We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanderson'Sanderson's fabricss fabrics”
Review of Ashley Park House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashley Park House
Ranked #1 of 12 Nenagh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2012

This is a place which wears its age with pride.
It's full of character, and if you like old fashioned things like creaking floorboards, peacocks, and Sanderson's fabrics, then it's the place for you; if you'd rather have modern, minimalistic, or pseudo it's not.
My wife and I have just spent four days in Ashley Park House. We did nothing, loved every moment, and will go back.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the lake
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gringoagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APNenagh, Owner at Ashley Park House, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Thank you for the lovely review, I hope you and your wife can come back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for Ashley Park House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 320 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2012

What a super place. Old world charm at its best. My Mum and I just spent what she called 'a gem of an evening' in Ashley Park House.
They could not have been more accommodating. Tea and cake on arrival, lovely dinner and then we retired to the lounge with the other guests where we finished our wine and swapped stories.
The surrounding grounds are just beautiful, a lake (where you can take the boat out), country trails and a huge fairy fort. Great for exploring.
We will undoubtedly return.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgbessiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APNenagh, Owner at Ashley Park House, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Thank you for the lovely review, we hope you can return again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I have traveled over most of the world for work but for time off and a complete change of pace this is the place to go. It's magical. This year we went later than usual and mostly had the place to ourselves. The people couldn't be nicer or more helpful even when we turned up on completely the wrong day!

Its the location that does it for me, you can leave the world behind.

I've already booked up for next year.

Room Tip: Presidential suite, for sure.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frank g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APNenagh, Owner at Ashley Park House, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Thank you for your charming review - I will pass on the review to Sinead and Sean who will be delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.

All the very best,
Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

My 19 year old son and I chose Ashley Park House for our very first night in Ireland in October 2011. Communication prior to our visit via email with Margaret had been very helpful and welcoming and contributed to the overall success of our trip. Margaret and her father Sean were very gracious hosts and we felt an instant connection to them and the manor, which indeed has a special feel to it. The photos online are fine but of course cannot fullly show the extent and charm of Ashley Park House, its fixtures, furnishings and property. We were given the cottage which we enjoyed. Our beds were very comfortable, thereby affording us a very good night's sleep. Breakfast was sumptuous, beautifully presented, abundant and delicious. I can remember thinking "this must be Irish hospitality at its finest!" and I believe it was. We hope to return to Ireland and when we do will certainly make a return visit to Ashley Park House a priority, and plan to stay longer than just one night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Staying at Ashley Park is like being a treasured guest in a beautiful Irish country house. The visit begins with tea in the drawing room, a chat with the fascinating host, Sean, and an invitation to row on the lake, fish, walk in the gardens or feed the horses. Sleep is deep and untroubled in gracious, well appointed bedrooms. The cock crows and breakfast is unhurried and freshly cooked; my son particularly enjoyed the mound of pancakes! This is a special place and the courtesy of the owner and staff made for an unforgettable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-4 have lake views
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnaTBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We got married here in February 2009. They catered for 70 people with gorgeous food and fantastic hospitality. Nothing was too much trouble. Lovely fresh tasty food with great choice. Very welcoming atmosphere. Charming accommodation, roaring fires and mulled wine. Staff are really friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

One of the highlights of our 2 week trip to Ireland in early Sept was our 2 night stay at Ashley Park house. gorgeous location by a lake, with ruins on the island, lots of walking, walled garden being restored, and we ended up having the entire house to ourselves the first night. First rate supper prepared to order by cook Mary, candlelit dinner, best meal of our trip (but it was pricey, but food in general is expensive there). breakfast was terrific again, beautiful croissants, and variety of options to choose from. Sean, the owner, terrific, very anxious to check on our comfort, lovely chats at breakfast.
we had the big red suite, very comfy and attractive. it is a faded sort of glory, cushions on sofa looking a little worn/faded, etc, but this is not meant to be a super duper perfectly appointed 'resort'...its an historic house, built 1790, which comes with all the quirks and creaks involved with maintaining and upkeeping such a place. atmosphere was top notch...peat fire in drawing room, coffee and tea, wifi was very welcome, heating pads in beds, etc. if you are looking for something different, a bit of a departure and experience country house living from times gone by, you should check it out.
- it would be helpful if they included a general map of outlay of property to aid in finding fairy fort and walled garden and contact info for staff while staying there...could be a tv on offer in the small single rooms. also, the doors dont seem to lock/no keys necessary...but this wasnt a big issue for us.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaB_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nenagh
4.2 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
13.6 mi away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
13.9 mi away
The Killaloe Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
388 reviews
3.7 mi away
Maryville Bed & Breakfast
4.3 mi away
Willowbrook Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Park House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Park House

Address: Ardcroney | Free internet, Nenagh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Nenagh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Nenagh
Price Range: $106 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashley Park House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Ireland lies Ashley Park House. An 18th century country house offering the visitor bed and breakfast (B&B) accommodation on the grandest scale. From the moment you arrive, you are aware that this is no ordinary B&B - Ashley Park House provides a setting of unmatched tranquility and peace. A worthy respite from the rigours of modern living. Set in 76 acres of beech woodland and formal gardens, the historic country house sits on the shores of Lough Ourna, giving the visitor ample scope to pursue a wide range of activities including fishing, golf, sailing, horse riding and hiking. What better way to end the day than with a full four course dinner and wine in the red dining room, surrounded by gilt mirrors and gazing over the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ashley Park House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing