We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“-- 5 out of 5 Again --” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“-- 5 out of 5 Again --”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

It's not often a hotel gets 100% ratings on this site. So when I saw The Strandhill Lodge I thought it might be just the spot for a short business visit to Sligo. In a word -flawless! Spotless rooms, spotless hotel, great service and views. Not a bad word to be said. Well done!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seanaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfnstayStrandhill, Manager at Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, we look forward to having you once again at our establishment. Kind regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    28
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
10
25
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

strandhill hostel is a great place we stayed there for a weekend and the whole place has be re-done with new curtains paint etc and also it is now always clean thanks to richard. he is also very helpful and didnt rush us out the door on checkout day he left us use the room and shower facilities after our surf. all in all it was a great weekend and i would have no hesitation in recommending strandhill hostel and surf school!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lou544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfnstayStrandhill, Manager at Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, we look forward to having you once again at our establishment. Kind regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Nice area with good walk around beautifull sea but stinky very smal bedroom super noisy .... very expensive for the quality ! 40€ a room with bunkbeds ! If you have nothing else choose a room in the 1st floor (a little bit less noisy)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Right in a great spot in Strandhill!

The rooms are basic, but just fine and clean.. Staff are friendly and helpful and everything is nearby and surf oriented..The beach is at the end of the road for surfing, a restaurant/bar right across the road, Strand bar just down the road for food and drink and a french bakery next door to a surf school.

Highly recommended and perfect for surfers

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaninhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfnstayStrandhill, Manager at Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, we look forward to having you once again at our establishment. Kind regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Ideal location on the beach perfect access for surfing, cycling and walking. A few nice cafes and a few mins walk away there is a chemist and a small grocery store but the one at the petrol station has more options. Strandhill is only 3 miles from sligo town really it has the best of both worlds.

Hostel is a few doors up from 2 pretty decent pubs that have live music playing most w/e or when the sun shines. Strandhill is only 3 miles from sligo town really it has the best of both worlds. I havent stayed in the lodge but as I have been there a few times now those that i have met that stayed there had nothing but good to say. This a gem of a place and I hope to keep on returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfnstayStrandhill, Owner at Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, we look forward to having you once again at our establishment. Kind regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Cheap and very basic accomadation. Room were clean, but old fashioned. As walls are very thin and with no double glazing it can be noisy, if you intollerant of noise definately a no no. Staff were very friendly and helpful. You pay for what you get!

If there was a good rating I probably would have gone for that...

Room Tip: Opposite side to the Hostel next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonanAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

This is a good hostel in a magical place under Knocknarae mountain and great surf beach. Nice people , helpfull . In great position close to beach and great bars with music.

Room Tip: At the back of the building overlooking golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carmelitta o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfnstayStrandhill, Manager at Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, we look forward to having you once again at our establishment. Kind regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strandhill
0.6 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
6.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
3.0 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
5.3 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School

Property: Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School
Address: Shore Road, Strandhill, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Surf n Stay)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Strandhill
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Strandhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SurfnStay:Lodge, Hostel, Surf School, Camping. Located next to world famous surf beach on Wild Atlantic Way. Surf, stay and have a great time with us. Family-run establishment with a friendly, cozy environment ideal for surfers and beach lovers alike. Our Surf School welcomes surfers of all experience levels and offers a wide range of outdoor activities around the northwest. Drop in and relax in our Lodge or Hostel & Surf School ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing