed a sea-weed bath outdoors as the last light of the winter's day went from dark blue to black and the first of the stars appeared. A wonderful experience and well worth trying if you visit.

Breakfast is always a very pleasant and relaxed experience and the view is also one you could eat-up! There is plenty you can do from the hotel and the highlight is the Cliff Walk where you can enjoy an approximate 2 hour loop walk, taking in whale-watching areas, the wreck of the Samson crane which crashed on the rocks in 1987 and the Ardmore round tower. Wellington boots are available from the hotel.

We enjoyed meals in the bar on both nights, trying the excellent December taster menu on one night. I also tried a steak which I would only eat once ever 6 months and it was excellent and perfectly cooked.

We will be back next year for our 5th anniversary but we often just drop in for lunch which is also nice after a walk on the beach - even if we are not staying over! Thanks again to all the staff who made our stay most enjoyable

Room Tip: The higher class rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaneMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear ShaneMcDonald

Thank you so much for your very kind words and we are delighted that your fourth visit in a row will become a fifth next year!

We look forward to welcoming you back then or perhaps on your next visit for lunch.

Kind regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,128
    288
    132
    66
    27
See reviews for
181
1,133
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Have been here twice already will be back in 2014 for definite , the staff simply cannot do enough for you from them minute you walk in the door, both myself an my girlfriend love this hotel we have been upgraded to balcony rooms on both our stays and the views are amazing,the breakfast has to be eaten to be believed is all I can say about that, it can be expensive per night but to be fair you get what you pay for and the cliff house is worth every cent. looking forward to going back for 2014

Room Tip: balcony rooms are worth the extra money for the view an to be able to stand on the balcony at 6 am a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlennC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear GlennC3

Thank you for your very kind review - really glad you enjoyed your previous visits and delighted to hear you will be back later this year! See you then,

Kind regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Location of hotel is excellent if you like coastal areas and coastal walks. The hotel has the amenities which would give it 5 stars.
Parking - it has a small car park in which you can park your car yourself. Otherwise it is obligatory valet parking. The small car park is always full.
Decor - 80's ish. Lots of blue carpet - a bit of a cold feel.
Food - Quite nice
Bedroom - spacious. Decor - lots of blue and brown. The balcony walls hindered the view from the bedroom. It made it tunnel vision. A bit like those things they put over horses eyes to keep them looking straight ahead. The bathroom was a wet room with disabled seat in the shower and hand rail at either side of the toilet. More suited for a nursing home. Not sure if this is the way for all bedrooms or if we drew the short straw (without being told in advance).
Cliff walk - excellent
Staff - polite, efficient but lacked any genuine warmth.
Value for money - very poor

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Mark S

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments.

We are obliged by law to have two of our rooms with adapted bathrooms for guests who request these facilities.

Yours sincerely

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Second time here - it just gets better and better. Superbly appointed rooms with stunning sea views.
Spa was excellent with great massage and treatments
Piece de resistance was the 9 course tasting menu in Martijn Kajuiter's 1 Michelin star House Restaurant which was a culinary tour de force using locally sourced seasonal produce.
It's not cheap but worth every cent.
One quibble - wine list does not match the quality of the food and I think most of the wines are overpriced : € 55 for a modest 2011 Riesling and € 58 for a Saumur Champigny !
The friendly and professional staff are excellent.
Tip : take the cliff walk at sunrise for spectacular views of Ram's Head and Ardmore bay

Room Tip: If you are a family recommend interconnecting suite and rooms 24 / 25
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear graham w

Thank you for your lovely review and glad you enjoyed your return visit.

I will pass on your comments about the wines to our sommelier - he has already made plans to change the wine list for 2014 so you should see the results of this on your next visit.

KInd regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This hotel is a little gem in an awesome part of the world. We stayed in a terrace suite with an added living area and an adjoining room for our sone. The views were amazing, the service was fantastic, the staff were so friendly and helpful and we had a wonderful escape. Ardmore is a wonderful quaint little town with a round tower and harbour. We pottered around the town and browsed in the quaint little shops and we thoroughly chilled out. There are amazing walks around the cliffs and beautiful beaches to walk on and swim in the summer (if we ever get another one !!!!). The hotel is built to maximise the view and it truly delivers. The rooms have private terraces and you feel as if you are the only people enjoying this little bit of paradise. The food was very good - the room service mushrooms on toast are truly one of the seven sins not to be missed !!! We enjoyed the Michelin star restaurant - although the food was a little bit fanciful for our taste - it was nevertheless, very enjoyable and the staff again were so good. The spa was beautiful and next time we will bring our swimsuits. This hotel hits all the boxes,the views, the accommodations, the people, the food and I cannot wait to return. Well done and do not miss this wonderful hotel

Room Tip: Get a room with a terrace or spring for a suite with a double glass wall. Interact with the staff a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Viane

Thank you so much for your lovely review - really delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again some day.

Kindest regards

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Disappointing. Good rooms good location poor restaurant. Ridiculously over priced, with silly ideas about itself. The building is frankly disappointing, it's not on a cliff, it's a grassy bank. The restaurant is actually poor, the service was at a glacial pace. €14 for a pint of Guinness, for goodness sake, that's not exclusive it's just robbery. Would never go back. Pretentious nonsense.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Smontague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Smontague

Interesting feedback - to be honest not sure where you got the price of a Guinness to be €14 - it must not have been here because our pint of Guinness costs €5.

Yours sincerely

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

These days it seems all a hotel needs to do to get a 4-star rating is to build a swimming pool. And even some 5-star properties are more about the "facilities" than the guest experience. The Cliff House is a rare exception. From the check-in (complete with valet parking) to check-out, the oohs and ahhs keep coming. Tom showed us to our Cliff Terrace Suite. Styled as a mini "house", we drew a (slightly) short straw in that we had a duplex, with an upstairs and a downstairs, but our downstairs consisted only of a writing desk and an under-stairs area where I insisted on knocking my head repeatedly. But it didn't really matter. The room proper was just lovely, and the glass fronted shower, looking out across the sea, was a pretty big wow. A small gripe: UHT milk, 3 tea-bags (we had to slug it out for the second cuppa), no biscuits and an unstocked mini-bar. But again, looking out to sea, listening to your own CDs under excellent ceiling speakers, made for a really immersive and pleasant experience. I did think that one or two small extra touches in the room could have pushed them to 6 stars. Unfortunately the Michelin restaurant (our first reason for going) was booked out (our fault for leaving it so late, not theirs), and so we ate in the bar. The food was grand: good cooking, well-presented, impeccable service - think solid and pleasant bistro. A good deal of time was spent in the pool. Located off the spa, again looking out to sea, it is such a special place that on day two we spent two hours just swimming up and down in blissful silence. Poor hotel pools are a real gripe of mine, but this one - right down to the minted ice-water on-tap - was a very special experience. Breakfast too was very good, with really the best service I've ever had in Ireland. Friendly yet professional, and warm, which is a hard thing to pull-off if you're also trying to preserve the level of formality that some guests expect. Apart from a few small additional touches in the bedrooms, there are two things the Cliff House could do to make it 100% perfect: 1) take down the lights in the bar. My wife and I ate under two halogen spots and, as I push 40, I for one could do with more flattering lighting! Joking aside, it actually got uncomfortable toward the end of the meal: the pitch black windows, the white walls, the harsh spots, gave the effect of sitting in a train carriage to such an extent that it really did detract from the experience. 2) There really isn't anywhere (room aside) to "chill-out". We went, books in hand, to the bar in the late afternoon, images of a good Guinness and big comfy seats in our heads. The problem is that the bar is also the bistro, and so there was no space for that pre-shower/pre-dinner chill out. It was packed with people eating - day visitors it seemed, with kids and buggies and older folk having a late lunch/early dinner. We both said that if there was a second bar/lounge somewhere in the hotel, to chill out and have a drink, enjoy the view, chat and read, it really would be a perfect place. As it was, mucking in with the melee in the main bar did not make for the relaxing slow hour we had in mind. Check-out was a little brusque - I'm not sure why that mattered. Maybe it's just that in a place this good, you expect the goodbye to be as wonderful as the hello. And everything, mostly, was wonderful at the Cliff House. Ireland really has very few hotels that deliver what they promise: the Cliff House is one of the few that comes close.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RadiomanDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear RadioManDublin

Thank you for your lovely and comprehensive review. You make some good points and ones that we can easily attend to. T
he extra lounge is available upstairs in our library area which we can point out to you next time but I can see where you are coming from regarding the bar area. It is something we would have loved to have built extra but were constrained by space and design unfortunately.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again some day.

Kindest regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardmore
15.1 mi away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,648 reviews
6.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
0.6 mi away
Round Tower Hotel
Round Tower Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ardmore
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
5.8 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
359 reviews
5.5 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Hotel

Property: Cliff House Hotel
Address: Middle Road | Ardmore Bay, Ardmore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Ardmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliff House Hotel.A Hotel For Seaside Luxury Regarded as one of the finest small luxury five-star hotels in Ireland, The Cliff House Hotel is a 39-room Irish seaside boutique hotel in the traditional fishing village of Ardmore. Our privately owned hotel also features an intimate Irish destination spa as well as the only Michelin-starred restaurant in Ireland outside Dublin. The building seems to defy gravity, clinging to a cliff on the south side of Ardmore Bay where there has long been a fishing village. From sun-drenched terraces and private balconies it is possible to see Ardmore’s golden sands, lobster pots and dolphins that play out on the water. All our luxury rooms and suites are sea facing while many are interconnected to provide family-friendly configurations. Our intimate destination spa, The Well, is a key attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Cliff House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Ardmore
Cliff House Hotel Ardmore, Ireland - County Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing