We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Maryville Bed & Breakfast(Nenagh)(Great Value!)
$82
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayly Farm(Nenagh)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Willowbrook Bed & Breakfast(Nenagh)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (630)
Filter reviews
630 results
Traveler rating
264
208
78
41
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
208
78
41
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure centreswimming poolkids clubweekend breaklovely hotelbar foodsteakwould highly recommend this hotelself catering lodgessaturday nightbit datednenagh townworth a visitfamily roomspacious roomgreat weekendbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
408 - 413 of 630 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Booked this hotel 6 months in advance of stay, looked like I was only paying deposit and then remaining amount on arrival from their website. Turned out full amount taken from my account, contacted hotel within 12 hours of booking and was told it was my fault and that the entire amount is non refundable. Wouldn't mind only I really couldn't afford to pay full amount at that time. Very unfair in my opinion. No budging from staff or any chance of "good will" being shown.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank avad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear avad T
I wish to acknowledge your comments on Trip Advisor and while we understand your frustration and disappointment we however must point out that on booking an advance purchase room which does state clearly Prepay and Save hence the discounted rate and also highlights this in the terms and conditions included that it is a non-refundable payment should you have to cancel your room.

However we do acknowledge that the payment breakdown on the booking engine can lead to confusion if you did not read the terms and conditions before booking, this is something we have looked at yesterday with our booking engine provided who provide approx. 1/3 of the hotel s in Ireland with their booking engine (Avvio) and this is something that cannot be changed due to their procedures and they also felt that it is clearly stated on the website when making your booking.

Again we appreciate your feedback and apologies that the booking procedure was unclear to you.
We do hope that you will still continue to hold your reservation at the Abbey Court Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you
Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the Abbey Court Hotel with my partner for a short winter break.What a little gem. Fab hotel. Great value for money. Rooms were clean and well maintained. Lovely garden for a winter stroll. Food was great too. Well done to the friendly staff.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank bikergirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments placed on Trip Advisor and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hopefully will return to us soon
Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Booked two lodges in this Hotel recently for a family get together , on arrival at the Reception the lady who looked after us was friendly but not very informative did not give us any details of the Hotel ...ie breakfast times or pool or spa times . The lodge we stayed in had no hot water in the evening for showers which is supplied by the old fashion emersion which is on a timer ...asked reception to sent someone over to checked this out which they did who told us It would take an hour to heat the water ...an hour later still no hot water ..so decided to go for a quick lukewarm shower ...water ,from shower leaked down into the sitting rooms and landings of the two floors setting of the fire alarms on all floors ...seriously dodgy plumbing called reception again and were removed to another lodge .staff were efficient but honestly these lodges could not be checked on a regular basis to allow this to happen ..other issues were also the fact that we were missing basic items like tea cups , hair dryer , spoons ,heating not working in some of the bedrooms ,lodges not serviced for the two days we stayed no clean towels .
Having stayed in lodges on Hotel property before in Ireland and having been told by the staff in this hotel that we had full facilities and services of the hotel I was amazed to be asked to pay for our towels when using the swimming pool when hotel guest did not have to pay ????. Outrageous
Also there is a 10euro charge for clean towels and sheets per room in the lodges ????
The lodges are clean and spacious .
Hotel staff are friendly and helpful
The staff in the Hotel can not be faulted and looked after our large group for food in the evenings with a warm welcome and smile .

Room Tip: Ask staff to check all rooms for heating and hot water in the lodges
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Tsam
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on your recent stay, we wish to apologies over your temperature in water and understand your fustration, this is something that we had looked at since and resolved the unexpected issues. lodges are not serviced unless you book this as an additonal extra. We do take all your points on board and do hope that maybe you might revisit the hotel
Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Everything was fine except the bathroom in my room needs some attention. There were quite a number of cracked tiles and grout missing in a number of places. Generally the bathroom was scruffy although it seemed clean. The shower was also erratic. I have nothing else to say so I have difficulty in meeting the 200 word limit and I think that it is in appropriate imposing a minimum word count limit. A maximum word count may be appropriate but not a minimum. If anyone actually reads these perhaps you would be good enough to explain why a minimum word limit is imposed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Margaret C
thank you for your comments, we take all our comments on board and am delighted to inform you that we have since December been refurbishing our bathrooms, unfortuntely it is not possible to do the full 83 bathrooms all at once and take floor by floor, but has been in working progress and still is. We do hope that you will return someday to see our improvements. Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Warmly welcomed at reception (blonde girl). There was a lovely feel to reception. The open fire and it looked like preparations were under way for an event as there was mulled wine and a red carpet. Also there was home made mince pies at reception which was a nice touch. They were there at check out too.

The wifi signal was reliable. The room was clean, spacious and cosy. The bed was comfortable.

Breakfast the next morning had a nice choice with good croissants. Not out of a packet. Freshly baked croissants. That's unusual. You can tell I like croissants. Nice to see French Toast with maple syrup and bacon on the menu too. There was a lovely choice of teas and coffee. The waitress was lovely too.

Check out was equally warm and friendly, same girl.

Although this was a business stay, I think I'd like to return here with family. I didn't get to try the leisure centre, I went to the cinema instead that evening, but it looks good on the brochure. I visited the bar, which was busy enough to just get some ice and the staff were really nice in there too.

Lovely vibe off this hotel, I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystallamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Crystallamp
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor on our Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your business trip stay and hopefully will see you back on leisurely break next time, please contact us for special offers. Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews