We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nenagh
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly staff”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here with 3 kids under the age of 5. Our suite was a perfect size and had 3 single beds in an internal room and a double bed in the main bedrooom (large) and a large bathroom with bath and shower cubicle. All staff were friendly; bar, restaurant, leisure centre and a special mention to the girl who ran the kids club, she was excellent. The managers on site always asked how things were and were very nice. Great selection for breakfast and nice food in the restaurant

Room Tip: The large family suites are ideal if you have up to 3 children
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindad652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    177
    64
    30
    31
See reviews for
197
131
12
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I am part of ATC Askeaton Touring Club and went to check out venue for our up & coming cycle. The hotel and houses are so suited to a club like ours who will have in the region of 100 plus cyclist on the day. Staff very accomadting food excellent cant wait to return.

Looking forward to seeing them all again soon.

There was a triathlon taking place when we visited and many of them also have used the hotel for this event.

Room Tip: Houses are great for big groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleF823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed for one night taking advantage of the Friday dinner b&b deal. Warm welcome and room ready although we arrived early. Nice sized room although the two single beds didn't zip together that well in to a double bed. Nice dinner and breakfast. Only let down was the postage stamp sized towels - surely can't be that hard for such a nice hotel to provide big fluffy bath towels. Easy free parking and a short walk in to the town. Friendly and helpful cheerio in the morning as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My extended family and I stayed
in this wonderful hotel, overnight on Saturday 6th April, for a family occasion.We also had dinner and a party for a hundred of us . We enjoyed every moment thoroughly. The staff tended to all our needs ....the receptionists , the maintenance men , the waiters and the bar staff. They were cheerful, flexible and very helpful.The highlight for me was the breakfast,, beautiful fresh fruit salad and all sorts of yogurts as well as the usual cooked food. Very generous portions and a high standard throughout! An Irish welcome at its best

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenbeans365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just back from a lovely 2 night stay in the abbey court. The receptionist on Thursday (11th April) that checked us in was so nice and helpful. Our family room was lovely and big. Have to say i have not seen one as nice! Plenty of room for baby to play and for us to relax. Had a lovely meal in the bar on the first night and the staff really looked after us. The girls for breakfst the next morning were lovely also. But i have to give a special mention to the girl in the Restaurant on the friday night. She was brilliant and couldn't do enough for us. Food was beautiful! All in all Thank you to all the staff we met. We will be back. :)

Room Tip: If you have a big family, Room 319 is IDEAL!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed one night and had a good experience. Bar saff very pleasant and Mary on reception helpful and kind.Rooms large and clean. Enjoyed breakfast too.
The hotel would make a good stopping off point if you were heading to Kerry if travelling from the North. Limerick is also onnly twenty miles south.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank downing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for two nights in a family room to attend a wedding. Lovely wedding location, function room was fab and food was very good. Staff in the hotel are really friendly and helpful all weekend. Nice bar area, lunchtime bar food was okay, nothing special. Breakfast was fine, no wait to be seated. Decent selection of fruit, cereals etc and served until 11 at the weekend.

We used the leisure centre which was great. Large pool with separate kids pool and jacuzzi. Changing rooms are great, really large and good facilities.

One major negative was that we were put in a smoking room - I don't believe there was a smoking/non-smoking option when booking and really the default should be non-smoking! The smell of smoke in the room and corridor was absolutely awful. We complained a number of times and eventually got moved to the non-smoking floor for the second night of our stay.
Rooms are fine, could do with some improvements though e.g. Upgrade TVs.

Overall a good hotel, but getting a little tired looking in places.

I'd recommend this hotel if you are visiting Nenagh, just be sure to ask for a non-smoking room!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandCorkonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nenagh
19.6 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
11.6 mi away
The Killaloe Hotel & Spa
20.9 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
11.3 mi away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
18.4 mi away
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa

Property: Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Address: Dublin Rd, Nenagh, Ireland (Formerly Abbey Court Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Nenagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nenagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great National Abbey Court Hotel, Lodges & Trinity Leisure Spa is a family owned business, set within its own mature gardens on a five acre site on the edge of the historic, centrally located town of Nenagh. We are the mid-west of Ireland's leading superior 3 star hotel with 4 star self-catering lodges, easily accessed just off the main M7 Dublin to Limerick Road, 90 minutes from Dublin and 30 minutes from Limerick. Nenagh is famed for its historic Heritage Centre, Friary Castle, Arts Centre, Local Crafts & Fresh Produce Markets, Woolen Mill, Award Winning Eateries and its stunning selection of Boutique Shops for both Men & Women. Only a few minutes away is the breath taking scenery of Lough Derg with its ample facilities such as boating, cruising, sailing, fishing and outdoor adventure centre. Other activities in the area include walking, hiking, biking, hunting, horse racing, greyhound racing, horse riding, golf and pitch and putt. If you go a little further afield you can tour the Golden Vale, Rock of Cashel, Holycross Abbey, Bunratty Folk Park, Birr Castle Demesne, Cliffs of Moher & much more due to our central location. From conferencing to a leisure break, family stay, wedding or other events, valued guests can enjoy superb facilities combined with a great base and the highest level of comfort and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Nenagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing