We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved my stay!”
Review of Ocean Wave Lodge

Ocean Wave Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strandhill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Wave Lodge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“loved my stay!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

i came to stay here after a long surf lesson down at the beach front!it was very nice loved the fire especially in the lounge was just what i needed!the room was lovely could see the sea which i loved!the couple who ran it were very friendly they advised me on where to eat and spend my night which was very helpful as i wasnt familiar with the area!
breakfast in the morning was everything i was after love fresh fruit and cereal with tea and toast just my cup of tea!
would deffo come back was very good value and beds were comfy!

Room Tip: ask for sea view was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Queenbeexoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    11
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
8
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I recently put this review on the wrong hotel (ocean view!) so sorry.

I stayed at this very comfortable and friendly hotel for 3 nights. Lovely hospitable couple running it, A very comfortable and clean room with en-suite bathroom and delicious fresh coffee served in the morning along with a tasty continental breakfast. Ideally situated for the magnificent Strandhill beach with fantastic surfing,beautiful golf greens and close to the breath taking Sligo countryside. It was extremely good value for money and boasts a most comfortable lounge for guests to sit, in the evening with a wood burning fire!! I would definetely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is the second time my wife and I (and our 2 children) have stayed at Ocean Wave. This time it was for 2 weeks in peak season. We loved the welcome we received from Deidre and Paul, the flexibility of having access to a fully equipped kitchen, the fact we could store our own food in our designated areas of the fridges and cupboards, the cozy fire in one of the 2 comfortable lounges, the discrete storage area for our surf boards and bikes, the fact we could dry our wet suits, the continental breakfasts with proper coffee :-), the comfortable beds, in our case, the view from our window of the mountains, the shear value for money….my list goes on. The rooms may not have had TV’s in them but we had no intention of staying in them for any length of time anyway. In the two weeks we were there we had multiple changes of sheets and towels. There’s a HD TV in the lounge and free wifi. Our holidays are filled with horse riding, water sport, cycling, walking and other activities, Paul and Deidre provided accommodation that ticked all the boxes we needed (they even offered to child-sit on one occasion) all this and at half the price we’d have expected to pay.

We stayed July 2012 for 2 weeks, most B&B’s would have you out of the door first thing in the morning so they can clear up, that doesn’t happen here and is what makes it all the more relaxing. We got to use the facilities for the fortnight. Neither of us fancied the spin / gym class even though there was only 1 a week, but we did get to read our books and chat to Paul and Deidre into the small hours in complete comfort.

Room Tip: There appears to be 3 rooms at the front looking out onto the carpark with stunning views of the set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast , N.Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Booked and paid for one nights stop over accomodation with the Ocean Wave Lodge. The owner was very friendly and helpful unfortunately thats were it ends. The room was not very clean, ugly stains on the carpet, dusty furniture, old worn out bed linen and a bathroom that had seen better days. However after a very long journey we decided to put that aside and have an afternoon nap. 30 minutes later we were woken by what sounded like a summer school for young childern in the room below.

We decided to get up and go for a walk, passing by a room with 20 plus kiddies in it. After dinner we headed back to the lodge and tried to relax again only this time to have loud dance music thumping through the house. I took a walk downstairs to see what was going on I was greeted by a room full of ladies doing aerobics/spin class! Decided enough was enough packed up and left. On the website the Ocean Wave advertises a "warm relaxed easy going pace of life" it most certainly was not. The owner should make guests aware that a part of the house is rented out for all town events!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roisin_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kells, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I believe this property is now called the Ocean Wave Lodge. It's not really a hotel anymore - more like a cross between a B&B and a fancy hostel.
The owner - Deirdre was very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful during booking (e-mail/phone), on arrival and during our stay.
Rooms were very clean, decent size and en-suite. Beds were very comfie.
Breakfast was a self service continental - better than any Hostel breakfast I've had in the past. Filtered coffee available to make was a nice extra.
Would highly recommend this place - for those looking for an affordable place to stay, but not wanting to rough it!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank OirishFruitie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I've stayed at Ocean Wave Lodge many times and each time has been excellent. The staff, particularly the owners, couldn't be more helpful and always have time for the chat and to offer recommendations about the area. One of my favourite things about the Lodge is their super comfortable beds! It is such good value and ideal location. The kitchen facilities are great and very clean. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Sligo.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I went on a surfing weekend with a group of my friends was a really good experience the owner was there to greet on arrival gave us all the information about the area..reccommended some really nice restaurants and gave us some menus...we had full use of the kitchen also we had a BBQ outside on the first night which was great to wit in the sun and relax...the rooms were big and all had unsuite bathrooms but for what you are paying was great.We all enjoyed the cintinental brekkie and some of the gang went to the shop and could cook there own food...overall i really enjoyed my stay and will deffo be back with even more friends!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freida w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strandhill
0.0 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,641 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
447 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,081 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#7 of 8 in Sligo
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Wave Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Wave Lodge

Property: Ocean Wave Lodge
Address: Ocean View Lodge Top Road, Strandhill, Sligo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Strandhill
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Strandhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we are a B&b with an option of self-catering, in a large communal kitchen , ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing