We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 6 Roscommon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2006

A gem of a hotel in Roscommon. Friendly staff, immaculate room and all with a laid back local feel - no corporate 'could be anywhere in the world' feeling. The food is really good from breakfast through to dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank English
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
There are newer reviews for Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 384 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2006

Eammon & Mary have done a grand job of making Gleeson Townhouse feel like you are in the home of a favorite relative. I and the other members of my performance quartet, Whispers of the West, stayed at Gleeson Townhouse last July enroute to a Summer Session where we were to teach in Monasterevin. I had made the acquaintance of Eammon & Mary the previous year, as they had graciously allowed me to use their front parlor for a photo shoot. We were warmly greeted by Eammon upon our check-in. The rooms we had were comfortable and we could actually open the windows for fresh air while we slept. The food was delicious, both the breakfast that was served every morning and the dinner that we chose to have in their dining room. Mary's scones are some of the best I have ever eaten. The availability of their car park was also very welcome. They recommended a pub where we could find traditional music and that became our second home. We are heading back again this July to teach once again. Our reservations have already been made at Gleeson Townhouse. I wouldn't stay any where else!

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BitDevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2005

stayed here for 2 nights last week and thought it was a lovely guesthouse.
the food is excellent

6  Thank beaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: weet ik niet
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 363niels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Marzia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank potensbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank HSmetan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roscommon
0.5 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
674 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hannon's Hotel
Hannon's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roscommon
234 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
10.6 mi away
Percy French Hotel
Percy French Hotel
#1 of 1 in Strokestown
77 reviews
17.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant

Address: Market Square, Roscommon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Roscommon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roscommon
Price Range: $85 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the heart of Roscommon town, overlooking the Towns Historic Square, Gleeson's Townhouse is a lovingly restored 19th-century Boutique Townhouse Hotel. Situated beside the tourist office/museum, Gleeson’s is the perfect base for touring the west and midlands of Ireland. With 19 rooms and two luxury suites, each designed with unique flair, at Gleeson's Restaurant & Rooms you can really rest, relax and enjoy. It has free, secure parking, and friendly staff & is highly recommended in international guide books. All rooms are en suite and offer a high level of luxury and comfort. The menus offer locally sourced and sustainable food. Originally known as “The Manse”, this lovingly restored 19th century Townhouse is a building steeped in history that dates back to 1870 .Gleeson's Townhouse Boutique Hotel provides a warm welcome, comfortable rooms and first-class food. Enjoy the welcoming and relaxed atmosphere & our open turf fire in reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gleeson's Townhouse and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleeson`s Townhouse And Restaurant Hotel Roscommon
Gleesons Townhouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing