We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosses Point
navan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
Reviewed March 22, 2007

Hi
We (my wife and i) spent patricks weekend in this hotel. The first impression when we saw it was "very very run down", in comparison to what you see in their website.
Then lift wasn't working , not enough staff and they don't give a damn (to have breakfast in this place is just a nightmare, they only have 3-4 waiters for lots of people), central heating wasn't working....

The good points are good size bedrooms and good spa.

Will never go there again.

  • Liked — size of the room
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jcgr-dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    239
    187
    102
    113
See reviews for
297
319
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ratoath
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2007

We booked 7 nights for 2 adults and 2 kids aged 6 & 1. Booked it on the basis of the description on the web especially for the kids club. I felt like going home when I first saw the building, rust trails streaming down the front made it look almost derelict. The entrance was very dirty and unwelcoming. We persevered and went in, first thing we were told was that the y had changed the rules for kids dining times and we may have to pay extra if they dined with us!. Rooms were shockingly bad, more like bedsits, lights did not work. The interior of the hotel was dirty and at one stage the main lobby had a large hole in the floor with a couple of guys working in it! Dinner was fair but enough was enough, I spoke to the manager who was understanding and agreed with most of our complaints. The kids club was the worst I have ever seen and we were nervous leaving our 6 year old there as the staff were kids and seemed to have their own friends in. The kids were put in a corner and told to do some colouring. The creche for the 1 year old was better but not good enough. We checked out the next morning and went to Hotel Westport instead where we had a great time. If your'e thinking of the Yeats Country House, stay at home!!

  • Liked — View in the rear view mirror
  • Disliked — View through the windscreen
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Archermotorsports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rosses Point hotels

galway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2007

arrived for a 3night stay with my husband and 2 kids ages 8+4..
from the outside it looks like fawlty towers,

The inside not much better very dated interior,there is an old building and a new one we were in the new one which was ok according to the older building.Rooms were a good size in the new side of the building,

Absolutely nothing for the children to do..... ,
Although there was a childrens room it was not opened even though it was half term and there was a lot of families staying at the time ,

To be honest dont go to this hotel unless you are over 70 and have your zimmer-frame then you'd fit well in,as the families were literally forced out of the entertainment room so that bingo could go ahead.... The staff were ok

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ireneGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2006

I took my mother to this hotel for a weekend away. The website is a complete con, and they should be sued for false advertisement. The whole place could do with a big industrial clean. There are stains everywhere and all the place settings need a good polish. To be honest I went back packing a week later and stayed in hostels for 8 and 9 euro a night that were cleaner. Paint and detol don't cost that much. This hotel is in a wonderful location and could be one of the best in Ireland if management invested in it. I had no problems with the staff, they were always polite and helpful

  • Tips/Secrets — Go to the radisson down the road instead!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CailinMhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2006

This stay was part of a Murder-Mystery weekend. We were part of a larger group. The Murder-mystery aspect of the weekend was great! The accommodation ands food was very mediocre.
On the plus side, the hotel's situation was superb, overlooking the sea with good walking front he door to the beaches. What a shame the hotel does not reflect its setting.

  • Liked — Not a lot, but the room was large.
  • Disliked — The lack of thorough cleaning and uninvited and impatient staff in the morning.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay up the road at the Radison!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2006

This is the 2nd worst hotel I have stayed in. I won't mention the decor as it is usually something I can get past. This is a very dirty hotel with poor attention to detail i.e. basic manners and courtesy. Myself and two friends booked the holistic weekend. We looked at the price and thought this is too good to be true.... well it is. On arrival, we were allocated a room which was smelly and dirty. We were so hungry we thought let's just get something to eat and a few drinks and we will forget about it. The food is terrible, the wine was good but was served to us warm. They didn't have any in the fridge! The service was terrible. The waitress was friendly but had no training in how to serve food properly. This seemed to be the tone of the weekend, can't be bothered. How can somewhere get breakfast so wrong? The cups and plates had stains, we were not the only table to have to ask for clean place settings. We asked to move rooms the next morning and whilst the receptioninst was very accomodating the housekeeper was nothing short of rude. The spa staff are friendly but again it is dirty, nothing particularly relaxing about it.
Feel so annoyed at having spent money on something so inferior.

  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissPetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2006

We have just spent a few days at the Yeats Country Hotel & Leisure Club in Rosses Point County Sligo. The hotel was dowdy in urgent need of refurbishment and belies the glossy impression of its web site.

On arrival you are greeted by a dilapidated exterior and reception area. Steel garden style tables by the main entrance door surrounded by cigarette ends. It gets worse. Inside the dark, unfriendly, reception area upholstery shows through the seats. The little tourist information leaflets available are inaccessibly hidden behind the reception desk.

The initial bedroom offered was unacceptably dark and gloomy. However, we managed to change to a larger brighter room with very pleasant sea views on the third floor. The decor in this room was also in much need of redecoration. Stained carpets, marked walls, old dingy furniture.

Staff were very mixed. Some welcoming and friendly others dour. Receptionist seemed to spend a great deal of time on the phone talking loudly to her friends.

The food was appalling with a very plain menu although a good selection of moderately priced wines. Whether it was breakfast or dinner the food was totally lacking in taste or flavour and there was no healthy alternative. My wife requested a salad starter at one meal and it was inedible.

The Leisure club facility by contrast was outstanding. Well managed and clean. An excellent warm swimming pool and good changing facilities.

Had we an alternative in Rosses Point we would certainly have changed hotels but unfortunately there is very little accommodation in this area.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh-Slocum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosses Point
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
4.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
4.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre

Property: Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
Address: Rosses Point, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Rosses Point
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosses Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Hotel located in Rosses Point, SligoThis elegant Sligo Hotel is ideally located in Rosses Point, Sligo located on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean. With a Blue flag beach and a challenging 18 hole golf links nearby, the Sligo Yeats Country Hotel Spa & Leisure Centre provides its guests with a taste of leisure and relaxation amongst the breathtaking beauty of the North West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa And Leisure Centre Hotel Rosses Point
Yeats Country Rosses Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing