We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strandhill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I really can't recommend this hotel enough - I It has everything you need to make your stay in the beautiful village of Strandhill absolutely perfect. It has a truly great location, the rooms are of the highest standard, the view from our room was simply breathtaking, it has all the modern amenities you'd need and the staff were just so helpful throughout our whole time there. The hotel is just at the foot of Knocknarea on one side and has the beautiful backdrop of Strandhill beach on the other side. It is beside a pub which serves great food and has music and is just up the street from the beach and all the shops and restaurants. The breakfast was so nice and plentiful and the little touches of having a video library and a great iPod speaker in the room all serve to a great experience. I have very fond memories of my whole time spent in Strandhill and this is in no small part to the relaxing time spent in the Strandhill lodge. It is an absolute pleasure to give this hotel 5 stars and I really can’t wait to get back again.

Room Tip: The views overlooking the sea are simply breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Skin77

Thank-you so much for taking the time to write your review; i'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved the location. We do strive to ensure that our rooms remain at a high standard and we did some minor refurbishments in January in order to keep the rooms fresh and current.

Our location in the heart of the village and so much about us, is one of the main reasons guests enjoy staying with us. .. so as a package Strandhill has much to offer - the magnificent views among them.

You are very kind with your praise and I am really delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much - amenities and the little extras do sometimes add a little bit extra to the stay but it is to ensure that you can maximise your visit to Strandhill.

I'd be delighted to welcome you back to Strandhill again soon and if i can help with the booking please do not hesitate to let me know. In the meantime thank-you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and i look forward to seeing you again soon.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    60
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
93
260
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Excellent rooms with amazing views, staff are great - David (Manager is very helpful). Possible my favourite Hotel and great location for a relaxing break. Great beach, Surfing, Seaweed baths, mountain walks, golf etc.....

Room Tip: Request an upstairs room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonanAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear RONANAF

Thank-you so much for taking the time to write your review. Im delighted you give us such high praise we will strive to continue to live up to your expectations in teh future.

If i can be of any assistance in future please do not hesitate to let me know.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I recently stayed here with my boyfriend while on a surfing adventure to Sligo, and I have to say we had a wonderful stay! I found this hotel to be modern, well run and spotlessly clean. There were plenty of towels, and the bed was SO comfortable. The staff were so friendly, professional and helpful. I really felt they did everything they could to ensure we had a good stay. A fulfilling breakfast was provided every morning in a clean, bright sit-down area. While the hotel receives ten out ten in every category, it is truly the location that impressed me the most. Ideally located just ten mins from the beach, it is situated in one of the nicest parts of Ireland, with our bedroom overlooking the beautiful beach. What amazing views to wake up to in the morning! There are restaurants and pubs also within 5-10 mins walk, making it handy to get to everything. I have already recommended this hotel to my friends and family, and am happy to recommend it to anyone on trip advisor as well. Definitely stay here !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WEXF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear WEX

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review and for such positive feedback about your stay with us. I'm delighted you got a chance to experience the surf as Strandhill has over 5 surf schools and are delighted to provide lessons to guests.

I'm glad you found the facilities and the room to your liking we do try and meet the needs of our guests where possible.

I really appreciate the recommendation as word of mouth comment about a place is worth great deal and we will strive to ensure that your family and friends have a relaxing break here.

In the meantime thankyou again for your kind review and i look forward to greeting you again in the future.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

There is nothing I can fault about this place, great value, great service, great rooms with lovely views and a super breakfast. I spent one night here with a family girls night and we were all very impressed. It's luxury at affordable prices with very friendly staff. I am already planning when I can visit again! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Seaview with a balcony was just superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oohbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear oohbin

Thankyou so much for such a positive review - i'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We do try and accommodate guests in a relaxing and comfortable setting in what is one of the most beautiful parts of Ireland.

When you do book again be sure to book directly with us and we'd be delighted to provide you with the best rates.

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Lovely accommodation, rooms are spacious and very clean with added extras such as I pod dock.Excellent view from room, very pleasant and informative staff, good variety to choose from in continental breakfast, overall a most enjoyable stay, would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarebradraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Clairebradraff

Thankyou for taking the time to review - I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm delighted that you found all to your liking.

Our front desk staff endeavour at all times to ensure that guests know as much of the area as possible... in this way guests will enjoy their stay all the more, i will pass on your kind comments. The alternate breakfast is proving popular and guests are responding to the healthy option which we provide.

If you are in Strandhill again i would be delighted to accommodate you again and if remember if you contact us directly you will get the best rates.

Thankyou again for taking the time to review.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a couple of nights recently and had a thoroughly pleasant experience. Our room had a fantastic view of the sea, and the balcony was a nice surprise, meaning we could sit outside and take in the view. The room itself was excellent; spotlessly clean, plenty of towels, fantastic shower, wardrobe space was very good, and the bed was extremely comfortable. David gave us plenty of information on local activities and was very helpful with directions to different places by the sea. The breakfast was very nice, and the hotel itself was always very warm and cosy. Overall we had a fantastic stay, which was down to the hotels cleanliness and close location to the sea, and also the fantastic attitudes of the staff who were always helpful, attentive and warm. I will definitely come back here again, hopefully for longer than a couple of days.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room with a view of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronan1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Ronan1988

Thankyou for taking the time to review i'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will pass on your comments to Bríd in housekeeping and she will be delighted that you found the rooms clean and comfortable. I will also pass on your comments regarding the rest of the staff.

I'm glad you enjoyed the balcony rooms they always prove popular among guests and I'm happy that you were allocated one on this occasion.

Thank-you again for taking the time to review and if i can be of any assistance in the future please do not hesitate to let me know.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nettetal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

we two germans (husband and wife) just returned from a four night stay here. our room was spacious and clean with a nice view - also from the balcony - over the lovely golf course "strandhill" to the sea.
the breakfast is a superb continental breakfast; there is also a coffee-station, opened 24 hours a day.
the parking is more than ample off street parking; the staff were always more than helpfull!!
it is a great place for a golfing-break, we enjoyed our break here!
the traditional bar next door is very good for a guiness or two, but the "venue"-restaurant belonging to the pub is like a snack-bar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aristoteles62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Aristotles62

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review i'm delighted that your stay was an enjoyable one. The views are indeed spectacular and the views of the sea certainly compliment the balcony roooms.

I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast; and the small extras like the complimentary coffee which we provide. You are correct about the Bar 'The Venue' next door it is a great asset to what we offer here.

Thank you again for taking the time to review and I hope that we can accommodate you in the future again - i look forward to welcoming you back.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strandhill
4.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
4.9 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,593 reviews
5.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,050 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
378 reviews
3.0 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel

Property: Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Address: Strandhill Lodge & Suites Top Road, Strandhill, Sligo, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Strandhill
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strandhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strandhill Lodge and Suites is a new hotel accommodation that has 18 Large Double and Single Deluxe Rooms and 4 Luxurious Superior Suites; with magnificent views of the famed Knocknarea and Strandhill Bay. All rooms are bright and spacious with a King Sized Bed and all modern conveniences. Rooms are suitable for two – three people sharing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing