We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valued Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nenagh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We took advantage of a very good value weekend at the Abbey Court in Nenagh Co Tipperary. We arrived at 7.45 on a cold Friday night into to a very welcoming warm hotel with a lovely fire in the lobby. We were greeted and welcomed by the receptionist and headed to our room which was a very warm good size room. On the package we booked we had a Red and White wine in the room along with some chocs very nice. As we had chosen to take our evening meal on the Friday which was also part of the package. The restaurant was very pleasant the young staff very friendly and helpful. We had a super meal a great choice on the menu wonderful and the in end it was a case of full to the top. Really enjoyable. The bed was very comfortable slept like a baby. We had a late breakfast 10 am Saturday and Sunday breakfast is to 11.30 am which is great. We drove into Limerick city which only a 35min drive and plenty to do. We spent the afternoon there and headed back to nenagh town which also has nice coffee shops etc.And Saturday night we had a meal in the Peppermill restaurant in Kenyon St you must try here wonderful. A very busy house. We advise you book your table Robert and Mairead are the owners and very nice people indeed. It was a great finish to our short weekend away. Afterwards back to the hotel had one for the road and retired to bed terrific weekend. Late breakfast Sunday and headed home. So check them out for the special weekends. Our price 208.00 yes 208.00 for the both of us for 2B+B 1D plus the Wine and Chocs on arrival.

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear thefullmoney
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Abbey Court Hotel, we pride ourselves in making sure you had a wonderful stay. We do hope that you will return in the near future. Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

381 - 387 of 595 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

My stay at the Abbey Court Hotel was good. The staff were friendly. The room, bathroom and toilet were clean, the decor fine and the bed was comfortable. I had a very good nights sleep. It was peaceful and restful.
My room overlooked the car park with the garden to the right and it was ok. It may not have been spectacular but it wasn't off putting or an eyesore. There was enough shrubbery to offset the view of parked vehicles. I certainly didn't mind gazing out the window every so often.
Overall the decor throughout the hotel may seem a tad outdated but it was refreshing to stay somewhere that wasn't pretentious or trying to be flash and uber modern.
I attended a wedding reception at the hotel. The food was excellent and the service was just as good too. The function room wasn't bad either. The staff really tried their best to deliver an excellent service and they succeeded.
If you're on a short break and just want to do a tour of the area or you're visiting friends or family and just want a comfortable place to stay for a few nights, then the Abbey Court Hotel serves its purpose. I enjoyed my stay there and would return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Deborah T
Thank you for your comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Abbey Court Hotel and indeed the wedding you attending. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future. Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed there last weekend in the lodges at side of hotel, very good size we had four adults and three kids plenty of room for all. Beds are comfy, master room is very nice we lost the toss and stayed in the other double room, beds are a little small were not a big couple and struggled for sleep space. Hotel is very nice food was good and we availed of kids club for two nights the little people seemed to enjoy it. Pool is a blessing the weather was terrible on Saturday so we spent alot of time in there. Changing facilities are good Gents room was very cold so the little people went with mammies to the female room which were ok. Reception helped out when asked for anything, we went to Portumna forest park on Sunday really nice place for walks and there are some playgrounds near the park aswell. Good spot and will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodges really nice, we got a very good deal on an offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scuba922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Scuba922
Thank you for your comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Abbey Court Hotel and lodges. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The present mrs and i visited the Abbey court recently and were very impressed!! Ray (the manager) and his taem did EVERYTHING possible to make us welcome. The food is 5 star, the room was spacious and clean with its own safe (free of charge) The spa,gym,pool and steam room were great! The bar had a great atmosphere and the service and prices were very good.
Built in 1996 to look like an old abbey in beautiful landscaped grounds, and only a 5 min walk from Nenaghs centre. I cant believe it only has 3 stars, it should have 5! I thoroughly recommend this hotel for a VERY relaxing/ pamper break. WELL DONE ABBEY COURT!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSK60MC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear DSK60MC
Thank you for your lovely feedback, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the hotel recently. It is always a pleasure from our staff and management to make the guests stay a most enjoyable one which is what we pride ourselves in. We certainly look forward to your return visit in the near future. Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just had a 5 day stay in this beautiful hotel very comfortable and cosy. The staff went out of their way to help us. The food was very tasty and so filling we never needed a late snack at super time like in some hotels . We found the hospitality wonderful there and in the local little town ten min walk away can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macdonald1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Macdonald1950
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Abbey Court Hotel and indeed the town of Nenagh. We look forward to a return visit in the near future. Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stay here at least once every year for convenience whilst visiting family nearby.
The staff are always exceptional - very welcoming and accommodating and they record and remember the odd preference I have regarding room etc.

Whilst I have always had a clean, quiet, comfortable room, I don't think I'm being unfair in saying that the decor (once smart and very fashionable) is now a bit tired, dowdy and out-dated. One accepts that during these 'trying' years for Ireland such things have probably taken a bit of a low priority, however, as the hotel seems to be very busy whenever I stay, it would be nice to see it given a face lift soon. It's a bit of a treasure in Nenagh so it would be good to see its spirits lifted.

Room Tip: I would just say, be careful in hot weather, as I then find the rooms can be very hot indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear sibby
Thank you for your recent stay at the Abbey Court Hotel and we are delighted you enjoyed your time spent with us. We appreciate your comments on the interior and we have been re-furbishing the hotel throughout the year in various different area's trying to get it all done but a slow process. We certainly look forward to your return visit. Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I went to this hotel with my husband last month for one night. The staff were very nice and helpful and the breakfast was just impressive and fantastic. There was a big buffet and lots of different options for everyone.
The hotel looks quite old though and in need of serious repair. Our bedroom was dreadful. It was so dirty I was afraid to touch anything. The furniture was damaged, scratched, torn apart like they came out from a garage sale or from a garbage bin. The carpet was badly stained , but the worse was the bathroom: mould everywhere, dirty floors, tiles coming off, shaver fixture screwed upside down!
The room was €125 for one night (Saturday) which I thought was very expensive for what you get ( check pictures)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kiki55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Kiki55
We were concerned to read your feedback regading your recent stay at the hotel. We apologise for your disappointment with your stay, but would however like to inform you of the following.
We are sorry you were allocated a room which was not suitable, we have been going through refurbishment for the past two months but can only do a number of rooms at a time, and this was a corridor that was original blocked off to be done but unfortuntely we were booked out and had no option but to use it, we take all your comments on board regarding the carpet, furniture and bathrooms but do however disagree with your comment that the room was dirty, our rooms are throughly cleaned each day from top to bottom, the grouting in the bathrooms may make the tiles look dirty but they certainly are not. As you can imagine in such a large hotel it is impossible to do everything as once and are constantly re-investing in the property and its interiors but this is not something we can do overnight, we have already re-decorated the lobby, bar , function room, lodges and out of the 83 bedrooms more than half of these have already been done. It was just unfortunate that we had to use those rooms that were not done on the weekend you stay with us

We do hope that you will return to the hotel some day and see the work we have done and are doing. Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nenagh
18.4 mi away
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
24.5 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
11.3 mi away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
899 reviews
20.9 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Thurles
408 reviews
19.6 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa

Address: Dublin Rd, Nenagh, Ireland (Formerly Abbey Court Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Nenagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nenagh
Price Range: $73 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great National Abbey Court Hotel, Lodges & Trinity Leisure Spa is a family owned business, set within its own mature gardens on a five acre site on the edge of the historic, centrally located town of Nenagh. We are the mid-west of Ireland's leading superior 3 star hotel with 4 star self-catering lodges, easily accessed just off the main M7 Dublin to Limerick Road, 90 minutes from Dublin and 30 minutes from Limerick. Nenagh is famed for its historic Heritage Centre, Friary Castle, Arts Centre, Local Crafts & Fresh Produce Markets, Woolen Mill, Award Winning Eateries and its stunning selection of Boutique Shops for both Men & Women. Only a few minutes away is the breath taking scenery of Lough Derg with its ample facilities such as boating, cruising, sailing, fishing and outdoor adventure centre. Other activities in the area include walking, hiking, biking, hunting, horse racing, greyhound racing, horse riding, golf and pitch and putt. If you go a little further afield you can tour the Golden Vale, Rock of Cashel, Holycross Abbey, Bunratty Folk Park, Birr Castle Demesne, Cliffs of Moher & much more due to our central location. From conferencing to a leisure break, family stay, wedding or other events, valued guests can enjoy superb facilities combined with a great base and the highest level of comfort and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Nenagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing