We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My best B&B experience to date, a must visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strandhill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I booked based on a friend's recommendation and also on TA reviews and I am delighted I did. The lodge was friendly, clean, spacious and had the most comprehensive continental breakfast I have ever seen, plus they cater for gluten free and coeliac which is a lovely extra, like having a separate toaster for coeliacs, very thoughtful in my opinion. Breakfast is served from 07:00 to 11:00 but we came down at 11:30 and the food was still out and we were all still chatting comfortably an hour later. No one rushed us on either day, it was the most relaxing stay I have had in a B&B.

If you have any interest in Strandhill or Sligo there is genuinely nowhere else you should stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaitDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strandhillhotel, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear caitdublin

Thankyou for writing your review on tripadvisor and for sharing your experience with our guests. I'm delighted that all was to your liking and that we managed to live up to your expectations.

We are conscious of allowing guests as much time as possible to relax during their stay and so we try to keep a casual atmosphere at all times so as guests will not feel under pressure but enjoy themselves!

We do not offer a fully cooked breakfast but instead we try and provide a comprehensive continental breakfast with something to suit all tastes - so in this vein we also provide gluten free produce so i'm glad you availed of this.

I will pass on your kind comments to housekeeping with regards to the standard of cleanliness - this is to us the most important element of the hotel we feel the standard must be 5 stars at all times and so we we encourage guests to inform us should this diminish in anyway.

Again Caitdublin thank-you for choosing us during your stay and i hope we shall see you all again in 2014... and thankyou for taking the time to review.

David McCoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 581 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

Modern hotel, very clean, excellent location short walk downhill to the strand area with its restaurants and lashing sea.
Breakfast was continental self service with plenty of fruit, yogurts, cereals, boiled eggs. Good value,

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JKLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strandhillhotel, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear JK Limerick

Thank-you for taking the time to review - and for sharing your time in Strandhill. I'm delighted that all was to your liking and that we lived up to your expectations - i hope that we will see you in Strandhill again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to review.

David McCoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I insisted on staying at the Strandhill when I traveled to Sligo for business based on the fabulous TA reviews. It did deliver on its rating. The hotel was basic, but was extremely clean and had all of the amenities that you need. It was somewhat reminiscent of a college dormitory in its layout. Again, the accommodation does not include a lot of frills, but it is clean, has an astounding view, and includes breakfast. A wonderful value, and I would stay again in a heartbeat! The manager was also wonderfully accommodating with my last minute booking and for that I am extremely grateful!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atlsuburbanite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strandhillhotel, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear atlsuburbanite

Thankyou for your recent review and for sharing your Business trip to Ireland on tripadvisor. We are delighted that you found us fitting for your needs while in the area. We provide the WIFI and business centre complimentary and Internet access is available throughout the premises.

The views from the rooms are indeed spectacular and we are always delighted to accommodate guests in these rooms when possible. All rooms contain mini-fridge, Iron, Ironing board, IPOD Dock, Tv/Dvd player. complimentary water and of course tea and biscuits in the room and complimentary in the conservatory so we do aim to ensure that our business and pleasure customers are well catered for.

I hope that i get a chance to welcome you back again soon and please let me know when booking so i can arrange for you to be in a similar room - it is always a pleasure to welcome returning guests.

Thank-you again for taking the time to review and i look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

David McCoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2nights. The room was very clean and had a nice view over looking the sea. The breakfast was very good. The pub next door had a excellent restaurant, very good food and the service was excellent. On certain nights they have live music on in the pub.

Room Tip: The room 207 was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strandhillhotel, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear James M

Thankyou for taking the time to review on tripadvisor it is greatly appreciated. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we shall see you again soon.

David McCoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

What a great place to stay in Ireland ~ rooms large ocean view room and a nice continental breakfast. Excellent staff
Breakfast is not hot except for warm hard boiled eggs, but plenty of choices, breads, cereals, juices teas coffees pastries fruits yogurts milk ~ crazy amount if choices including gluten free~ quite nice actually. Walk down to beach takes about 15 minutes and the beach is beautiful and goes on forever. Great cafe called shells is excellent food and a nice change from pub food. Only open till 7 pm .. Great coffee too. Then indulge at the Voya Spa. Reason alone to visit ireland. Seaweed baths, seaweed body wraps and facials are the best in the world. Not to miss, if only you take a seaweed bath its a miraculous experience for for skin, detox your body and enrich your skin with minerals.. Feels amazing and lasts for weeks! GO!! And enjoy Strandhill as its beauty is enormous ~

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SparkleMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strandhillhotel, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Sparklemermaid

Thank-you for taking the time to review and relay your Strandhill experience on tripadvisor. Many people who visit the area are always delighted to find the great bars and restaurants with great food so close-by The scenery and the area are very beautiful and we are blessed to be located here.

The Voya Baths are terrific and provide an excellent accompaniment to the village and guests can have a seaweed bath, massage or treatment and relax then on their balcony overlooking the golf course... it is a great experience.

Thank-you so much for your recommendations and for taking the time to review - i will pass on your kind comments too. I hope we shall see you in Strandhill again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Nice spacious clean room with a beautiful view across the bay, although it helped that the weather was beautiful. It's at the top of the hill about a 10 min walk to the beach. There's a great pub/restaurant called The Venue right beside. Breakfast was the usual continental affair.
Strandhill is a beach town, good place to learn to surf (there's a couple of schools), very pleasant place to stop on the west coast.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stewsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strandhillhotel, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear stewsimon

Thankyou for your kind review and for taking the time to do so. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let us know when you are in the area again we would be happy to provide a similar room for you.

Thanks for the recommendation it is greatly appreciated.

David McCoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend and we could not fault the place. The hotel is very clean, spacious and private, with friendly and helpful staff. The room we were in had a balcony which we could sit out on and enjoy a few drinks and the fabulous views. The breakfast was continental with a great choice and you will not leave it hungry. There is a nice residents area where free tea and coffee is available 24/7. Will definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone visiting Sligo. The Venue bar and restaurant is next door and I would recommend you book it on arrival at the hotel as its very busy and we could not get a table in it when we visited it, but all was not lost as there is other places to eat only 2 minute drive away.
Strandhill is a beautiful place and staying here was the icing on the cake.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank ashmonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strandhillhotel, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Ashlouth

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank-you for sharing your experiences on tripadvisor. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay so much.

Strandhill is a terrific area and we are blessed to be surrounded by such quality bars and restaurants. The views from the seaview rooms are indeed terrific especially the sunsets which always seem to take the breath away.

The little extras we provide are designed to maximise your stay and to make you feel relaxed and appreciated so i'm glad we went someway to achieving this.

Thankyou so much for your kind review and your recommendation it is greatly appreciated word of mouth is always terrific. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon - just give us a call to ensure that you get the same room again next time.

David McCoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strandhill
4.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
4.9 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,722 reviews
5.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
540 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,135 reviews
3 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel

Address: Strandhill Lodge & Suites Top Road, Strandhill, Sligo, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Strandhill
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strandhill
Price Range: $92 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strandhill Lodge and Suites is a new hotel accommodation that has 18 Large Double and Single Deluxe Rooms and 4 Luxurious Superior Suites; with magnificent views of the famed Knocknarea and Strandhill Bay. All rooms are bright and spacious with a King Sized Bed and all modern conveniences. Rooms are suitable for two – three people sharing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing