We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic getaway.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strandhill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Service over and above. Reception Clerk. David offered to go to store for forgotten articles. Breakfast had good selection. Rooms were very comfortable and bathrooms are outstanding.

The Venue restaurant and pub next door was recommended. Great food, good fun in the bar with music and fireplace.

Tried seaweed baths at Voya - best thing to try.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtrpilgrimage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear gtrpilgrimage

Many thanks for taking the time to review. Im delighted you found all to your liking and i hope you enjoyed the remainder of your trip to Ireland.

The Venue next door is a terrific establishment with great food and the Voya Seaweed baths are outstanding also - so im glad you got to experience both.

Its always nice to get such a glowing recommendation and hopefully we shall see you again in the future. Thankyou again for your review.

David McCoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 582 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend in September and I can only say that it is fantastic. The rooms are gorgeous, and the suites, sumptuous. The only small thing I had against it was the lack of a hot breakfast, but that's only a very minor complaint and in no way detracts from the hotel overall.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aandgoh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Aandgoh7

Many thanks for your kind review; Im delighted that all was to your liking and that you enjoyed all Strandhill has to offer.

Im sorry that the breakfast wasn't completely to your liking - id be delighted to take any suggestions you may have though - im happy though that it didn't detract from your experience with us. We do try and offer a wide range of options - and Shells Cafe in the village offer a tremendous full irish - but i do take the point that many do like a rasher or two in the morning!

If i can be of any assistance in the future please let me know and i look forward to welcoming you back to Strandhill again soon.

David McCoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a two night stay here in July, had booked before we realised that they did not do the "full irish breakfast" but we were not disappointed or hungry! wow wow and wow fantastic stay on all counts. Room with balcony and sea view fantastic. self service breakfast and amazing selection of food and also vending machines for evening/night. The staff were so friendly and helpful from we arrived till we left.... and ideally located for walking to the beach not too far away 10minutes approx. I cannot mention one fault with Strandhill Lodge and looking forward to getting back there again early in the new year.

Room Tip: for an extra few euro you get the balcony with seaview and it is worth every cent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coco945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear COCO945

Many thanks for taking the time to review im delighted you took the time to do so.. and that everything was to you satisfaction,

The balcony seaview rooms are the most sought after rooms especially in July/August so im delighted you were one of the lucky few! We try to improve our breakfast offerings each year so im delighted that you found all to your tastes despite the lack of a 'full' irish breakfast. In 2013 we are extending the seating area to include a conservatory so hopefully this will enhance the experience further.

The beach is so close so on those summer nights its great that you got to stroll down and enjoy the bars and restaurants.

Hopefully we will see you back in Strandhill again soon and i look forward to greeting you on your arrival. Thankyou again for your kind review.

David McCoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night which was the only disappointment....bedroom on first floor with balcony were we sat and drank a bottle of wine look out over the sea...the room had everything you required and the breakfast was perfect....nothing to fault. Only problem will be trying to rebook as such quality places tough to come by. the restaurant next door is fantastic...but book a table as gets very busy

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Ncokey

Thankyou so much for taking the time to write your review. As you mentioned in your review it is indeed unfortunate that you only managed to stay the 1 night - but im delighted that you enjoyed your stay nonetheless.

We are fortunate to be close to so many good restaurants and bars that it really compliments what we do here.

If you are coming back do book directly with us for the best two night rates... and in the meantime thankyou again for you review and i look forward to greeting you both again soon.

David McCoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This Hotel is as I said one of the best, from the rooms, the service from David and his staff, the lovely breakfast. I come to Ireland many times, but am so pleased I have found this Hotel, lovely position could not fault anything at all. I will return and tell everyone travelling to this part of Ireland they must say here. Thank-you all for a great stay.

Room Tip: Any room in this Hotel is a good room and spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Annej

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review and for such a positive one. Im delighted you found Strandhill and our facilities to your liking. We do strive to accommodate a variety of tastes and im delighted that we have gone someway to achieving this.

Even during these autumn months the wild atlantic waves can add a certain different atmosphere to the village... thankyou for your endorsement.

If you are in the area again do not hesitate to call directly... I look forward to welcoming you back to the northwest soon.

David McCoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I last stayed in the Strandhill Lodge and Suites in March 2011 and I was, again, most impressed with the facilities and the service we enjoyed on a business-related trip just last weekend. We had a ground floor room which commanded magnificent views of the Atlantic and had direct access from our room to an attractive outdoor space. The bedrooms have every conceivable appliance and the bathrooms are similarly well appointed. The continental style breakfast is a welcome change from the "full Irish".

Room Tip: The best views are had from the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonyGallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Anthony

Thankyou so much for taking the time to write your review. Im delighted you both enjoyed your stay with us its always nice to hear people returning and continuing to be pleased.

We look forward to welcoming you to Strandhill for a third time soon!

David Mccoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had a great overnight stay here last night. It is just as others have described: very nice, Linda who greeted us was wonderful & really helpful, room was very clean and nice with a gorgeous view of the sea. Continental breakfast was great and filling. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 208, which was a large room with queen bed (very comfortable) and a balcony with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathleenieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMcCoy, General Manager at Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear KathleenH

Thankyou for taking the time to write your review and to inform us about your stay here. Im delighted all was to your liking. Im glad you enjoyed the continental breakfast and found it filling it is proving a very popular choice with guests.

I will pass on your kind comments to Linda - we pride ourselves in customer service so im delighted that Linda met your expectations she is indeed a valuable member of our team.

The seaviews are terrific i just wish we had more sun this past summer in which to enjoy it! Thankyou again for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you in Strandhill again soon.

David McCoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strandhill
4.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
4.9 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,725 reviews
5.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
541 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,138 reviews
3 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel

Address: Strandhill Lodge & Suites Top Road, Strandhill, Sligo, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo > Strandhill
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strandhill
Price Range: $92 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strandhill Lodge and Suites is a new hotel accommodation that has 18 Large Double and Single Deluxe Rooms and 4 Luxurious Superior Suites; with magnificent views of the famed Knocknarea and Strandhill Bay. All rooms are bright and spacious with a King Sized Bed and all modern conveniences. Rooms are suitable for two – three people sharing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing