We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chancellor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Fayetteville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just back from a two-night stay at the Chancellor. The location couldn't be better - an easy walk to the Dickson Street area, and just steps from many restaurants on and around the Square. The room was attrative, clean and spacious, and the bed was comfortable (with some of the best pillows I've ever encountered in a hotel room). My only complaint about the room was that the air was rather noisy when it was running, but it wasn't any worse than many other hotel rooms I've stayed in. Free wi-fi, free parking in the municipal garage behind the hotel, friendly service. We'll stay at the Chancellor again next time we travel to Fayetteville.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin_Ark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaigeSmith1981, Director of Sales at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to be able to accommodate you in your future travels to Fayetteville!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (832)
There are newer reviews for The Chancellor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

805 - 811 of 832 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is probably the best hotel in Fayetteville Arkansas for those wanted to visit the University of Arkansas. We enjoy our 2 nights stay and the stuffs were friendly and helpful. We arrived during the Christmas and new year and the square was beautifully lighted at night. Surely I would like to come back to stay again. Hopefully the next time they provide free hot breakfast.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the University of Arkansas and you can see the Old Main.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaigeSmith1981, Director of Sales at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you, on behalf of The Chancellor Hotel Management and Staff for your wonderful review, regarding your stay. We appreciate your compliments on our staff; guest satisfaction is what we strive for. We look forward to your future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Loved, Loved, Loved this hotel. It has been remodeled beautifully. The staff was extremely nice. Hotel and rooms very clean and the beds are super comfortable. Great location-Right in the middle of downtown. We could see Old Main from our window. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaigeSmith1981, Director of Sales at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at The Chancellor Hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Lovely hotel and room was very nice. We were there 3 nights. The first two were great, New Year's Eve night, not so much. We were in an out all the time and not one problem were our dog(it is a dog friendly hotel). That night the hotel seemed to fill up.People in the next room slammed the door no less than 5 time in 15 minutes and I do mean let the door slam! We were out enjoying the evening until 10:30 when we got a call our dog was barking and people were complaining. So our evening was cut short. After being in the room with the dog we realized what got the hom nervous. The constant in and out and door slamming that went on and on. What is wrong with holding the door? We called the fron desk and complained about it.
The other situation that was not very professional , room service. We ordered a burger ,after 40 minutes we called about it, the girl said she would check on it. Another 30 minutes went by with no word or burger so we called and cancelled it. The reply was OK, not a sorry or explanation of why we didn't get it. Said is a super nice bellman! Otherwise the trip ended on a not so great note. Too bad about their attitude ,otherwise it's the perfect location for a trip to Fayetteville.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank debo3la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaigeSmith1981, Director of Sales at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

On behalf of The Chancellor Hotel management and staff, we would like you know how much we value your feedback. We apologize for your evening getting cut short due to the hotel contacting you regarding your dog. However, it is the policy of the hotel to not allow animals to be left unattended in a guest room. Please understand this is for the courtesy of the other guests of the hotel. We do appreciate your comments on the restaurant and room service. We will make sure to pass this information on to the Owner and Managers of the Restaurant. We look forward to your return stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Chancellor Hotel has been wonderfully renovated. We felt like we were in a hotel in Vegas and not Arkansas. The hotel staff was great. We enjoyed that it was within walking distance to Dickson Street which made for a fun and safe New Year's Eve. There were some negatives that we encountered though. First, the room that we were in was close to a stairwell and elevator area. This made for a sleepless night, especially on NYE. The stairwell door is VERY loud when it closes. There needs to be a soft close hinge on it because it just sounded like someone was slamming the door all night long. The rooms are not very sound proof - as we could hear full conversations of the room above us in the bathroom. Also, our heat/ac was not working so we had to just unplug the unit. It would not change from 74 degrees at all. The (year round) salt water pool was closed due to inclement weather. We called the front desk to ask about this and they said that it was because it was raining....were they afraid we would get wet? We were told they would check with the engineer to see if they could open it and would call us back but they never did. It is an inside/outside pool but it is listed as year round - so we assumed it would be heated and we could at least swim in the inside part. We were also hoping for a hot tub but the hotel does not have one. The beds were very, very soft, and so close to the floor. They were hard to get out of and to sleep in because of the softness. They do not have box springs under them so maybe that causes some of the issues. We all tossed and turned all night - because of the noise and the beds. Overall - the hotel is gorgeous, the lobby, bar and restaurant are great, the rooms are well appointed. We just were not thrilled with the rest.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 83MW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaigeSmith1981, Director of Sales at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments and concerns regarding your stay at The Chancellor Hotel. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority; we value your thoughts with high regard. We sincerely apologize for the level of noise on New Year’s Eve. Please understand that this was a special event and this situation is not a normal occurrence. In answer to the pool being closed it is standard procedure in inclement weather to close the pool, especially with lightening in the area, for the safety of our guests. We will certainly investigate your concern regarding the mattress, as we have had nothing but positive reviews thus far.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The renovation is very well done. Shower is great! The bellman Said/Sayed (sp?) was very friendly. Housekeeping did an excellent job.

The only negative we could find was:
- the blue glow from the thermostat facing the bed made it difficult to fall asleep

Room 1015 faces College Ave with a view of the old courthouse and the hills.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UsTravelinfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaigeSmith1981, Director of Sales at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

First of all, we want to thank you for staying with us. Secondly, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We're so glad to hear that you're happy with our renovation.

We hope that you will stay with us again during your next visit to Fayetteville.

Kind Regards,


Paige Smith
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

The Chancellor is a well appointed semi-modern hotel. The lobby was well decorated for the holiday season. The location is very nice. There are plenty of restaurants and bars in walking distance. The room I stayed in (standard king) was quite adequate and spacious. The view was great as well. The only negatives I would point out are the following:

•My wife felt the shower pressure left a little to be desired.
•The hotel didn't have any ppv movie channels.
•The coffee was mediocre.

That is being nitpicky. The hotel has a terrific bartender. The restaurant wasn't awe-inspiring, but it was pretty good.

Overall, I rate the hotel as very good. If I ever stay in Fayetteville again, I will stay at the Chancellor.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jwatheoilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaigeSmith1981, Director of Sales at The Chancellor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

First of all, I want to thank you for staying at our hotel. We know that you have choices, and appreciate you trying our hotel. I also want to thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are always open to hear the good things, but also areas we can improve on to meet our guest's expectations. I'm glad to hear that overall you were pleased with the hotel and had a great stay. It's always good to hear that we will be your hotel of choice upon returning to Fayetteville.

We haven't had any complaints with the water pressure, however, that is being addressed with our Chief Engineer first thing this morning. Being an independent hotel, we made the choice to not have PPV, based on the fact that so many people have their laptops and have the ability to use Net flicks, etc. I do appreciate your comments on the Restaurant and Lounge, and will pass on your compliments to the Owner, Managers and Bartender.

We look forward to your return, and once again want to thank you for the feedback.

Kind Regards,



Paige Smith
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fayetteville hotels
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fayetteville
Hilton Garden Inn Fayetteville
#1 of 23 in Fayetteville
342 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inn at Carnall Hall
Inn at Carnall Hall
#11 of 23 in Fayetteville
127 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Fayetteville Ar
Hampton Inn Fayetteville Ar
#3 of 23 in Fayetteville
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Fayetteville/Univ Of Arkansas
1.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fayetteville-Univ. of Arkansas
2.0 mi away
Best Western Windsor Suites
Best Western Windsor Suites
#9 of 23 in Fayetteville
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chancellor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chancellor Hotel

Address: 70 N East Ave, Fayetteville, AR 72701-6037 (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Fayetteville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Fayetteville
#6 Business Hotel in Fayetteville
Price Range: $90 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chancellor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chancellor Hotel is the only full service hotel in downtown Fayetteville. Featuring 207 brand new, luxurious guest rooms and suites, a stunning lobby bar and restaurant, and exceptional meeting facilities. The Chancellor is the best choice for leisure or business travel. All rooms feature stunning contemporary decor, HDTV's with a full high definition channel line-up. The hotel has luxurious bed linens and bath amenities, and complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the hotel. Conveniently located to all destinations in Northwest Arkansas, The Chancellor Hotel is situated on the beautiful town square in Fayetteville, convenient to shopping and dining and a short walk to Dickson St, the heart of the entertainment district. The hotel is also just a short walk to the University of Arkansas, and we also offer complimentary shuttle service within a five mile radius and free shuttle service to all U of A football games. A state-of-the-art Fitness Center featuring LifeFitness equipment, fully equipped complimentary Business Center providing PC's and an iMac and an indoor/outdoor swimming pool add to your enjoyment. And during your stay, don't forget to sign up for your STASH Rewards, our hotel's loyalty program. Earn points for each stay that can be used at hundreds of unique hotels around the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chancellor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Fayetteville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing