We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nenagh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed two nights in 8 room lodge with a large group of friends. House was clean, bedrooms good size and living area spacious. House was well stocked with crockery, glasses etc, everything we needed.
Staff were very helpful and accommodating and we had a very enjoyable weekend. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Littleapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Littleapples
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Abbey Court Hotel Holiday lodges. We are very proud of our staff and the friendly and helpful service they provide making your stay a truly memorable one. We look forward to a return visit in the near future. Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 343 of 595 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stopped off for lunch on Saturday 19th July. Hotel was busy and a wedding party was due in, however, we did get seated and enjoyed a really good lunch from a fairly comprehensive menu - something for most tastes!! Service was efficient and the staff were very pleasant. Meals arrived hot and very nicely presented. We couldn't complain about anything - it really was very enjoyable. Considering how busy it was we were very pleased with the speed of service, quality of the food and the overall presentation. Staff on the day were very hardworking and attentive to our needs - management have done a good job! Good place to stop for a meal when in transit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferryport354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear ferryport354
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we appreciate all comments made. We are glad your enjoyed your lunch with us and the service provided. We do hope you will return to the hotel in the near future. Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

The receptionist was enthusiastic, welcoming which is always a great start to a stay. The room was spacious, the wifi worked perfectly, except in the dining area, which come to think of it may not be a bad idea! Seeing people supposedly sharing a meal and each one glued to a device is not great!
The evening meal offered all kinds of options - three course, à la carte etc. The breakfast was the usual standard for a hotel of this kind.
We were a cycling group , doing a ring of Lough Derg - Nenagh, Portumna, Scarriff , Killaloe and back to Nenagh and the Abbey Court and we were ravenous!
The hotel bar is a lovely friendly place to unwind. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Not over the front door. If there is a function there will be lots of activity all night at the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kierangroeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Kierangroeger
Thank you taking the time to write your review on our hotel, we appreciate all comments. We are delighted your enjoyed your stay at the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed here last week in one of the 5 bedroom lodges as part of a family get together. We chose this location primarily because of the number of bedrooms on offer.
The lodges are VERY spacious, with huge bedrooms. There are 4 doubles and one twin, with 3 of the doubles having ensuites. The standard of cleanliness was of a good standard also.
However, the lodges are in dire need of maintenance. The decking out the back is in a poor condition, we had 3 boards that were only screwed in the centre, so if you stood on either side, you fell through, not great when you have small kids.It has obviously been like that since installation, as there was no beam underneath for the boards to be screwed into.
One of the couches in the sitting room had burst springs all over, so anyone sitting on it rolled into the middle.
The leisure centre is 1st class. The kids loved the pool, the underfloor heating in the changing rooms is a pleasant touch, and the spa treatments I was informed were very good.
Im at a loss as to why the restaurant is so highly regarded. The food we had was very average, the steaks were fatty, and the service wasnt great. At one point we were brought out the next course before the table had been cleared of the previous course.
This review may sound on the negative side, but we did have a good time whilst staying. It is a good base for travelling around, although be prepared for driving to get to anywhere worthwhile seeing. I found it odd that a hotel that markets itself as a family hotel, didnt have a playground? It would really benefit from having one.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank danyosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear danyosan
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we appreciate all comments made and act upon them immediately. We have taking all your comments made on board and have since your review rectified the decking and couch in the holiday homes. We are glad your enjoyed the leisure centre and the kids had a great time. I am sorry to hear about your dinner and have spoken with our restaurant manager and chef regarding same. we do hope that you will re-visit the hotel some day and see the improvements we have made on the above. Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Hotel is in the middle of Ireland, it took about two hours to reach from Dublin. Hotel basic but good and clean except for the toilets. Bedroom Toilet full of dried in urine stains and when I lifted the lid boy there was some growth there as well as on the back of the toilet seat. Reception send a woman to clean it. I then had occasion after dinner in the restaurant to use the downstairs loo it was even worse! Filthy is the only word to describe it.

Chef cooked me stir fry chicken and veg, even though not on menu which was very nice and the presentation was excellent. Overall the dinner was very good, my husband had salmon which was lovely. Wine good, but limited choice, had the house wine from Italy five years old very good.

Spa excellent, Sarah was so good with back massage that I decided to get extra treatments. It was a lovely experience to meet somebody so friendly and engaging and not afraid of giving it 100%.

Pool very cloudy but a nice size, spa very hot, too hot for my liking. They have a kids free zone after 8pm to 10pm, which is a great idea.

Staff just lovely and friendly overall and very obliging. Overall a very good package at 109 euro for dinner, bed and breakfast as well as a spa treatment. There is a lovely village just down the road to shop, eat or just visit. There is a monastery and round tower with free guides on hand, which was excellent. Overall I would recommend this hotel but clean the toilets to a proper standard.

Room Tip: We had a room just over the door and as its a hotel used for a lot of weddings it was noisy late at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank susancc737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear susanbcc737
Thank you for your comments on trip advisor , we take all comments on board and act upon them immediately, we have highlighted your comments with our accommodation service staff and have agreed that as we have approached a busier time for the summer season , with a high volume of traffic going through the hotel we have now introduced a member of accommodation staff to be on duty from 5pm - 1am , we apologize as this would not be normal standard in our hotel. Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed at this beautiful Hotel from 16th-20th June 2014 and I can but praise what a fabulous stay we had there. The dinners, and breakfast were excellent. Our room was clean and the only downfall was that as the weather was so hot for that week the room was also very hot. The gardens were worth a walk round, which we did. The Spa facilities were selling caps for 4 euros. We didn't use these facilities as we were on a Tour and didn't get much chance to use them, If we ever visit Nenagh again then I am sure we would stay at this Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Lynn B
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Abbey Court Hotel in June, we pride ourselves in making sure that each guest has a memorable stay and hope that they will return to the hotel in the near future. please do not hesitate to contact us directly for future reservations, and we look forward to seeing you again. Kindest Regards Imelda White , Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Abbey Court Hotel in Nenagh is about 5-6 KM off the M7 so it is necessary to add about an hour or more to your travelling time if you intend to call in for a meal. It is well worth the trip. The hotel has an excellent car park with lots of room and in the current fine weather - you can eat outside if you wish. The staff are excellent and will really look after you. The food is always of a very high standard and is hot and tasty. There is ample room indoors for families and you will be well catered for. My wife and I were returning from Newbridge, Co Kildare, recently and had occasion to call in to the Abbey Court Hotel, Nenagh. - It was more than well worth the detour off the motorway to enjoy our meal in this excellent establishment. The food is terrific and as for the staff?? They treated us - as if we were family - which we are not. Next time we are VIsiting family and friends in Co Kildare - we will certainly call in - on our way back, to the Abbey Court Hotel, Nenagh. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard5042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Richard5052
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stop for lunch, we pride ourselves in making sure each guests has a excellent experience both food and service and are grateful for your wonderful comments. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon . Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nenagh
18.4 mi away
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
24.5 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
11.3 mi away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
899 reviews
20.9 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Thurles
409 reviews
19.6 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa

Address: Dublin Rd, Nenagh, Ireland (Formerly Abbey Court Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Nenagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nenagh
Price Range: $70 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great National Abbey Court Hotel, Lodges & Trinity Leisure Spa is a family owned business, set within its own mature gardens on a five acre site on the edge of the historic, centrally located town of Nenagh. We are the mid-west of Ireland's leading superior 3 star hotel with 4 star self-catering lodges, easily accessed just off the main M7 Dublin to Limerick Road, 90 minutes from Dublin and 30 minutes from Limerick. Nenagh is famed for its historic Heritage Centre, Friary Castle, Arts Centre, Local Crafts & Fresh Produce Markets, Woolen Mill, Award Winning Eateries and its stunning selection of Boutique Shops for both Men & Women. Only a few minutes away is the breath taking scenery of Lough Derg with its ample facilities such as boating, cruising, sailing, fishing and outdoor adventure centre. Other activities in the area include walking, hiking, biking, hunting, horse racing, greyhound racing, horse riding, golf and pitch and putt. If you go a little further afield you can tour the Golden Vale, Rock of Cashel, Holycross Abbey, Bunratty Folk Park, Birr Castle Demesne, Cliffs of Moher & much more due to our central location. From conferencing to a leisure break, family stay, wedding or other events, valued guests can enjoy superb facilities combined with a great base and the highest level of comfort and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Nenagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing