We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of The Strand Bar

The Strand Bar
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Strandhill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Strand Bar (est 1913) nestled between mythic Knocknarea and the famous surf beach of Strandhill, has for many generations been the favoured social spot for locals and tourists alike.Just ten minutes drive from Sligo, close to the airport and one of Europe’s most magnificent surfing beaches, this well-known bar has a big welcoming turf fire, cosy snugs and friendly staff.
Gatley,Cheshire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had Pizza in the bar as we were with our friends "Mason's Apron" who had a gig there. we ordered 6 pizzas and they were all delicious. Pub & staff very friendly, had a really good night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scampi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    96
    23
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great business acumen!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

This is one pub that deserves all the accolades . Staff are great, ambience fantastic and really appetising food! They work very hard to maintain standards and it pays ! It is only when you go into other establishments , get lousy service and are ignored by staff that you appreciate a well run business. It is family run and it shows! Thanks to all concerned for making our little get together so enjoyable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SligoRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Stunning restaurant with a gorgeus view of the Atlantic”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

My mum, a friend and myself went there for a night out. The food, deserts and everything was just delious! From where we we were sitting, I mostly looked at the views from the Atlantic when chatting. I Definately will come back again :D

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ggbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Simple, straightforward, superb”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We went in here for lunch on a very wet day in Strandhill, we just wanted a decent lunch at a reasonable price. We got that and much more. Our little girl was cranky and the staff helped settle her with a snack while our food was cooking. Being at the sea we opted for cod and chips - best choice! The batter was amazingly light and the fish was cooked perfectly. Loved the tartare sauce (clearly not out of a bottle) served in an oyster shell - its the little touches like that that make a place stand out. Then we asked about desserts - and the had a great list including two crème brulees........ as this is probably my all time favourite dessert I was in heaven. After some deliberation I opted for the lemon one and oh it was good!!!! Perfect topping and tart and creamy beneath - just what I would hope for. The waitress (who was lovely and friendly) and I discussed ideal crème brulee flavours and both thought lavender would be good - will they try it out?
A very filling, nicely cooked and presented meal and we would highly recommend the Strand.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great food and service”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Place was buzzing. Great food and service from knowledgable staff. Got lasagne and chips..couldnt have been nicer. not many in pub but table outside were packed in the gorgeous weather

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annmarie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Strand Bar also viewed

 
Sligo, County Sligo
Sligo, County Sligo
 

Been to The Strand Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing