We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosses Point
Reviewed March 25, 2009

A bargain break that was also wonderfully relaxing. The location is superb the views wonderful and the weather was unseasonably fabulous. The food was good and while the hotel is a little shabby, the staff were helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Testedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (917)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

860 - 866 of 917 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2009

Myself and my finance booked in for a weekend special of 2 nights b&b and one evening dinner. on arrival we though this was a lovely location to spend a weekend. then we went into the reception. the reception was very jaded looking. we were then given the keys to our room. our room was at the very of the corridor on the ground floor, with a window looking out into the goods in yard - there wasn't even a net on the window. the decor in the room was horrible - red wallpaper, old spring mattress bed, old looking bathroom. we had to pass the main public toilets to get to our room - the smell of urine was disgusting. then we went for our dinner...... we had to seat ourselves at a table that wsa not yet cleared from the previous sitting. we then received our menus.......a photocopied print out.........the quality of the meal was worse. without doubt the worst experience i ever had in an irish hotel. won't be back ever!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcm1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

We stayed here for three nights. Having read the reviews we wondered what the place would be like. We decided to give it a go and make up our own minds. It is quite shabby and you only get one very flat pillow on your bed, still it is not expensive so maybe you get what you pay for. However we did expect a nights sleep which we did not get. Our room was next door to the couple from hell. Unfortunately we met them in the corridor, he was screaming obscenities at her while she sat sobbing in the door of their room. It scared the life out of our young son and we decided to mention it at reception on our way to dinner. We were told the lady was ill and had been in her room all day. We ate dinner and went back to our room. It started again at 10.30, screaming, kicking things, shouting, swearing, I do not even really want to decribe it. The girl had checked out and now this mad man was looking for her. We phoned reception repeatedly only to be told " this is life, these things happen".
Eventually he left, of his own accord at 3.00am and we finally got to sleep. We were offered another room at one point, but I did not want to risk bumping into the lunatic guest. Our other two nights were uneventful but by all accounts from talking to other guests and some members of staff this is not an unusual happening for this hotel.
When we checked out the receptionist asked if we enjoyed our stay, I mentioned our first night and she just shrugged her shoulders saying "oh yes, I heard that" in a bored voice. At no point did we receive an apology and oh, yes you guessed it, we even paid full price!!
Go at your own descretion, you never know you might even enjoy it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twopointfourkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

When we arrived at hotel we had to double check the sat nav to make sure we actually put in the correct hotel. Praying we had cause surely a three star hotel couldn’t look so bad but unfortunately not we had arrived at the correct hotel. The outside was old and grubby and just looked horrible. We went in to hotel and before actually checking in we walked round a bit and then decided to give it the benefit of the doubt and check in. I had read bad reviews on the net before we left but just gave it a chance as there are always people who will complain and the pictures looked fine.
When checking in we asked the awfully dull receptionist if the car would be safe across from hotel and she told us “Well nothing bad has happened in a while any way” Very reassuring!!
We checked in to find a room which was very dated and most of the furniture was damaged. The table in room had a chunk of wood out of it, if you had of pushed it hard it would have fell apart. There were holes on the wall and cracks all over the bathroom ceiling. The light shades were all stains and have clearly not been replaced since the day the hotel opened. Not only were the rooms grubby so was the furniture throughout hotel. The sofa on our floor was ancient and was ripped open at the side; chairs in lounge area were also ripped. There was a strange musty smell throughout hotel and everyone we looked at had there coats on as it was so cold. On way to room we felt every heater and not one heater was switched on, I know there is a credit crunch but one open fire in the lounge can not possible heat a hotel with 100 rooms.
We went for diner to find a very basic menu which consisted of steak, lamb, duck or fish. I decided to go for lamb which was obviously a bad choice. The lamb, potatoes and veg were all freezing. Having never ever sent food back anywhere I was a bit uneasy having to complain so my boyfriend quietly told man behind bar the food was cold. He took it away and arrived back 5 mins later with a scalding plate which had been micowaved. The lamb was like rubber and the potato’s and veg were uneatable.
Pure disgusted with the food and service we complained to so call duty manager (Lady on reception) who basically couldn’t care what we were saying. She was no more interested in what we had to say than we were at staying in hotel. At that we decided there was no way we could spend another night in the dump of a place we asked could we leave. We had booked the special for Valentines weekend and there was no way I was spending Valentines Day in that hotel or restaurant. The offer which we paid for also was suppose to include a free box of chocolates which we never seen, and to be honest we didn’t even care at that stage we just wanted to leave.
We stayed one night and left first thing the next morning and went to The Glass House in Sligo. It was like a new world entering the hotel. Was so modern, staff were extremely friendly and food was absolutely fabulous. We could not find one fault with the hotel it was perfect and would definitely return. Yeats country hotel should take a leaf out of their books or perhaps have there staff retrained to actually care about their customers.
I will never again in my life return to this hotel as it was the worst hotel I have ever been in my life. If anyone has booked this hotel and has doubts when they read the reviews please cancel as I wish I had of listened to them instead of wasting one very long boring night in the not so luxurious Yeats country hotel.

Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank disapointedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2008

Stayed in August for 3 nights. Like everyone else, we were scared by the other reviews but the price carried us there, Go here if you want a big room, cheap basic food, late breakfast (till 11am) and a pretty good location by the sea. Don't go here if you want entertainment, friendly staff, good food, a romantic setting or easy access to Sligo town. We liked our room as it was very large and has a wonderful seaview. The breakfast was a basic self-service buffet of eggs, rashers, tomato, sausages and pudding in a metal food service trolley. Dinner was better with waiter service and a choice of 3 courses. The food was basic but good portions & quality. Some fresh and some deep fried main courses with simple 'packet' sauces. We enjoyed the food as it was cheap and cheerful. The entertainment was nil, with a strange bar that was filled with older folks sipping drinks quietly. No excitement here and the bar staff were very unfriendly. Leisure centre is good and was almost empty. Finally, upon leaving the reception staff never uttered a word except to hand over the bill. Althogether a strange but not unpleasant experience but expectations were not high to begin with. Stay here if you want a bed & late breakfast with a seaview else take the advice of the many others that recommend avoiding the place.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank The-rebel_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2008

I booked this break away at short notice and then read the reviews! I didnt know what to expect and approached the hotel with caution. I was delighted to recieve friendly and helpful service. Although the exterior is "weathered" there was some new decking and lovely new furniture to relax outside. The decor may have been dated in the function rooms however our room was freshly decorated, clean, spacious, had a lovely view over the bay and was furnished to a good standard. The Leisure facilities were great & staff friendly. The food was excellent. It was definitely a hotel used by families but this brought the place to life and a coach load of Australian visitors seemed happy with their accommodation too. I have used trip advisor in the past to check out hotels and it seems that only the gripers leave feedback so i thought it a good time to leave some good comments. I would say that my stay was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy7traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

please dont go anywhere near this hotel ,unless you like old grumpy,dirty,smelly, old world service,and to see what it was like in dirty ireland of the 1960s.....i can only guess this hotel is a rented out hotel,because if one owned it one would spend a million quickly or close it down now.
sligo is a beatiful area to visit and this hotel is a serious blight on the landscape...where are the inspectors when u need them>????
i am aware this hotel is in a good group of hotels owned by a good family, but this is a real let down...stale air is all over the hotel, lack of ventilation and possibly heat cos this stink......i could go on and on......visit for a laugh,but dont stay......clean it up or close it down

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tomhannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosses Point
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
4.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
541 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sligo Southern Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,726 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,138 reviews
3 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre

Address: Rosses Point, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Rosses Point
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosses Point
Price Range: $75 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Hotel located in Rosses Point, SligoThis elegant Sligo Hotel is ideally located in Rosses Point, Sligo located on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean. With a Blue flag beach and a challenging 18 hole golf links nearby, the Sligo Yeats Country Hotel Spa & Leisure Centre provides its guests with a taste of leisure and relaxation amongst the breathtaking beauty of the North West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa And Leisure Centre Hotel Rosses Point
Yeats Country Rosses Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing