We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible before we even got there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nenagh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Booked this hotel 6 months in advance of stay, looked like I was only paying deposit and then remaining amount on arrival from their website. Turned out full amount taken from my account, contacted hotel within 12 hours of booking and was told it was my fault and that the entire amount is non refundable. Wouldn't mind only I really couldn't afford to pay full amount at that time. Very unfair in my opinion. No budging from staff or any chance of "good will" being shown.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank avad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear avad T
I wish to acknowledge your comments on Trip Advisor and while we understand your frustration and disappointment we however must point out that on booking an advance purchase room which does state clearly Prepay and Save hence the discounted rate and also highlights this in the terms and conditions included that it is a non-refundable payment should you have to cancel your room.

However we do acknowledge that the payment breakdown on the booking engine can lead to confusion if you did not read the terms and conditions before booking, this is something we have looked at yesterday with our booking engine provided who provide approx. 1/3 of the hotel s in Ireland with their booking engine (Avvio) and this is something that cannot be changed due to their procedures and they also felt that it is clearly stated on the website when making your booking.

Again we appreciate your feedback and apologies that the booking procedure was unclear to you.
We do hope that you will still continue to hold your reservation at the Abbey Court Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you
Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

381 - 387 of 601 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the Abbey Court Hotel with my partner for a short winter break.What a little gem. Fab hotel. Great value for money. Rooms were clean and well maintained. Lovely garden for a winter stroll. Food was great too. Well done to the friendly staff.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank bikergirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments placed on Trip Advisor and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hopefully will return to us soon
Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Booked two lodges in this Hotel recently for a family get together , on arrival at the Reception the lady who looked after us was friendly but not very informative did not give us any details of the Hotel ...ie breakfast times or pool or spa times . The lodge we stayed in had no hot water in the evening for showers which is supplied by the old fashion emersion which is on a timer ...asked reception to sent someone over to checked this out which they did who told us It would take an hour to heat the water ...an hour later still no hot water ..so decided to go for a quick lukewarm shower ...water ,from shower leaked down into the sitting rooms and landings of the two floors setting of the fire alarms on all floors ...seriously dodgy plumbing called reception again and were removed to another lodge .staff were efficient but honestly these lodges could not be checked on a regular basis to allow this to happen ..other issues were also the fact that we were missing basic items like tea cups , hair dryer , spoons ,heating not working in some of the bedrooms ,lodges not serviced for the two days we stayed no clean towels .
Having stayed in lodges on Hotel property before in Ireland and having been told by the staff in this hotel that we had full facilities and services of the hotel I was amazed to be asked to pay for our towels when using the swimming pool when hotel guest did not have to pay ????. Outrageous
Also there is a 10euro charge for clean towels and sheets per room in the lodges ????
The lodges are clean and spacious .
Hotel staff are friendly and helpful
The staff in the Hotel can not be faulted and looked after our large group for food in the evenings with a warm welcome and smile .

Room Tip: Ask staff to check all rooms for heating and hot water in the lodges
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Tsam
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on your recent stay, we wish to apologies over your temperature in water and understand your fustration, this is something that we had looked at since and resolved the unexpected issues. lodges are not serviced unless you book this as an additonal extra. We do take all your points on board and do hope that maybe you might revisit the hotel
Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Everything was fine except the bathroom in my room needs some attention. There were quite a number of cracked tiles and grout missing in a number of places. Generally the bathroom was scruffy although it seemed clean. The shower was also erratic. I have nothing else to say so I have difficulty in meeting the 200 word limit and I think that it is in appropriate imposing a minimum word count limit. A maximum word count may be appropriate but not a minimum. If anyone actually reads these perhaps you would be good enough to explain why a minimum word limit is imposed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Margaret C
thank you for your comments, we take all our comments on board and am delighted to inform you that we have since December been refurbishing our bathrooms, unfortuntely it is not possible to do the full 83 bathrooms all at once and take floor by floor, but has been in working progress and still is. We do hope that you will return someday to see our improvements. Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Warmly welcomed at reception (blonde girl). There was a lovely feel to reception. The open fire and it looked like preparations were under way for an event as there was mulled wine and a red carpet. Also there was home made mince pies at reception which was a nice touch. They were there at check out too.

The wifi signal was reliable. The room was clean, spacious and cosy. The bed was comfortable.

Breakfast the next morning had a nice choice with good croissants. Not out of a packet. Freshly baked croissants. That's unusual. You can tell I like croissants. Nice to see French Toast with maple syrup and bacon on the menu too. There was a lovely choice of teas and coffee. The waitress was lovely too.

Check out was equally warm and friendly, same girl.

Although this was a business stay, I think I'd like to return here with family. I didn't get to try the leisure centre, I went to the cinema instead that evening, but it looks good on the brochure. I visited the bar, which was busy enough to just get some ice and the staff were really nice in there too.

Lovely vibe off this hotel, I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystallamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Crystallamp
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor on our Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your business trip stay and hopefully will see you back on leisurely break next time, please contact us for special offers. Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Four friends and I stayed at this lovely hotel for two nights (29th + 30th Nov) for my friends 21st! we were greeted by a lovely lady in reception (Tara) She was so pleasant and helpful! Our rooms were warm, clean and spacious! Breakfast was lovely with a great selection! We ate in the hotel on the Saturday night which was gorgeous! Got pampered in the spa by Sarah and Siobhan who were amazing! And had our hair done in the Salon! Overall great stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twink93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear twink93
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and its facilities in particular the pampering in the Spa and Hair Salon, we hope you will return in the near future please contact us for special offers. Kindest Regards Imelda White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We took advantage of a very good value weekend at the Abbey Court in Nenagh Co Tipperary. We arrived at 7.45 on a cold Friday night into to a very welcoming warm hotel with a lovely fire in the lobby. We were greeted and welcomed by the receptionist and headed to our room which was a very warm good size room. On the package we booked we had a Red and White wine in the room along with some chocs very nice. As we had chosen to take our evening meal on the Friday which was also part of the package. The restaurant was very pleasant the young staff very friendly and helpful. We had a super meal a great choice on the menu wonderful and the in end it was a case of full to the top. Really enjoyable. The bed was very comfortable slept like a baby. We had a late breakfast 10 am Saturday and Sunday breakfast is to 11.30 am which is great. We drove into Limerick city which only a 35min drive and plenty to do. We spent the afternoon there and headed back to nenagh town which also has nice coffee shops etc.And Saturday night we had a meal in the Peppermill restaurant in Kenyon St you must try here wonderful. A very busy house. We advise you book your table Robert and Mairead are the owners and very nice people indeed. It was a great finish to our short weekend away. Afterwards back to the hotel had one for the road and retired to bed terrific weekend. Late breakfast Sunday and headed home. So check them out for the special weekends. Our price 208.00 yes 208.00 for the both of us for 2B+B 1D plus the Wine and Chocs on arrival.

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear thefullmoney
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Abbey Court Hotel, we pride ourselves in making sure you had a wonderful stay. We do hope that you will return in the near future. Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nenagh
18.4 mi away
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
11.3 mi away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
20.9 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
The Killaloe Hotel & Spa
19.6 mi away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
107 reviews
24.5 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa

Address: Dublin Rd, Nenagh, Ireland (Formerly Abbey Court Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Nenagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nenagh
Price Range: $78 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great National Abbey Court Hotel, Lodges & Trinity Leisure Spa is a family owned business, set within its own mature gardens on a five acre site on the edge of the historic, centrally located town of Nenagh. We are the mid-west of Ireland's leading superior 3 star hotel with 4 star self-catering lodges, easily accessed just off the main M7 Dublin to Limerick Road, 90 minutes from Dublin and 30 minutes from Limerick. Nenagh is famed for its historic Heritage Centre, Friary Castle, Arts Centre, Local Crafts & Fresh Produce Markets, Woolen Mill, Award Winning Eateries and its stunning selection of Boutique Shops for both Men & Women. Only a few minutes away is the breath taking scenery of Lough Derg with its ample facilities such as boating, cruising, sailing, fishing and outdoor adventure centre. Other activities in the area include walking, hiking, biking, hunting, horse racing, greyhound racing, horse riding, golf and pitch and putt. If you go a little further afield you can tour the Golden Vale, Rock of Cashel, Holycross Abbey, Bunratty Folk Park, Birr Castle Demesne, Cliffs of Moher & much more due to our central location. From conferencing to a leisure break, family stay, wedding or other events, valued guests can enjoy superb facilities combined with a great base and the highest level of comfort and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Nenagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing