We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strandhill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I toured Ireland last week and we stayed in a range of accommodations but Strandhill Lodge and Suites was by far our favourite!!
Lovely staff, spacious rooms, beautiful view from our balcony, lovely breakfast and located in a lovely spot of the world!
I only wish we could have stayed longer! Highly recommend it!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Jof

Thankyou for taking the time to think of us and to post your review on tripadvisor - im delighted you enjoyed your stay in Strandhill and more delighted that you enjoyed your break around Ireland.

We're very proud to have such a beautiful country and there is no doubt that the Strandhill area is amongst its most beautiful - so im delighted you both enjoyed it. The balcony rooms are the most sought after rooms due to the stunning scenes visible from them so im delighted that you managed to secure the room for your stay.

I hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Strandhill in the future again - and thankyou for your most positive review.

David McCoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    53
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
91
251
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
donegal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

10 out of 10 a first.
We have just returned from a one night break at Strandhill suites and I only wish it had been longer.From the moment I called to enquire about accommodation, booking it and getting there it was one of the nicest experiences I have had ever. I am so glad that I actually went directly to the hotel I spoke with David who was extremely able to do his job in a very polite and charming manner and made us feel very welcome to this fine hotel as we experienced when we arrived and were met by Lisa who was on reception nothing was too much bother. David even managed to push up our booking in the nearby 'The Venue' where we had a lovely dinner .The place is just fab and attention to detail is something else right down to dvds for the kids.We travelled as a family and had our young granddaughter with us and I have to say it was a very pleasant experience. HATS OFF TO DAVID AND YOUR WONDERFUL STAFF and already planning another trip in the summer. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ojjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear OJJO

Thankyou for taking the time to write your review and for sharing your visit with the other members of tripadvisor. I am over the moon that you enjoyed your brief stay so much. We do strive to make our guests experience as comfortable as possible.

I will pass on your kind comments regarding the staff and to Brid in housekeeping and to Lisa on reception - both are valued members of our team and it will please them greatly.

Im glad the children managed to enjoy the DVD's - as all rooms have DVD players we stock a handsome list of DVDs at reception for guests to use complimentarily so i'm glad you could avail of this.

I hope next time you are in a position to stay for a longer period - in the meantime thankyou for posting the review and i look forward to welcoming you back to Strandhill soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just spent a great weekend at this hotel. We had a suite which was very reasonably priced. the room was huge and spotlessly clean. The hotel had had a new lounge and breakfast room added. The staff were both helpfull and very welcoming. The breakfast was contintal but there was a good selection of choices. There is a great pub next door, with good food and atmosphere. Standhill itself is lovely and the hotel has an excellant location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzpap3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Fitzpap3

Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in the past few weeks. Im also delighted that you experienced our new lounge area (the pictures are on display in the photos section) we introduced it in January to add a little extra luxury for our guests.

Im delighted that you enjoyed the village also it is a great 'getaway' destination with vibrant bars and great music so im delighted you got to experience it.

If i can be of any assistance in the future please do not hesitate to let me know and thankyou for taking the time to write a review.

David McCoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed here with 2 friends just before Christmas. We had a triple room with a large bathroom which easily accommodated us. It was spotlessly clean. The staff at reception were welcoming and helpful. The breakfast is continental style self-service. There was a great variety of food to choose from, everything from boiled eggs, pancakes, fresh fruit salad etc. You could easily fill up for the day before heading for a brisk walk on the beach or some surfing!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary10Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Mary10ireland

Thankyou for your kind review about your stay with us in late December. I am delighted the three of you enjoyed your time with us and that you got a chance to experience some of the activities that Strandhill has to offer.

Our triple room with the balcony is well sought after and it is great for viewing the magnificent scenery over Strandhill Bay.

Im especially glad you enjoyed your Breakfast and just to let you know that we have added an extension on to the room which now also encompasses a conservatory and residents lounge.


I hope to see you all again here soom and I look forward to welcoming you back again.


David McCoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We last visited in March and its remains as good as last time. This time we stayed for the weekend between Christmas and New Year.

Although I'm a local and I therefore know of many other hotels, I don't bother looking elsewhere due to the high standard of this hotel. It's also very good value for money.

Rooms are large, spotlessly clean, and well situated with balconies giving excellent views of the beach on one side and the mountains on the other. We went next door for lunch to "The Venue" as suggested by the manager and the food was delicious with huge portions !

Both the restaurant and hotel also display stunning photography of Sligo scenes. These are on sale and make a beautful gift.

Staff are all friendly and so helpful.

See you soon !

Room Tip: ask for the sea view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We last visited in March and its remains as good as last time. This time we stayed for the weekend between Christmas and New Year.

Although I'm a local and I therefore know of many other hotels, I don't bother looking elsewhere due to the high standard of this hotel. It's also very good value for money.

Rooms are large, spotlessly clean, and well situated with balconies giving excellent views of the beach on one side and the mountains on the other. We went next door for lunch to "The Venue" as suggested by the manager and the food was delicious with huge portions !

Both the restaurant and hotel also display stunning photography of Sligo scenes. These are on sale and make a beautful gift.

Staff are all friendly and so helpful.

Dear Trishs

Thankyou so much for your kind review. Its always nice to welcome return visitors back. As menitoned on numerous occasions we are delighted to have a restaurant of the quality of the Venue next door to us. In addition to the 5 other restaurants in the village.

I will pass your kind comments about the staff both housekeeping and front desk on.

I hope we will see you again shortly and i look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Rustico, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Linda and all the staff at Strandhill made us feel home from the moment we arrived. Staff working there late at night recommended a good place to eat (the only one open after 10pm), even let us use their own hotel laptop when we asked if there was wi-fi in the room, and brought it to us in the room. We could hear the surf from our room with balcony. The room was clean. The breakfast was quite lovely. We just wish would could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Balcony is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triskellpei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Triskellpi

Thankyou so much for taking the time to write your review. Im delighted we met your expectations.

Im glad the staff made you feel so welcome and i will pass on your kind comments to them and to Linda also.

The balcony rooms are well sought after and it is truly a wonderful experience to have the balcony door open and hear the crashing of the waves against the Strand a it can be amazing how atmospheric it can be.

I hope we will see you again in Strandhill soon and i look forward to welcoming you back soon.

David McCoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We arrived at this wonderful place after a cold, rainy, nighttime drive from Belfast. We were in need of a warm, comfy, and tranquil place to rest our bones, and Holy Mary mother of God we found it! Quick and personable check-in, wonderfully appointed rooms, responsive climate control, and a large glass wall that opened up to a generous balcony with the sight and sound of the North Atlantic. Great food, drink, and atmosphere right next door at the Venue, and also down at the sea wall, at the Bella Vista. The continental breakfast in the morning was a pleasant and plentiful spread that made our stay at the Strandhill Lodge one of the best values in all our 10 nights in Ireland. My wife and I did not anticipate a romantic getaway during our trip around Ireland, but at the Strandhill Lodge and its seaside village.... that's exactly what we got!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorie N Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Lorie N Chris S

Thankyou for your kind and positive review we are delighted that you had such a pleasant stay with us.

Im delighted that you had pleasant relaxing and romantic break. Strandhill is a splendidly tranquil and peaceful location and we are lucky to be located in such an area. The village with all the bars and restaurants so close offer some great dining experiences.


If you are in the area again we would be delighted to see you returning and I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Thankyou again for taking the time to review.

David McCou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strandhill
5.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sligo City Hotel
Sligo City Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel

Property: Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Address: Top Road, Strandhill, Sligo, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Strandhill
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strandhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strandhill Lodge and Suites is a new hotel accommodation that has 18 Large Double and Single Deluxe Rooms and 4 Luxurious Superior Suites; with magnificent views of the famed Knocknarea and Strandhill Bay. All rooms are bright and spacious with a King Sized Bed and all modern conveniences. Rooms are suitable for two – three people sharing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing