We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel, Amazing Food”
Review of Cliff House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cliff House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardmore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I knew this would be good but it really is a gem. Tucked away off the beaten track but still assessable to Dungarvan and Youghal. Really nice walks beside hotel or in village. Amazing views so get a room on cliff side of hotel. Very nice staff at front of house, really welcoming. Bar staff not so friendly or helpful, felt like we were in the way everytime we went in there, no smiles at all!
Food is amazing in both the restaurant and the bar. Breakfast was very tasty and lots of choice. The Spa isn't 5 star, very small, although the view from the pool is lovely, it doesn't have much other than steam room, sauna and hot tub. Have been in far better spas in 4 star hotels. In summary ticks all the boxes if bar staff were friendly and looked like they wanted to be there and spa had more services.

Room Tip: Seafront room a must with or without balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mini30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear mini30

Thanks for your review and really appreciate your comments and constructive feedback.

Yours sincerely

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,218 - 1,224 of 1,785 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

Fabulous stay in this scenic location. Not glitzy but great 'feel good' factor. Loved our balcony suite and views, even though weather bad. Slept soundly with waves crashing outside. Food (by Dutch Michelin starred chef) out of this world, greatly appreciated by my (Dutch) husband. Also enjoyed the (free) outdoor hot tub and next time I hope to try the outdoor hot seaweed treatment. All staff v friendly, and great to see the restaurant staff take such pride in their work. Don't miss the Fromage Frais souffle in the main restaurant! Also highly recommend the scallops in both restaurants and the Dessert Fool in the Bar. Only quibble was lack of reading lighting in seating area of the suite.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitty064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013
Google Translation

Dear kitty064

Hartstikke bedankt voor jou ontzettende leuke 'review'. Wij zijn ook erg trots op ons Nederlandse en Ierse connecties!

Ik hoop dat jullie vlug terug kan komen.

Beste wensen

Adriaan Bartels
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

From start to finish this was a great experience. Staff were unfailingly polite, helpful, efficient and friendly. Credit also is due to the unseen staff in housekeeping and the kitchen who do a terrific job as well. We had a wonderful room - very comfortable with a splendid and well stocked bathroom, a small library of eclectic books and a lovely balcony (which sadly we didn't get to use due to the Atlantic breeze). The architecture is pretty unique too - a roof covered in sebum moss and exposed stone walls in every room.

Both the Michelin starred restaurant and the bar provided delicious food, and Martin the chef is incredibly inventive. His dishes were truly stunning in presentation and design, not to mention taste.

Even if the weather is inclement it's well worth the effort to go out. Borrow a pair of Wellies from reception and head to the long strand nearby, or do the amazing cliff top walk. We also visited the Spa which has a range of therapies and treatments.

A really special hotel in a great location with terrific service and great attention to detail.

Room Tip: All the rooms have an uninterrupted ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VarFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear VarFan

Thanks for your superb review - especially singling out our back of house team - they will really appreciate that.

Look forward to welcoming you back when the weather is better hopefully!

Kind regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wonderful overnight stay in this lovely hotel. Parking available in close proximity to hotel. Check in friendly and efficient. Room lovely. Bathroom has the wow factor with stand alone bath, wonderful separate rainforest shower. Lovely toiletry products. Loved the various lighting effects that could be used. Great storage in room. Tea/coffee making facilities. View from balcony wonderful. CD player, books, magazines in room greatly appreciated. Spa area really lovely. Pool was a bit too cool for my liking. Sauna and steam room very enjoyable. Outdoor hot tub a delight. Silver service breakfast delicious - waiter served. Delicious choices -fruit, cooked breakfasts, breads. Dinner expensive but tasty. Walk of cliff head for the adventurous - very muddy. Hotel kindly provide wellington boots for outdoors. Enjoyed our stay very much and would hopefully will return some day.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear TipperaryNor

Thanks for your great review - appreciate all your comments and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kindest regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

What an amazing spot, beautifully situated and stunning panaorama. A friendly yet efficient 5 star resort. Small hotel so quiet and calm, a perfect spot for an escape from busy life. This place will refresh and revive your soul! Breakfast was gorgeous and i am ;looking forward to using the spa next time I visit. The lady that I first spoke with on reception was Catherine, she was so friendly and welcoming and I was fortunate enought to meet her in person and she is just lovely! The village of Ardmore is steeped in history with a beach and lots of interesting places to visit. Also a fantastic artist is resident in Ardmore Brigid Shelly, the lady that first started painting cows and she is right cows have so much soul and depth, it's all in the eyes!
So all in all, this is a must for everyone for a special treat full of magical healing and inspiration! Wow!

Room Tip: I think they all have a sea view but ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Sheila B

Thanks for your uplifting review!

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come back soon.

Kind regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This top class hotel hotel does not come cheap but the experience is one of a kind. My wife and I went with an Irish couple at their recommendation in September 2012 on a package suite/gourmet meal plan. Upon our arrival we were ushered to our rooms with breathtaking cliff top views of the sea from our balcony. The sloping grass roof was interesting. Our small suite had bedroom and sitting room each with a balcony view plus large bath with two person tub and separate shower. Dinner was imaginative and exceptionally well prepared. The staff was attentive and helpful but without the aire of pretension that usually accompanies Michelin Star restaurants. Breakfast was typical Irish fare but very relaxing served from your perch above the sea. The 1-1/2 hour cliff top walk is a gem passing by an ancient church, shipwreck, castle, and a 1000+ year round tower near the ruins of St. Declan's church with two ancient Ogham stones hidden in church alcoves.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSPDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear MSPDoc

Thank you for your very nice review - glad you enjoyed your visit last September - hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kindest regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was a return trip to Cliff House, and it will not be our last. The staff are efficient, if slightly formal, the rooms are wonderful, and the food in the dining room first class.... It deserves its Michelin star. Service during dinner is slowish, but maybe that's to allow you savour the food.... And admire what everyone else has ordered! The major disappointment is breakfast. It simply is not up to the standard it should be in such an establishment. Tables are beautifully laid, and everything is served at table, but the range available is really rather limited. The sausages were poor quality and there's NO excuse or that, given that Cork's English Market is less than an hour's drive away. The toast was served before our order was taken, so was neither warm nor crisp by the time we were ready to eat it. A hotel of this quality (and cost!) should really do better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajsper3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Ajsper3001

Thank you for returning to us again and I am glad that you enjoyed most of your visit.

The breakfast sausages come from our local butcher in Youghal and they have been the same suppler since we opened in 2008. Their quality is usually very high.

The toast, croissants and scones are brought out with the tea and coffee for you to start on while your hot breakfast is being cooked. A fresh order of toast is always available when we serve the cooked breakfast so please don't hesitate to ask for more next time.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Adriaan Bartels
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardmore
15.1 mi away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,815 reviews
10.8 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
24.8 mi away
Fota Island Resort
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
365 reviews
13.8 mi away
Garryvoe Hotel
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
799 reviews
10.6 mi away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Hotel

Address: Middle Road | Ardmore Bay, Ardmore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Ardmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardmore
Price Range: $298 - $620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliff House Hotel.A Hotel For Seaside Luxury Regarded as one of the finest small luxury five-star hotels in Ireland, The Cliff House Hotel is a 39-room Irish seaside boutique hotel in the traditional fishing village of Ardmore. Our privately owned hotel also features an intimate Irish destination spa as well as the only Michelin-starred restaurant in Ireland outside Dublin. The building seems to defy gravity, clinging to a cliff on the south side of Ardmore Bay where there has long been a fishing village. From sun-drenched terraces and private balconies it is possible to see Ardmore’s golden sands, lobster pots and dolphins that play out on the water. All our luxury rooms and suites are sea facing while many are interconnected to provide family-friendly configurations. Our intimate destination spa, The Well, is a key attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cliff House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Ardmore
Cliff House Hotel Ardmore, Ireland - County Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing