We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nenagh Heritage Museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nenagh Heritage Museum

Nenagh Heritage Museum
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Nenagh
Attraction details
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nenagh Heritage Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Same across this by accident. Didn't look like it was open - needs to be better advertised! My daughter didn't want to go in as she thought we were trespassing! But once we got in we were very happily surprised - it was a very interesting exhibition. Creative. The person in charge was very welcoming.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank private68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    16
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nenagh, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting morning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Brought my son to visit and we spend a great morning learning about our community and locality. A nice way to pass a rainy morning.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 994lyndas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very interesting Museum with free admission”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a nice Museum located in the former County Gaol for North Tipperary. The Museum has re-created life in old Rural Ireland and you can visit the condemned cells and the execution area and the small exercise yard. There is also an art gallery with some nice paintings by local artists. It is free to visit which is great and the staff are friendly and helpful.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Happytraveller1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
215 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Interesting collection of local history - but missing War of Independence era”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

This is a very non-political museum.

Located in the grounds of the old prision (and subsequently a school run by the Sisters of Mercy), it still has the gatehouse preserved and one can still see the tiny exercise yard adjoining it (our Polish host told us that prisoners had to walk around it 63 times to clock one mile).

The warden's house forms the main attraction and contains cultural artifacts relating to farming, retail and other local interests, but no mention of the War of Independence nor the Irish Civil War. (And testimony to how active Tipperary was in this period is shown by the rollcall on the monument located nearby.)

This latter aspect was disappointing ... but nevertheless an interesting 40 minutes were spent here.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ronan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nenagh Heritage Museum also viewed

Nenagh, County Tipperary
Nenagh, County Tipperary
 
Nenagh, County Tipperary
 

Been to Nenagh Heritage Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing