We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“didn't go inside but this is the real deal.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nenagh Castle

Nenagh Castle
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Nenagh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Castle is Nenagh's oldest building, and it's construction in the 13th Century laid the foundation for the development of the town. Theobald FitzWalter, whose successors would become Earls and Dukes of Ormond, built the castle and upon its completition c.1220 It served as the main seat of the Butler family, until 1391. The Castle boasts the finest cylindrical keep in Ireland. Like most keeps, it formed part of perimiter of the fortress, being incorporated in the curtain walls surrounding a five-sided courtyard. The Castle has had extensive renovations from 2009 to completion in June 2013. Free admission and free guided tours are available on request. The castle is a medieval building and has a stone spiral stairs to the top. There are 101 steps in all to the top. Access to the tower is through a passageway within the base of the wall. This has low head room and visitors will need to stoop to avoid hitting the stone above. All children under the age of 16 must be accompanied by an adult. Nenagh Castle is open from April to October. Tue-Sat: 10am-1pm, 2pm-4.30Pm Last admission: 3.45 Pm Free guided tours available on request. Average length of visit - 30 min. All groups of 15 or more must pre-book.
PHP
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“didn't go inside but this is the real deal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

we were told this castle has not been restored and thus it is in great original condition. it is quite a site to see in the middle of town.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nautilus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    28
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A castle you can climb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This castle is a national monument which has had conservation work. Can climb to the top and get a great view of the town, other attractions, and surrounds. Free entry. Not crowded. There was only one other person when I visited.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank msova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenagh, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Visit to Castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

I like visiting Nenagh Castle, I took my friends children & they loved it. I liked the way you can look out over the town from the different floors, It's no problem going up the spiral stairs but a bit more difficult coming down

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenagh, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our History is Restored”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

I brought 2kids to see our restored castle and we all loved it, small steps up so be careful, great view of our little town when u reach d top, free entry always a bonus ;)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Nuggs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful tower with great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We had a personal tour by one of the gentlemen from the historical society. He was very kind and absolutely full of information about the castle and the history of the area. It was really great.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SJStClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nenagh Castle also viewed

Nenagh, County Tipperary
Nenagh, County Tipperary
 
Nenagh, County Tipperary
 

Been to Nenagh Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing