We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unforgetable & pleasure filled stay is guaranteed at Abbey Court.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nenagh
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An unforgetable & pleasure filled stay is guaranteed at Abbey Court.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

A warm ,friendly, and thoroughly impressive hotel on all counts.Delicious traditional Irish fare served by attentive & smiling staff at all times. The hotel & gardens proved to be an absolute pleasure .
We were certainly impressed by all that Abbey Court has to offer and found it a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The quietness & view overlooking the garden .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tittstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    176
    64
    29
    31
See reviews for
195
126
12
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

We came to hotel for just 1 nite break and it was best hotel we've been to in long time,the food was fantastic as well as the service and the staff were brillant with my young daughter, would make sure to make return visit to this hotel

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulasavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

Hi,

I want to to express our huge gratitude for the service you provided on our wedding day on 29th December 2010. Firstly Ray was amazing, there was nothing that he didn't/ couldn't do for us on the day. He put us right at ease and the entire day was really relaxed which is exactly what we wanted. Also Imelda and Joanne were fantastic to deal with coming up to the wedding- so helpful and professional.
Secondly, All our guests complimented all the staff from the receptionists to the waiting staff, they couldn't have been more helpful to everyone, the food which was delicious and the venue which speaks for itself. Highly reccommend to anyone thinking of The Abbey Court as your wedding hotel- 10/10 for hotel, food, service and staff.

Thank you again,

Marina and Jeff White

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

We arrived on Friday afternoon to a grand entrance. Its a pity the drive up to the hotel wasn't longer. Its a fabulous front with the fountain and grand doorway. We were greeted, by chance I assume, at the door by a manager who helped us check in. Our family room was very spacious and was well worth its title. The kids had their room "in a room" so to speak. The food was excellent. We ate in the bar and restaurant and could not fault the service either. They have a leisure centre which was very family orientated and suited all, with my wife loosing herself in the saunas and jacuzzi. The kids loved the two pools. All in all a great family break. Thanks to Mick who recommended it to us.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

Have just returned from a 3 night break at the Abbey Court hotel ,We were a party of two mature couples who regularly take hotel breaks in Ireland and we all agreed that this was the best hotel we've stayed in. We had spacious rooms with very comfortable beds and a sparkling clean bathrooms with a power showers. The weather was warm but the heating was on in our rooms and we had to turn it off--nice to have the option.The breakfasts were amongst the best we have experienced . We were on at 3BB1D offer. We had bar food the first night which was good quality and plentiful. We ate at a restaurant in the town on the second night--The Peppermill-good food and reasonable. We had the included dinner on the last night in the hotel and it was superb.Good quality and choice and large portions . The service was excellent and all the staff were so friendly and helpful. The ambiance of the whole hotel was friendly and relaxed. The town itself is a heritage town and interesting and we enjoyed lovely drives around the Shannon area which is very close to Nenagh. Thank you Abbey Court and the friendly people of Nenagh. We will be back

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOAN3576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

just arrvived back from 2 night stay in Abbeycourt Hotel, Nenagh. The first thing we saw when we arrived was a disgustingly dirty rug at the front door. The next thing that hit us was the smell of cooked food - it smelt like bacon and cabbage that had been cooked a week ago. The rest of the building smelt like a hospital or nursing home. The bedroom was acceptable but cold for most of our stay. We had planned to eat in the restaurant but the 3 stray cats at the entrance to the restaurant caused us to change our minds and eat in the town. Do not ever go to Nenagh town it is depressing and has no tourist activities. The only good point of our weekend in Nenagh was the lovely meal we had in the Pantry Cafe - excellen food, very reasonably priced and good friendly service. Will not be making return trip to either hotel or town

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank siobhan1dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
I am sorry that your stay both in the Hotel and Nenagh Town were far from satisfactory. I can assure you our standards are extreemly high and the town and surroundings have a lot to offer.
Nenagh is the gateway to Lough Derg which offers walking routes,cycling, fishing and an array of water sports.
Nenagh Town has many fine shops and restaurants (including our own Steakhouse)There are numerous Pubs with live music and a fine Arts centre. Nenagh Heritage Centre is situated in a 19th century Goal, We have the remains of an 13th century Franciscian friary.
There is a dust mat at the front door which is exchanged on a regular basis.As for the cats,they try to make our guests welcome but we shall send them on there way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

Our Company will not use this hotel again, some people got a special price!!! which when calculated out meant they paid 30.00 for breakfast. the meal included did not state at time of booking that the menu was limited. When I spoke to other people in hotel they were not happy either with the quality for price......

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nenagh
19.6 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
11.6 mi away
The Killaloe Hotel & Spa
20.9 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Horse & Jockey Hotel
Horse & Jockey Hotel
#2 of 3 in Thurles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
11.3 mi away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
18.4 mi away
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa

Property: Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Address: Dublin Rd, Nenagh, Ireland (Formerly Abbey Court Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Nenagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nenagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great National Abbey Court Hotel, Lodges & Trinity Leisure Spa is a family owned business, set within its own mature gardens on a five acre site on the edge of the historic, centrally located town of Nenagh. We are the mid-west of Ireland's leading superior 3 star hotel with 4 star self-catering lodges, easily accessed just off the main M7 Dublin to Limerick Road, 90 minutes from Dublin and 30 minutes from Limerick. Nenagh is famed for its historic Heritage Centre, Friary Castle, Arts Centre, Local Crafts & Fresh Produce Markets, Woolen Mill, Award Winning Eateries and its stunning selection of Boutique Shops for both Men & Women. Only a few minutes away is the breath taking scenery of Lough Derg with its ample facilities such as boating, cruising, sailing, fishing and outdoor adventure centre. Other activities in the area include walking, hiking, biking, hunting, horse racing, greyhound racing, horse riding, golf and pitch and putt. If you go a little further afield you can tour the Golden Vale, Rock of Cashel, Holycross Abbey, Bunratty Folk Park, Birr Castle Demesne, Cliffs of Moher & much more due to our central location. From conferencing to a leisure break, family stay, wedding or other events, valued guests can enjoy superb facilities combined with a great base and the highest level of comfort and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Nenagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing