We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a great start, such a disappointment.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nenagh
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Such a great start, such a disappointment.”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This was booked as a special night for my fiancee's birthday. We had booked the bridal suite.
To sum up, a faulty fan from the room below meant no sleep at all.
At 2.30 am, I had to be convinced not to sleep in the car! Nobody took it seriously, nobody appeared to care, even after a dozen calls and several trips to the front desk. When I begged staff to actually come to the room they could not believe the noise. What was done? Nothing until 10.30 the next morning, and even then the volume was only reduced.
The cleanliness left a lot to be desired, and the overall hotel repair was poor.
This should have been brilliant. The manager would not even come out to talk to me at departure......says it all really. The pitiful discount offered was humiliating.
Pity, but be aware, the potential is there, but inept staff don't help.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebbyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    177
    64
    30
    31
See reviews for
197
131
12
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
dublin,ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2011

just spent two nights in this hotel when we arrived we were veery impressed with the hotel and the size of the family bedroom lots of space for a 4 and 5 year old boys to play but when unpacking i found a syringe in the wardrobe. It was removed as soon as i told the duty manager luckily neither of the boys had found it.Later we went to the restaurant/bar to eat and enjoy the entertainment we were then told children had to be out of the bar area at 9.30 and we could sit in the reception which in my view was the hallway. The residents lounge with no bar or entertainment was also an option for us ,we could have sat there on our own or leave our 2 small boys in a snooker room and go to the bar ourselves. This under 18 rule did not seem to apply to others, including the singers son 15 and the two 14 year ols with their parents, or the group with their 4 kids.Had our boys been running around we would have understood. Needless to say,this did take away from what should have been a lovely break and we wont use this "child friendly" hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karencranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed in the hotel for three nights and cannot fault the hotel. Staff very friendly, food great and the leisure facilities great. Look forward to going back would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debrakeogh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whale20
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Stayed here with my wife for a weekend while attending a wedding at another hotel.
Rooms were large and comfortable.
Leisure facilities were good.

But most of all the food in this hotel was excellent. We had two breakfasts and one dinner all of was top class.

We would go back to this hotel just the dinner .

Also Nenagh town is a lovely spot , lots of coffee shops, the ladies would love all the clothes shops.

Room Tip: Have dinner in the restuarant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whale20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Stayed in the Abbey court hotel for one night in June 2011. Got the room at a very reasonable rate, and the hotel met all of our expectations. The grounds and lobby of the hotel are beautiful, and the staff at the reception desk were very polite and helpful. THe bedroom was a fine size, and met our needs perfectly. We used the leisure centre both days we were here, and the facilties are of a good standard, with decent sized swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. There was also a good sized gym. Abbey Court Hotel is a lovely looking building from the outside, and has a rather grand, regal feel to the inside of the hotel. Its location is excellent, very close to the town of Nenagh. Would visit Abbey Court Hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ciara110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2011

After a two day stay in the Abbey Court my family and I came home feeling relaxed and pampered. The bedroom, bar, restaurant, leisure centre, and particularly the lobby were first class. But, the hotels main asset was ALL the staff we met, we really made to feel they wanted us there. The weather was very bad, so after an aborted attempt at site seeing we stayed in the hotel for the rest of our visit, our 12 year old was happy with the pool and the games room, we were happy to relax in the lobby chatting, reading and having a drink.
Lastly the steaks served in the restaurant and Bar were memorable, but we would have liked a better selection of choices for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keavenys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mullingar
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Nice and cosy on a rainy , wet evening . Very friendly, helpful staff . Great choice of food in the bar and in the restaurant . Fine , spacious , warm room , Will be back .

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbafanandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nenagh
19.6 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
11.6 mi away
The Killaloe Hotel & Spa
20.9 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
11.3 mi away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
18.4 mi away
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa

Property: Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Address: Dublin Rd, Nenagh, Ireland (Formerly Abbey Court Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Nenagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nenagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great National Abbey Court Hotel, Lodges & Trinity Leisure Spa is a family owned business, set within its own mature gardens on a five acre site on the edge of the historic, centrally located town of Nenagh. We are the mid-west of Ireland's leading superior 3 star hotel with 4 star self-catering lodges, easily accessed just off the main M7 Dublin to Limerick Road, 90 minutes from Dublin and 30 minutes from Limerick. Nenagh is famed for its historic Heritage Centre, Friary Castle, Arts Centre, Local Crafts & Fresh Produce Markets, Woolen Mill, Award Winning Eateries and its stunning selection of Boutique Shops for both Men & Women. Only a few minutes away is the breath taking scenery of Lough Derg with its ample facilities such as boating, cruising, sailing, fishing and outdoor adventure centre. Other activities in the area include walking, hiking, biking, hunting, horse racing, greyhound racing, horse riding, golf and pitch and putt. If you go a little further afield you can tour the Golden Vale, Rock of Cashel, Holycross Abbey, Bunratty Folk Park, Birr Castle Demesne, Cliffs of Moher & much more due to our central location. From conferencing to a leisure break, family stay, wedding or other events, valued guests can enjoy superb facilities combined with a great base and the highest level of comfort and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Nenagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing