We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nenagh
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Totally recommend this place for those people who want to enjoy nature and comfort. The surroundings are beautiful and the service is warm and friendly. The rooms are neat and clean And airy with lots of sunlight. The food was Amazing with the variety of the local food flavours.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giga11566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Giga11566
Thank you for your recent stay at the Abbey Court Hotel and I am delighted you enjoyed it and everything was first class for you. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future if you would like to contact me directly. Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    182
    65
    31
    32
See reviews for
199
136
12
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We've bought a deal for 2 nights BB with evening meal as our relaxing short break. We've liked the hotel from the minute we arrive, as it looks very nice either outside and inside. We were surprised that it is only 3* hotel as the standard was much higher at first sight. Room was specious, very clean, with huge bed and duvet, very comfortable. The bathroom needs a some refreshment (maybe change separated taps for mixing one and nice glass facet instead of plastic curtain, which for sure would look more elegant). Room is fitted out with all facilities that you can expect. One thing that we've always missed in hotels is bathrobes and slippers, but we are aware that 3* is not obliged to provide them for guest. By the way, it would be nice to offer them on request (even for small charge), especially for guest who like to go to the swimming pool or spa. It would be more comfortable than change to normal clothes after swimming or taking treatments.
On the first day we went to bar for lunch and small dinner snacks. The food was tasty and nice seasoned, portions were huge (some of them too huge), atmosphere in the bar was nice, especially with live music. Next day we went for dinner in the restaurant. Service was good and food was nice. Only thing that might be changed is different menu for the bar and restaurant - to give guests more choices and different experience each evening. We was also surprised that there was no beef or lamb steak in menu, as the bar is called Steak House, and that is one of the most attractive dishes in many restaurants - would be happy to order one, even for additional charge to the deal menu.
In general we have had really nice and relaxing stay, staff was very friendly, especially Tara in the bar and restaurant and girls in reception. Hotel has a nice decor, big swimming pool and jacuzzi, well maintained nice looking garden, big parking, and very good location, near to town center and main attractions. For sure we will recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajekcento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Ajekcento
Thank you for your lovely feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and can recommend the hotel to your colleagues. We have taking on board the recommendations you made on your comments and thank you for these. We look forward to welcoming you back the Abbey Court Hotel in the near future. Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager, Abbey Court Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

was lucky to get a deal fo this hotel 2 nights B&B and 1 evening meal 118euro for 2 however i traveled alone but still was cheaper to do it this way and i got the extra space of a double room. Every thing about the hotel was excellent i cannot say enough about it, all the staff i met where great, noticed that there always seemed to be a member of staff about even up on the corradors which ment you could ask for assistance if required with out having to go to reception. the place was huge quite long corradors. i was offered an upgrade for 15 euro on the resturant menu, well worth it ended up with a five course meal which if i did not have the deal would have cost approx 50 e take the comfort of the resturant as the menu is the same in the bar (same price) a girl called Cheryal served on her own in the resturant she never stopped, however she was very attentative, friendly and efficiant, no one seemed to be waiting she had it running like clock work well done. before the meal both in the resturant and bar they served lovely breads and pesto to die for loved it. as i said service was great, presentation also good, flavour hate to knock it but could be improved. The bed room was excellent, well decorated, clean, great size, down tairs plenty of seating areas spent plenty of time in a big chair with a book people watching, nice residents lounge, nice big shandleers, some querky features, few wooden monks in the bar, all in keeping with a abbey,lovely gardens again with plenty of seating. only a few minutes walk into the town centre. Plety of free car parking. Child friendly hotel, however as i have said plenty of space so was never bothered. Should have said breakfast was excellent the most varied choice i have seen in a long time and plenty of it, goes on till 10.30 however 9.30 very busy over spill in the bar.

Room Tip: i stayed in 329, a view across the roofs to the town centre, the roof of the swimming pool came up o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mors50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Mors50
Thank you for your recent stay at the Abbey Court Hotel and for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and everything about the Abbey Court Hotel, we pride ourselves in making sure you have a memorable stay with us. We looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future and can contact us at anytime for special offers. Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Westmeath, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We attended a wedding at this hotel on July 20th 2013. We had reserved a family room which worked out perfectly. Our two children (8 & 5) had lovely room adjoining ours with their own T.V. Rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious and bathroom was a good size and very clean.
We enjoyed a great wedding celebration. Food was excellent and staff were friendly and courteous. We booked a babysitter through the hotel a few days beforehand. They came up trumps! A really lovely sitter called Nora (college student) arrived at the appointed time armed with a bagful of activities for our boys. They were very happy to head to their room! She was wonderful with them. Breakfast the following morning was very good with plenty of everything available. I would highly recommend this hotel. As a wedding venue they pull out all the stops.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Penny c 123
Thank you for your recent stay with us and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay for Pat and Margarets Wedding. We at the Abbey Court Hotel pride ourselves in making sure your stay is a most memorable one. I am thrilled your children were happy with our babysitters, they are excellent and have babysit for years in the hotel, great to have such mature babysitters, puts your mind at ease!!. We are delighted you would recommend the hotel to your friends and family and potential brides to be! We certainly look forward to your return visit.
Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at the "lodges", the separate serviced apartments for 2 nights. Quite spacious for the amount paid; a real contrast with some cramped apartments we've had elsewhere. Everything clean and in good working order. Nice place for a family on a budget, as kids and parents get their on rooms. Handy to have a washing machine on a long trip.

Our kids loved the pool. The onsite gym is pretty good too. A nice, calm, quiet stop on our extended vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Kevin B
Thank you for your lovely feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Abbey Court Hotel Lodges. We pride ourselves in making sure your stay is a enjoyable and comfortable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near futre. Kindest Regards
Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbeyleix
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I had the honour of being Bridesmaid for my best friends wedding at the Abbey Court Hotel last Saturday and I cannot say enough positive things about the entire experience. From start to finish, every single member of staff that we dealt with were amazing, Nothing was too much trouble. We were made feel like the most important bridal party on the planet. The bride and groom were made feel at ease and every wish was granted. The wedding breakfast was exceptional. Sincere compliments to the Head Chef and all the kitchen staff. The service was second to none, nobody was left waiting and the waiting staff were incredibly polite and friendly. Our Meal in the Restaurant on the night after the wedding was equally delicious. Sincere thanks to Breda and All the Function Staff, Ray, Tara, Imelda and all the staff at the Abbey Court Hotel for a fantastic weekend and for looking after Maria and Paul so well. Looking forward to our next visit to the Abbey Court already!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Teresa M
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, it was a pleasure to host Paul and Maria's Wedding at the Abbey Court Hotel and it was such a pleasure to deal with with them throughout the last year in organising their special day. We pride ourselves in making sure every detail is perfect.
Kindest Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

So I let my son (age 7) fill out the comment card and he marked everything very high. He loved kids club and swimming pool. Room was lovely, only complaint was that it was too warm but we can blame the freaky Irish weather for that. Would def recommemd this hotel and imagine we will be returning in the near future:)

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank modonoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyCourtNenagh, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear modonah
Thank you for your lovely feedback we are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at the Abbey Court Hotel and expecially your son. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near futue. Regards Imelda White, Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nenagh
11.6 mi away
The Killaloe Hotel & Spa
19.6 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
20.9 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
24.5 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
18.4 mi away
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa

Property: Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Address: Dublin Rd, Nenagh, Ireland (Formerly Abbey Court Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Nenagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nenagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great National Abbey Court Hotel, Lodges & Trinity Leisure Spa is a family owned business, set within its own mature gardens on a five acre site on the edge of the historic, centrally located town of Nenagh. We are the mid-west of Ireland's leading superior 3 star hotel with 4 star self-catering lodges, easily accessed just off the main M7 Dublin to Limerick Road, 90 minutes from Dublin and 30 minutes from Limerick. Nenagh is famed for its historic Heritage Centre, Friary Castle, Arts Centre, Local Crafts & Fresh Produce Markets, Woolen Mill, Award Winning Eateries and its stunning selection of Boutique Shops for both Men & Women. Only a few minutes away is the breath taking scenery of Lough Derg with its ample facilities such as boating, cruising, sailing, fishing and outdoor adventure centre. Other activities in the area include walking, hiking, biking, hunting, horse racing, greyhound racing, horse riding, golf and pitch and putt. If you go a little further afield you can tour the Golden Vale, Rock of Cashel, Holycross Abbey, Bunratty Folk Park, Birr Castle Demesne, Cliffs of Moher & much more due to our central location. From conferencing to a leisure break, family stay, wedding or other events, valued guests can enjoy superb facilities combined with a great base and the highest level of comfort and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Nenagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing