We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday afternoon at The Thatch”

The Thatched Cottage
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Nenagh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $44
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday afternoon at The Thatch”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Went to The Thatch a few Sundays ago, it was busy and there was a nice buzz around the place and staff were extremely efficient. After we ordered kids could go out and play on the swings while I could flick through the papers.
Dinner arrived without any delays, I had a chicken dish, just delish and it was about 5 when we arrived and my meal was cooked fresh, it wasn't the leftovers from earlier that some restaurants think is acceptable to give out to customers.
Thanks again:D

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NenaghGirlxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    44
    18
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Reasonable menu, good price ,but have to pay up front.”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This seems to be a popular venue with a resonable pub grub menu .When we were here at a weekend there was a function in the restaurant which meant eating in the bar which was crowded and warm or outside on the decking .
It seemed they were a little understaffed and it meant at least 3 different people serving us. One item which I found very unprofessional was that we were told we had to pay for our meal at the time of ordering as they had a few "runners ". We didnt know if we wanted dessert or not until after the main meal but did'nt bother as it would mean paying again.In fairness there were signs around Surely they can handle this better and not label everyone as a potential thief. Particularly as we couldnt eat inside .Cannot be good for tourism .In addition there were a lot of wasps in the area ,very disturbing .
However the staff were friendly which did make up for the few problems.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great freshly cooked food and brilliant service!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Visited this pub last Sunday for a family meal. The menu selection was really good and I'm a vegetarian and thought there was plenty of choice. All the food was freshly cooked and arrived in good time piping hot. All the staff were very good, friendly and attentive! Highly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dolly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb food, superb staff!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

First experience of this quaint pub was last Monday evening, 22/7/13. We were so happy with the options on the menu,prices and the overall vibe. We were lucky it was not that busy and the young waitress was exceptional so attentive & genuinely interested in our stay here, this girl wud not be out of place in a 5star restaurant! portions of food were brilliant just what we needed after a day on the lake. Tasted absolutley Devine! Looking forward to sampling the Guinness here this weekend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and great food too”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

From the outside, the place is so very picturesque, with it's thatched roof and stained glass. On the inside there are all sorts of interesting items on the walls, but the very best of all was the fabulous food. When our dinner arrived at the table, one plate alone could have fed the 3 of us. And it was one of those meals where when you put the food in your mouth you just have to stop to savor the wonderful taste. Definitely recommend it and want to return.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thatched Cottage also viewed

Nenagh, County Tipperary
Nenagh, County Tipperary
 
Nenagh, County Tipperary
Nenagh, County Tipperary
 

Been to The Thatched Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing