We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Whiskey”
Review of The Whiskey Still

The Whiskey Still
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Nenagh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Whiskey”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Rita and Joe never fail to deliver, and their staff support them tremendously. Fabulous location, wonderful atmosphere and super food. What more needs to be said.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magunnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    33
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Super service and child friendly”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Went with a group of eight adults and eight kids, for a 40th
The service and food were excellent
Really good value and we were well looked after

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rozabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenagh, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Packed”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We opened the door and the place was packed, luckily we had a reservation. (Saturday night) We were a touch early so we took our drinks to the Smoking tent, which was no hardship as none was smoking and it must be the only tent with a lovely view of Lough Derg! Our table became ready and most of us went for the Crab Claws followed by Roast Duck, "Joe's" signature dish I think. All very good. Is the "Still" a pub with a restaurant or is it a restaurant with a pub attached? It doesn't matter it was doing a roaring trade with a great atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
“Awesome food/service/atmosphere/location”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I ate at The Wiskey Still in July...had fish, it was great.
Awesome food & service & atmosphere & location !!

I traveled from mid-July thru mid-Sept, went from NY,
Iceland, Amsterdam, UK, LUX, Germany, Czech, Aus,
down Med. to Barcelona, throughout Spain, Portugal,
Morrocco, back up thru France, Germany, Iceland, NY.

There wasnt a place above that had better food & service
than The Wiskey Still, and only a very few that were as good.

Look foward to being there again someday soon.....ADAM.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank locknload63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Nice, cozy atmosphere. The food was good. The staff were great. We were a large group that arrived and they worked quickly to set up a place for us all. And with a SMILE. Very friendly staff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marion R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whiskey Still also viewed

Nenagh, County Tipperary
Nenagh, County Tipperary
 
Nenagh, County Tipperary
Nenagh, County Tipperary
 

Been to The Whiskey Still? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing