We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hammontree's Grilled Cheese

Hammontree's Grilled Cheese
Ranked #1 of 394 Restaurants in Fayetteville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fayetteville's original grilled cheese joint. Hammontree's specializes in gourmet grilled cheese sandwiches made with high quality ingredients; sourced locally when possible. We also have made from scratch soups daily, salads, and specialty sausages.
Level Contributor
273 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

First visit and I loved it. They say their specialty is grilled cheese in many forms. The food is very good and worth the trip. Prices are reasonable and the atmosphere is quaint. Sweet potato fries are excellent. Not too much noise which is nice

Helpful?
Thank Brackjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    138
    21
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“YUM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Heard good things for a long time so I finally checked it out and I'm glad I did! Such a chill atmosphere, excellent service, and DELICIOUS food! We started off with the edamame hummus appetizer, it was SO GOOD! I had the Italian Stallion and my mother had the Caprese Melt, we halved them and traded halves, SOOO DELICIOUS! I highly recommend both of those! We can't wait to go back, we are determined to try all of the sandwiches! It was packed so we opted to sit at the bar. The bartender was super cool! I give this place an A+

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EricaPonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Any kind of grilled cheese you can think of and then some with cute and witty names!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We love Hammontrees. We have been on several occasions and suggest it to many of our friends when they are in Fayetteville.

Just about everything we have tried has been delicious. They have a variety of sandwiches, soups and side items in a addition to the grilled cheese selection.

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.... couples, families, group meetings, etc.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MissLittleRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO, US
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Delicious, and Great Value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The sweet potato fries were AMAZING. So many choices of sandwich- we had the edam/blue/bacon/spinach and the gouda/artichoke. Both were delicious, but I couldn't stop eating the fries. My daughter even loved them and she doesn't usually like sweet potato fries.

It was also very reasonable- I think we spent $25 total with the tip for two people, and we couldn't finish all the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dregnichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Surprising”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

How do you not appreciate dining surrounded by Star Wars decor. The sweet potato fries are very good. They have very good hot dogs and awesome cheese sandwhich

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank neurodoc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hammontree's Grilled Cheese also viewed

 
Fayetteville, AR
 
Fayetteville, AR
 

Been to Hammontree's Grilled Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing