We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very enjoyable stay, thank you Paul”
other travelers have booked this property
Old Forge I
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Forge I
Old Forge I & II Arriving at silvermines cottages
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Old Forge I
Old Forge I & II
Arriving at silvermines cottages
The court yard and Old Forge II
Living area
Dining area
Dining and living area
Dining and Living area
Log burner
Bedroom 1 with queen size bed or separated to single beds
Bedroom 1 leading to en suite
En suite to bedroom 1 and similar en suite to bedroom 2
Bedroom 1 leading to living area
Bedroom 2 with queen size bed or separated to single beds
Bedroom 2 leading to the patio and garden
Doors from bedroom 2 leading to the patio,vegetable patch and wildlife garden
Bedroom 2 leading to living area
Nice fresh towels!
Private patio area
Private Patio
Vegetable patch and fruit trees for a complimentary meal
On a hike , a view of the  Silvermines village
Hiking above the Silvermines valley
View around the garden
The reception area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Nenagh, County Tipperary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brian F
1 review
“Very enjoyable stay, thank you Paul”
Reviewed August 4, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Accomadation was excellent nothing overlooked, Paul our host was very obliging. Plenty of nice walks not much else to do in silver ones but we had fun

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2016
Thanks Brian for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay.
Yes Silvermines is a rural village with a pub and shop with plenty of walks . For more than that Nenagh is 10 mins drive. Hope to see you again some time !
Best regards
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyttle V
Newtownards, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Welcoming, luxurious home-from-home!”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I cannot speak highly enough of The Old Forge! My husband and I spent our Easter weekend there with our little 4-year-old daughter, and some friends. We were welcomed by the lovely Karen, who showed us around and answered our questions. She and Paul left us some lovely wheaten bread and homemade preserve which was a lovely touch.
Sadly the weather was against us during our stay, but the cottage was so warm and homely, that we really enjoyed spending our time together indoors and making our own fun! Old Forge I is more than perfectly equipped with everything a family might need during their stay. We ate out in the nearby town of Nenagh on our first night after a long journey, and on recommendation from Paul, we popped into the fantastic Hickeys Bar across the street on our return to the cottage, where we had a couple of drinks, and some craic with the local folks. For the rest of our visit, we cooked in, and Paul and Karen really have thought of everything when it comes to preparing meals! We did visit Bunratty Castle and Folk Park on Easter Monday as the sun had put his hat on for the day, and I highly recommend it to anyone visiting the surrounding areas as we had a fab day. All round, we had a wonderful trip, and the cottage and garden are nothing short of stunning. Maintained to excellent standards and with such a wonderful view of the mountains beyond, anyone would be delighted by it! Paul was on hand to answer any questions we had, and was genuinely lovely all round. He and Karen have created a perfect haven, and their attention to detail is superb. From the use of beautiful reclaimed woods, to the designs they were used for; from the magnificent wood-burning stove, to the amazingly comfortable beds; and from the country cottage-feel to the modern, yet perfectly-fitting bathrooms, it really was a treat to spend our break there! We felt perfectly at home from the moment we stepped inside, and were genuinely sad to leave on our last day. We will definitely be back to the Silvermines, and look forward to getting to know some of the local folk better next time we visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2016
Thank you for your truly amazing review! It was a delight to meet you all. Hopefully if you come and stay again it will be blazing sunshine, get the barbi out!
Best wishes Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazwinf
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed March 21, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Beautiful cottage with every amenity situated in the beautiful village of Silvermines. The locals are very friendly and we enjoyed a great night in Hickeys bar across the road chatting to the people there including the Landlord Tommy.
The Old Forge is perfectly situated for travelling around the area without too long a journey.

We will definately be returning!! Thank you Paul!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and homely style of the property
Liked least: It was very cold upon arrival, However there had been a mix up re heating etc that was resolved.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
358veryha...
County Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our stay at the Old Forge was really really amazing. Paul was so welcoming. The property itself was so well maintained, beautiful decor, class gardens and a good location. I just wish i could have spent more quality time there. I would highly recommend this property. Beautiful for a quite getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda W
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent accomodation, lovely village, great local pub!”
Reviewed July 4, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The Old Forge is beautiful and well equipped with everything you need together with very comfortable beds and great en suites. The garden was a delight and we made use of the table and chairs provided. The locals in Hickeys Bar opposite made us very welcome and we found ourselves in there most nights enjoying a pint of Guinness! Stunning countryside with Loch Derg just 12 miles away and lots of gorgeous villages all around the water to stop and eat. We would not hesitate to return and stay in Old Forge again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful accomodation, location and friendliness of the locals.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoryGW
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great weekend”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My brothers and I and a mate stayed in the Old Forge with our sky box to watch the Ryder cup.
House was superb and very well equipped down to fresh bread butter jam on arrival . Pub next door was great and a good buzz for the hurling replay despite the Tipp loss. Great cycling in the area with tough hills
Looking foreword to next visit, planning started

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
South Mission Beach, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“quality and attention to detail”
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This delightful spacious two bedroom, two bathroom cottage set in beautiful gardens in a quiet, charming, friendly village is a wonderful base to explore Ireland. Paul's gentle, attentive personal service is the best we have ever encountered.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: well equipped kitchen and the lavender borders perfuming the air, as well as pick your own spuds! Paul's unobtrusive personal attentipn.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing