We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We staied in the lodge: we had a double room with ensuite for 50 euro and it was very comfortable and clean!
Our host was a wonderful lady who was really helpfull and nice! the breakfast in the morning is ok (no irish breakfast but a lot of toasts and jams and juice and cereals!).
The position is very close to the beach!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FedeFe32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfnstayStrandhill, Manager at Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, we look forward to having you once again at our establishment. Kind regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    28
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
10
25
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
co.fermanagh
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

we stayed here for the weekend,lovely place.Our room was lovely,great views,david and staff were great and very helpfull.We had evening meal in the Venue,beautifull.Cant wait 2 go back..

Room Tip: would recommed this place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfnstayStrandhill, Manager at Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, we look forward to having you once again at our establishment. Kind regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed in The Strandhill Lodge in July 2011. The B&B was opened in March 2011 so everything is brand new. The room was lovely spotlessly clean and nice decor. We had a room that opened onto the terrace with the most beautiful views of the sand dunes and the ocean. The breakfast was good. There was an excellent range of fresh bread and pastries from the local bakery. The staff were lovely. They were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfnstayStrandhill, Manager at Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, we look forward to having you once again at our establishment. Kind regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

I didn't have a booking, they took me in without a bother. I only paid for 1 night but the next day hosted brilliant weather so I decided to stay. After being in the sun and Atlantic all day I decided hey,I'll stay another night. Not once was I asked about staying extra nights or anything! It's super chill and easy going. Sergi is fantastic, cool wonderul guy. Loved my stay here an I WILL be back with my brother in a few years. Highly recommend!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Youngtraveler19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfnstayStrandhill, Manager at Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, we look forward to having you once again at our establishment. Kind regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

Not at all what we expected when we booked online. The staff was confused and hostile and didn't seem to have any organizational skills whatsoever. We didn't get the room we booked and ended up in a two-bed closet. The shower was nothing more than a nozzle coming out of the wall, and the whole place seemed run-down. In my opinion, future tourists should stay in sligo
and avoid Strandhill altogether.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TallisSisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

We arrived to an unfriendly and confused staff who had no clue how long we were staying. We checked in with a Facebook wall post, which is the epitome of unprofessional business. The rooms were tiny and not what they told us we were to expect. We definitely felt unsafe and could not wait till the bus the next morning. The town itself is also a let down...it's cute, but nothing much to do.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank innerstrength17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

I have just been to this hostel with a group of six adults and nine children. The children were aged between eight and fifteen. It was a group of family and friends and it was not our first hostel trip in Ireland. The location was great as it was right beside the beach, the bars, cafes, and restaurants. The hostel was clean and comfortable and although there was no other families there we felt very welcome and found the facilities to be more than sufficient. Michael is the owner and we found him to be very friendly and helpful. There is a surf school attached to the hostel and when booking the hostel you can avail of the surf lesson. The lesson costs 30euro an adult and 20euro a child. I would highly recommend that you try it. It was my first lesson and I loved it (don't be put off). Ivan is the instructor along with Frank and they were great with the group and made it a memorable occasion for us. For eating out try Shells Cafe (a must for coffee, cake or breakfast) ,early bird at Bella Vista opposite the hostel, or Strand Bar for a pint or two.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekellyie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfnstayStrandhill, Manager at Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, we look forward to having you once again at our establishment. Kind regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strandhill
0.5 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
6.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
5.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
3.0 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School

Property: Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School
Address: Shore Road, Strandhill, Sligo, Ireland (Formerly Surf n Stay)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Strandhill
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Strandhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SurfnStay:Lodge, Hostel, Surf School, Camping. Located next to world famous surf beach on Wild Atlantic Way. Surf, stay and have a great time with us. Family-run establishment with a friendly, cozy environment ideal for surfers and beach lovers alike. Our Surf School welcomes surfers of all experience levels and offers a wide range of outdoor activities around the northwest. Drop in and relax in our Lodge or Hostel & Surf School ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing