We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strandhill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed only one night on a trip around Ireland. Really comfortable beds, good shower, friendly checkin checkout. Included breakfast great, assorted cereals yoghurts, fruit and toast/pastries. Wifi works perfectly in your rooms. Small sitting area outside rooms quite nice

Room Tip: Any room is good
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bitterntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Bitterntraveller

Thankyou for your review and for taking the time to do so. I'm delighted you chose us as one of your stop-overs on your all-Ireland vacation. I;'m delighted all was to your liking and that you enjoyed the room and our continental breakfast.

I hope we will see you again and i hope you enjoyed your holiday.

Let me know if i can be of any assistance in future.

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
There are newer reviews for Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 572 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on spec as it looked attractive and had views of the ocean. We were not disappointed, good sized rooms, great service and lovely king sized bed. A very comprehensive continental breakfast was also included in the price. The Venue Hotel is located next door and provides an excellent menu for dinner with a ton of ambience. Lovely spot, friendly and efficient service.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view, it is too lovely to miss.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveltroupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Traveltroupe

Thankyou so much taking the time to review. I'm delighted that you happened by us and that all was to your liking. We are happy that you found the rooms and amenities to your liking.

The Venue restaurant is indeed a fantastic addition to us and they offer great food and live music on a regular basis.

Thankyou again for taking the time to review and i hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Ireland.

David McCoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had a great 2 night stay in Strandhill Lodge, our room had superb views over the bay. The room was very spacious, spotless clean and very comfortable.
The continental breakfast was excellent, great variety and we certainly didn't miss the usual Irish breakfast. Having coffee and tea available in the lounge was very handy and usually there were cakes/chocolate croissants there too.
There isn't a bar or Restaurant in the hotel but it wasn't a problem as there are plenty of good options closeby.
David and all the staff were really helpful and a great source of information on activities and places to eat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulyg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Paulyg123

Thankyou for taking the time to write and tell others of your stay with us. I'm delighted you had a good stay and that all was to your liking.

We like to offer our guests that little bit extra when staying so the complimentary refreshments and beverages at reception is just a small example of that.

As you mentioned there are lots of bars and restaurants in the area and we are blessed to have such quality nearby. I'm glad you found the staff informative and instructive on all local amenities.

Thank-you again for the review and i hope we will see you in Strandhill again soon.

David McCoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The reception at Strandhill Lodge and Suites was awesome! Our visit started out with a free room upgrade to a bay view room. Our original room was very nice, but the gentleman at reception caught up with us shortly after we placed our things in the room and let us know a bay view room was available due to a cancellation. He happily helped us move our bags to the new room. What a great way to start a stay!

Shortly after check-in we meandered down to the reception area where they always have tea, coffee and snacks. We asked for dinner recommendations. Several wonderful options were provided by the same guy (whose name we cannot remember, sorry) who upgraded our room. We ate dinner in lower Strandhill, which was a quaint beach area. The beach area/lower Strandhill was within a short, ten minute walk, of the hotel. We ate dinner and came back to the hotel.

After dinner we decided to hike the trail up Knocknarea, a nearby Mountain/Hill. This time we were greeted by a nice young lady who gave us great directions to a parking lot at the head of the trail. We hiked the trail and had a lovely time exploring the cairn at the top of the hill.

The beds were some of the most comfortable in Ireland. That said, all beds in Ireland are firm to say the least, except at this hotel, where they were medium firm (which was a serious relief from all the slab of rock beds we slept on before staying at Strandhill).

While in town we stopped by a local pub, The Dunes Tavern and B&B where we were able to chat up the locals and hear a great band.

In the morning, before check-out, we had a nice continental breakfast that came with the accommodation. There was a lot to choose from and the the breakfast tea was especially delicious.

We would definitely stay again and will surely recommend Strandhill Lodge and Suites to friends.

Room Tip: Get the bay view room. The view is beautiful and you have a walk out patio with chairs.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccyr429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear CCyr429

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm delighted that you found Strandhill and the Lodge and Suites to your liking.

Our aim is always to promote good customer service and so we always endeavor to meet our guests needs and where possible exceed them. If a sea-view room is available we will nearly always offer an upgrade where feasible - i'm glad that you were a lucky recipient on this occasion.

The climb up knocknarea is magnificent and the scenery as you have described is awe-inspiring.

What Strandhill has in abundance is wonderful pubs and locals and the atmosphere in the bars is second to none with live music nightly during the summer and from Thurs-Mon during the rest of the year it really is unique for an area of its size... coupled with great restaurants it is a wonderful place to relax and take a break.

I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast as you mentioned it is continental but we do seek to add as much variety as possible to it.

Thankyou again for taking the time to review thankyou also for your kind comments and i hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to Strandhill again soon.

David McCoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had the pleasure of returning to the excellent Strandhill Lodge and Suites recently. Again the level of sevice and presentation was second to none. There is a great relaxed feel to the hotel and nothing ever seems to be a problem. Once again our compliments to David and all the staff. Hopefully we'll see you again in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vecgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear VECGreg

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review - i'm delighted that you enjoyed your break. It's always great to see people returning and i hope we'll see you again soon.

I'm delighted you found everything relaxed and comfortable that is ultimately what we seek to achieve.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon - thanks again Greg.

David McCoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I had the extreme luck, and pleasure, to be visiting Strandhill in July when the beautiful emerald Isle was having a glorious two week spell of sunshine. Of course I stayed at the Strandhill Lodge & Suites...as I did back in April... as I will in November as well. On my third day of holiday I booked my room for November. I wouldn't dream of staying in any other hotel in Sligo. The lovely view of the Atlantic, the kind and courteous staff, the terrific continental breakfast, & the cleanliness of the hotel, is unsurpassed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James104720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear James

Many thanks for your review - and it's great to hear that on your 2nd visit that we met your expectations. I will pass on your kind comments to all the staff... it is always great to welcome returning guests back.

I look forward to greeting you again in November and that you continue to be a regular guest with us. Should these standards ever slip please let me know as soon as you do - it is vital for us to maintain standards.

Thanks again James and we'll see you in November.

David McCoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This place is just great - wonderfully friendly and helpful staff, super accommodation, great location and fantastic breakfast. Couldn't be better! The self-catering option in some of the rooms is really convenient too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelson63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Nelson63

Thankyou for taking the time to review and for experiencing your positive experiences on Tripadvisor. I'm delighted that you began your vacation in Ireland with us - I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time here.

I'm delighted that you found all to your liking it is vital to us that our guests needs are met and that they are content during their stay so i'm glad to read your positive feedback.

I hope that we may see you again in future if you are back this way. In the meantime if i can be of further assistance please do not hesitate to let me know.

David McCoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strandhill
4.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
4.9 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,675 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
468 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,104 reviews
3.0 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel

Address: Strandhill Lodge & Suites Top Road, Strandhill, Sligo, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Strandhill
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strandhill
Price Range: $93 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strandhill Lodge and Suites is a new hotel accommodation that has 18 Large Double and Single Deluxe Rooms and 4 Luxurious Superior Suites; with magnificent views of the famed Knocknarea and Strandhill Bay. All rooms are bright and spacious with a King Sized Bed and all modern conveniences. Rooms are suitable for two – three people sharing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing