We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best grilled cheese in town”

Hammontree's Grilled Cheese
Ranked #1 of 394 Restaurants in Fayetteville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fayetteville's original grilled cheese joint. Hammontree's specializes in gourmet grilled cheese sandwiches made with high quality ingredients; sourced locally when possible. We also have made from scratch soups daily, salads, and specialty sausages.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best grilled cheese in town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

The last time in I had the buffalo chicken grilled cheese. Great taste and good size portion. The family loves to stop there anytime we are visiting Fayetteville. Excellent wait service staff

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dpskl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    141
    22
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches and soup!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I love this place! It has the best grilled cheese sandwiches and soups. Need to eat there more often. Something for everyone.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Léogâne, Ouest, Haiti
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“My Favorite Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

I was suspicious when I heard "Grilled Cheese" for a restaurant, but Hammontree's is probably the greatest thing that has ever come to Fayetteville. Outdoor seating right next to dickson and the best damn sandwiches I have ever had in my life.


Get the Cheebaca. I've had several sandwiches here, but this one is the best (for vegetarians, there is plenty here for you too!)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alexander509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good sandwich selection”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stopped here on our way through Arkansas. It was very hot that day and the AC inside the restaurant wasn't working well, but our waitress was very pleasant and helpful. I ordered a sandwich with goat cheese to try something new and I didn't really care for it, but that is probably more my own personal taste than a problem with the restaurant. The rest of my family seemed to really enjoy their sandwiches. There are lots of interesting menu items- I wish I had chosen a different one. The location was good- close to the University of Arkansas. There is a pay parking lot right in front of the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjwingfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“After all it’s a Grilled Cheese Sandwich”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Great place for lunch. It’s a nice break from burgers, pizza, and wings.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NWAFayetteville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hammontree's Grilled Cheese also viewed

 
Fayetteville, AR
 

Been to Hammontree's Grilled Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing