We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Hotel”
Review of Cliff House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cliff House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardmore
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Spectacular Hotel”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

From the moment you walk in this hotel, the experience is top-notch. The view is simply amazing! The rooms have so much character and each room has a water view. The staff is extremely friendly and will do anything to make your stay memorable. I wish I had more time than just an overnight stay to enjoy this hotel nestled along the "cliff". It was worth every penny!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utmb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Utmb55

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

I hope you can make it back for longer the next time.

Best wishes
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,149
    293
    135
    66
    29
See reviews for
193
1,149
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have just returned from our two night stay in the Cliff Hotel, Ardmore, and it was a most rewarding experience. We have never met such friendly, helpful staff, and we were made to feel special from the moment we entered the hotel. Our room was spectacular - perched on the edge of the cliff, overlooking the ocean, and within sight and sound of a variety of seabirds. The food in the bar was top class, and we were especially impressed with the breakfast, which was served until 11 each morning. The cliff walk on a stormy day was quite an experience, and Ardmore itself is a lovely place, with many historic monuments to explore. We would love to have stayed longer, and we certainly hope to return.

Room Tip: Any room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunmanwayw0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Dunmanwayw0man

Thank you for your super review - really delighted that you enjoyed yuor stay and really looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at this "Hotel" for a special occasion and paid top price for the top room. It was dusty and outdated. The showers were located outside the bathroom in a glass box?! It was freezing cold. The service was very poor. Parking was a nightmare. Location looks nice but very isolated. Room Service inadequate. Very disappointing. Total waste of money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Booleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Booleen

I would happily accept your comments if you contact me personally - call me any time on 024 87800 or email me on info@thecliffhousehotel.com.

Yours sincerely

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portarlington, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

What an amazing hotel. I would so recommend this Hotel. It looks nothing from the outside but when you walk through the doors what a transformation. Every bed room over looks the sea as hanging off the cliff the views are amazing and your shower is out on the balcony. The restaurant is to die for and your are treated like royalty. I so recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Anna S

Thank you so much for your lovely review - we really appreciate it.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon sometime.

Kindest regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

For a five star hotel, Cliff House has disappointing standards. Small rooms, though beautifully decorated. Our bathroom was not entirely clean, reception was out of local maps (which for a place that promotes the cliff walk is surprising), and lunch.dinner in the bar was just okay. The main restaurant is closed Sunday evenings, so wish we had been able to try that.

Pluses are the incredible view, interior decoration, pool overlooking the bay and lovely breakfast. Not sure I'd go back as there are plenty of fantastic five star hotels in ireland that deliver more and have friendlier and better service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear bcage

Thank you for your review. Sorry that you were disappointed.

Hope you would try us again - if we aren't good enough then you will be absolutely right but it would be great to be given a second chance.

Yours sincerely

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel is set amidst a stunning cliff facing the sea, to which every hotel patron has a view of almost everywhere in the hotel. The rooms are excellent, fully equipped with all mod cons and the stunning view is one of its unique selling points.

The food was served in the restaurant, which for me didnt live up to MY michellin star expectations, But it received its star for the food, which in fact DID live up to the hype.

Our table of 6 ate almost the same dishes, our own personal tastes no doubt. I had the garden beetroot salad, with goats cheese. This dish was devine, the goats cheese slightly whipped and the beetroot delicately cooked and maintained its earthy crunch, It was exceptional.
I had the Hake main course with lemon and saffron sauce. Superbly sous vide cooked hake with an incredible amount of flavour, perfectly cooked and well balanced.
The dessert I went for the Fool, which was entirely unsweet, The cherries brought a sweetness, and the cider sabayon was unlike any sabayon I have made or eaten before. I feel it was just an aerated custard, rather than a cooked whisked custard. I tried the panna cotta also and felt it was not sweet enough, the rhubarb was cooked and still tart and tough, the hazelnut ice cream looked like pistachio but tasted like almond (it was very neutral in flavour)

This is just my humble opinion, It earned its star for a reason and I will be back for sure.

The service was excellent, attentive staff and the atmosphere very relaxed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daithi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Daithi M

Thanks for your review - because of the works with the bar extension we were actually serving our Bar Menu in the main restaurant when you visited so glad you enjoyed your visit.

Hopefully next time you will get a chance to try the real thing!

Kindest regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were welcomed warmly as we walked to from our car and our bags were demanded from us with a unique Irish friendliness and insistence.

The hotel, the room & facilities are outstanding. The food made my taste buds explode and we over indulged in the cocktails with no ill effects.

The Cliffhouse is expensive and it will be long time before we can return but I didn't feel fleeced despite the cost.

I wish we could have stayed longer but I loved every minute of luxury. We will return as soon as I can afford to bring my wife back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capail Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Capail Y

Thank you so much for your kind words in your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope it won't be too long before you get a chance to return.

Yours sincerely
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardmore
15.1 mi away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,676 reviews
0.6 mi away
Round Tower Hotel
Round Tower Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ardmore
84 reviews
6.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
5.5 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
329 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Hotel

Property: Cliff House Hotel
Address: Middle Road | Ardmore Bay, Ardmore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Ardmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliff House Hotel.A Hotel For Seaside Luxury Regarded as one of the finest small luxury five-star hotels in Ireland, The Cliff House Hotel is a 39-room Irish seaside boutique hotel in the traditional fishing village of Ardmore. Our privately owned hotel also features an intimate Irish destination spa as well as the only Michelin-starred restaurant in Ireland outside Dublin. The building seems to defy gravity, clinging to a cliff on the south side of Ardmore Bay where there has long been a fishing village. From sun-drenched terraces and private balconies it is possible to see Ardmore’s golden sands, lobster pots and dolphins that play out on the water. All our luxury rooms and suites are sea facing while many are interconnected to provide family-friendly configurations. Our intimate destination spa, The Well, is a key attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Cliff House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Ardmore
Cliff House Hotel Ardmore, Ireland - County Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing